We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picky Vegetarian Always Loves Richard's”

Richard's Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 113 Restaurants in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A true family run restaurant. Old world ambiance from the classic German favorites playing on the stereo overhead to the large collection of bier steins hanging on the walls. The professional wait staff work hard to ensure a 5 star experience. the incredible selection of imported wines and biers will refresh even the weariest traveler. You will sit down to our famous pretzels and rolls aside Richard's Own secret recipe mustard. The best of all the scrumptious flavors of authentic German recipes brought direct from Mannheim and traditional American classics. From Schnitzel, sausages and Sauerbraten to the finest steaks, seafood and soups, you will find something that appeals to you. OOOH! The desserts too. These will be the perfect finish to your meal, IF you left any room. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Richard's is always a great place to eat!! I've been dining at Richard's for about 12 years. I've eaten in both the dining room, and the bar area. Richard has an excellent selection of beers (some are on tap, at the perfect beer temp. 45ish). I've eaten in the bar area more often. Richard's makes their own strudel, from scratch, the old fashioned way. There are daily strudel specials for both lunch, and dinner. It doesnt get any better, then Richard's for strudel!. I especially loved Richard's before becomming vegetarian. Richard is German, right off the boat, but he's been here, 40ish years. He has talented young chefs working for him, now. But he is still "The Master" of the kitchen. Richard's serves German, and American fare. He's developed vegetarian options, too. The dining room decor is what I would amagin Richard's grandmother's dinning room's to look like. It has a feminine feel and touch to it, cozy, and homey, and elegant. Everything is homemade, and authentic. Great Beer, Great Food, Fun Atmosphere!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mariette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

After traveling across the USA it was a treat to find Richard's German Restaurant in Brunswick, Maine. The schnitzel was delicious and so was the Bitburger beer!! The atmosphere is cozy and the service is friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Acadia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having lived in Deutschland for nearly 2 years and looked forward to a short walk to the Alt stadt for a weekend meal, it's always a pleasure to recreate these meals when in Brunswick, Maine, at Richards. The kitchen prepares authentic German fare and presents these dishes in a very similar, unpretentious plating as found in the Fatherland. Their Schweineschnitzel (not Wienerschnitzel as advertised) and a 0.5 l draft of Bitburger bier brings one back to continental Europe, providing a piece of Germany to those in need of a schnitzel fix. We enjoy eating here, although the service can be very slow, at times, even when the restaurant isn't busy. But, I guess, that the wait allows you to enjoy ein mal bier, Bitte.

Thank LopingianTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsRestaurantME, Manager at Richard's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear LopingianTravels,
Thanks for the great review! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant. It’s always a pleasure to have guests who not only love German cuisine but appreciate the authenticity that we strive to encompass in our dishes. We hope to see you again sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I'm a first generation American of German parents. Richard's is a German restaurant that creates authentic, delicious German food. Whenever we pass Brunswick, we stay overnight just to be able to eat here and not worry about driving after a beer or two. I can never seem to decide what to order, so I always get the German Sampler with a little bit of everything. I'd recommend it..as long as you are hungry, it's a lot of food! My wife loves the Schnitzel and usually has that. I always top off the meal with a delicious dessert wine. There is a choice between a restaurant area and a tavern area, which we prefer for the cozy German atmosphere. The servers are terrific and you can even brush up on your German with Richard on occasion as he tours the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsRestaurantME, Owner at Richard's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Phillip,
It is so wonderful to hear that you always enjoy your meals and the ambience of our restaurant. We appreciate your repeat business and you taking the time to write us such a great review about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Richards is always consistently good The schnitzel is the best I've ever had and he takes great pride in the preparation of his food which is very fresh
The service is friendly in the atmosphere Cozy tavern like

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardsRestaurantME, Owner at Richard's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Elise,
Thanks for the great review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Stop in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richard's Restaurant also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Richard's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing