We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tao Yuan

Tao Yuan
Ranked #4 of 106 Restaurants in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harwinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very special restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

While staying at the Squire Tarbox Inn the proprietor, who runs a spectacular restaurant at the Inn, recommended we try Tao Yuan in Brunswick. What a treat!! Asian Tapas is the concept there and Cara Stadler, Chef/owner executes with perfection. Her extensive experience (read her bio and you can't help but be impressed) shows through in all of her creations.
We signed up for the price fixed Tasting Menu. It was the right move since so many of the dishes on the menu looked like winners. Leading off with Maine Oysters and finishing (8 courses later) with a scrumptuous dessert...every offering brought renewed interest and excitement. The dishes were served as a shared offering which was perfect for my wife and I(she loves to share). The staff works well together...overlapping their duties as necessary...a rare occurance these days.
We will definitely be back and will recommend this to all our friends without hesitation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank earth2hal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    47
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
286 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A Gastronomic Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We did the brunch on the 29th and could not have been happier with the whole experience. From the design of the restaurant, front of the house and wait-staff everything is in balance here. We wandered off the prix fixe pick 3 dishes and so glad we expanded our choices. My wife started off with an incredible bloody and this is what we picked Asian Slaw, Kimchi Pancakes, “Zhu Rou Bing” Fried Chinese Pancakes, Sunshine Squash (10 spice, Pork Dumplings), “Har Gow” Crystal Shrimp Dumplings, Cha Shao Bao (Roast Pork Buns), Pastrami Buns and Cheong Fun Shrimp Roll. Each dish is ideally shared by 2 people and we did go over the top a bit. Each one was distinctly different and so good! We did have coffee (excellent!), egg tarts (better of our 2 dessert choices) and their custard with raspberry sauce (just a bit too tart for us). We raved throughout our meal and afterwards we ranked this gem of a place in our top 5 of all time places.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

What a great find! Every dish we tried was excellent, with a few genuine standouts such as the Fried Chickpea and Young Ginger Salad. All dishes are prepared with meticulous care. This was one of the best restaurant meals we've had in quite a while. We'll be returning soon. Check it out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Food is great--good quality, flavorful, but portions are way to small. Service is horrible if you get the wrong waiter/waitress. Rude, haughty and arrogant. One of the reasons why I enjoy eating in Brunswick so much is because of how nice hostess/waiters are. Since it's a small town everyone is nice and friendly. Somehow going to Tao has always been a close to terrible experience because of horrible service. I used to go there every two weeks and now I don't. If you're going to charge like a fine-dining restaurant, please offer the service of a fine-dining restaurant as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
380 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“PERFECTO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A group of us wanted to take our wonderful, fantastic, and amazing Spanish teacher somewhere special (as a small thank you) and she mentioned she had loved the food at Tao Yuan - and my wife and I had been wanting to come here...well...for quite some time (and especially since that foolish business about the name, and wanting to show our support) - and here's our chance.

After making a reservation with Emma (personable and professional) I knew this was going to be special indeed and, indeed, it all was. After a three hour dinner (!) I can safely say the food, service, and ambiance was perfect (perfecto in Spanish) and there's no question we'll be back (later this week with two friends in fact).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tao Yuan also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Tao Yuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing