We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop on the coast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good stop on the coast.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Brunswick Hotel and Tavern is easy to get to in Brunswick. There may be some confusion with internet stuff because it recently changed it's name, but the address is actually easy to find and parking is good. When we are returning to Maine from the gas powered flatlands we often need a spot in southern Maine to spend the night, because our home is 4 hours from the border at Kittery. We found this Hotel to be excellent. Very simple, spacious rooms and public rooms. Very helpful staff, very good restaurant/bar that wasn't stuffy or cluttered up with a "theme". This will undoubtedly become our stopover on our way back into Maine. Another plus for us--you can open the windows enough that you don't need to use the AC if you don't want to. When I'm in Maine I want outside air!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, and got one facing what I think was west--overlooking the parking lot. A...
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't notice anything extraordinary, but a nice sense of Yankees not wasting anything.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capnbob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    103
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
83
112
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We went to our reunion at Bowdoin and stayed at the Brunswick Hotel. Really a nice experience...not a little inn or B&B, this is a really nice urban type hotel with an intimate "Bowdoin" feel. Lots of nice crisp decorating and lots of "Polar Bear" artwork.

Very nice

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have stayed here on several visits over the years my daughter attended Bowdoin a College. Such a convenient spot, and a very comfortable and friendly place to stay. The beds are great. Most rooms are very large , though there are a few smaller- so be aware to ask if you are counting on the space. An ice machine would be a nice addition- as you have it get ice in the tavern during their hours. Nicely furnished, with adorable polar bear photos on walls. The food in the tavern is always perfectly prepared. The service is not fast, but as long as you are not in a hurry, it is nice and allows you to slow down and appreciate the ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Found Myself in Need of Peaceful Quiet Local to Take my mind away. I ended up Here. To my surprise, for a small coastal town, they offered Many Modern Conveniences of Big City Life. Every Creature Comfort was available.

The rooms were warm & welcoming, clean. The Staff were beyond accommodating. The Food from the Tavern was very tasty & filling.

My only complaint, is that corner room have WiFi Connectivity issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiMiLavette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrunswickHTL, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I am delighted to hear that you found your peaceful quiet getaway location. We are centrally located in a region that offers something for everyone. Whether it is quiet solitude, outdoor adventure, a shopping experience, or a romantic getaway The Brunswick Hotel & Tavern is the ideal location to stay and experience it all. We have a great new Wi-Fi system that allows us to add access points as needed and will test the corner rooms to be sure we have better coverage. Thanks for commenting. Rick Martin – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights using the amazon local vouchers. Overall hotel was nice- no mini fridge but room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was good and bar and restaurant staff very nice. The issue came at checkout-voucher included 2 drinks per voucher but front desk gave us a hard time as we drank three cocktails sat. Afternoon and one at breakfast the next day. Four total-right? Clerk at checkout said two of the cocktails were supposed to be for Friday night. (We got in after ten pm due to traffic- not even sure tavern was still open). She claimed voucher called them "welcome cocktails" although I read voucher details several times and it did not say this- she eventually took one off the bill and I left with a confusing bill- one bill for each night-only to see we still paid $10.for the fourth drink! Very disappointing- I just wanted what we paid for. Be careful when using these type of vouchers here-

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarall0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrunswickHTL, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty with your billing. We had two Amazon voucher’s at the time for both 1 & 2 nights, with a 2 night stay the billing should have automatically taken care of your charges. The staff should have been able to easily rectify this and I will speak with them and use this as a learning opportunity. Thank you for providing your feedback. Rick Martin – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

You'd be hard pressed to find a more quintessential main street than the one in Brunswick, and this little hotel puts you right at its head.

The room I had was, by far, the largest non-suite hotel room I've ever had. I mean, it was gigantic. Everything was clean and comfortable - including the homemade whoopie pies they leave on the nightstand.

I didn't eat in the restaurant, but it looked decent. Breakfast was the usual fare. Pub gets traffic in the evening and is a nice place to have a few beers.

For the value, you won't find a better spot in Brunswick (I'm betting).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBrunswickHTL, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We couldn’t agree with you more; Brunswick, named one of the “Top 20 best small towns” by Smithsonian magazine in 2012 was also designated a Main street community; as part of the National Main Street Center initiative and the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The Hotel is ideally located at the top of Maine Street and is also an ideal location when starting a trip of Maine’s Mid Coast region. Thanks for your comments; we look forward to your return visit. Rick Martin – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Brunswick Hotel (formerly the Inn at Brunswick Station) is a quaint hotel in the center of town next to Bowdoin College. It's location allows for walking to most locations in Brunswick. Brunswick has been in need of a hotel of the calliber for many years. We stayed 3 nights to explore the hotel as a location for our sons up coming wedding. The staff is all top notch, they care and go out of their way to make sure your visit is a pleasant one. The rooms are not the largest but they have everything you need, the beds are some of the best and the sheets some of the softest.

Rates are high, but all rates in this area are high depending on season.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel near Maine Street has the best views but also the most noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatBrunswickStatio, Director of Sales at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
TheWanders,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brunswick to further explore and also look forward to your son's wedding. Please let us know how we can help with anything in the future.

Regards,
Brandon Hussey
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
384 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
272 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
233 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern

Property: The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Address: 4 Noble St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2410 (Formerly The Inn at Brunswick Station)
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly adjacent to Bowdoin College and steps away from the lively downtown, The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern perfectly positions guests to take advantage of all this college town and the state's picturesque Mid-Coast region have to offer. Handsomely appointed guest rooms feature a mix of heavenly king and queen beds, spacious workstations and sleekly stylish baths. Flat screen televisions, complimentary internet access and in-room coffee add to the comfort and enjoyment. Connecting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Brunswick Station Hotel Brunswick
The Brunswick Hotel And Tavern Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing