We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fried Oysters” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Mike's

Captain Mike's
Ranked #48 of 106 Restaurants in Brunswick
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plains, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fried Oysters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

All the seafood is great. But try the friend oysters, it may or may not be on the menu, you may have to ask for it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank larryplainspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowdoinham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok food, kitchy atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I've learned not to order steak here, unless you like the grisel. The fish isn't bad, but for the price of the food, you'd except more from the over all experience. Cheap tables and chairs wobble and rock when you try to eat. I had to get up to get my own water, because the staff didn't come back. Not my favorite restaurant in Brunswick.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank twubbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a Favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Captain Mike's is a favorite of ours especially when we take our grandmother out to lunch. They are very accommodating with her wheelchair. The food is fantastic and the price is very affordable. The atmosphere is very relaxing and comfortable. Try their homemade desserts; you won't be sorry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Captain Mike's restaurant has excellent seafood! My husband I really appreciate the food and friendly service!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bgrteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdoinham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mother's Birthday Party”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I called and arranged to have my mothers birthday celebration here. They were very accommodating. There were too many of us to sit together, and had to sit on opposite sides of the room, but still within talking range. I didn't like their steaks though. They were about 50/50 meat to fat ratio, and as the prices are a little on the high side I think they could have been of a better quality.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank twubbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Mike's also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Captain Mike's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing