We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down the best gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gelato Fiasco

The Gelato Fiasco
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Discover 40 flavors of gelato and sorbetto made fresh daily from a growing collection of more than 1,500 at Gelato Fiasco's Flagship Store. Try as many flavors as you wish and squeeze as many as you want into any dish. House-made waffle cones, take home freezer pints, pour-over coffee, espresso, and tea. Open 11 a.M. To 11 p.M. Every day.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hands down the best gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

What can I say? Always fantastic. Unreal variety of flavors-many quite unique and delicious. Comfortable relaxed atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    56
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best gelato anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I kid you not....this is fabulous gelato. Always adding new inventive favors. Ad they allow endless tastes! Don't miss this....skip dessert at your restaurant and walk here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Such interesting flavors is hard to choose! The staff will let you pile on as many flavors as you like. Fun, funky atmosphere. Clean and very friendly. Lobe this gelato!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Napadabema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

If you like sweets there is really only one place to go year round in Brunswick and that's Gelato Fiasco. My only real complaint is that the spoons are too small! They let you try as many flavors as you like and don't look at you funny if you ask to try a second time. A little on the pricey side but it is homemade!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Overcharging leaves a bad taste”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We've been big fans of Gelato Fiasco for some time now, and visited regularly, but after our experience today we'll be looking elsewhere.
I asked the young lady to put a very small amount of vanilla ice cream in a separate bowl for my dog then put a reduced portion into a bowl for me, which she did. I then went to the register and she explained what she had done to the gentleman (Wayne?) who said that he would charge me for one and a half bowls but the final bill for one treat size ice cream shared across two bowls plus a (very average) cookie was almost $10!!! and no matter how we try to add things up we were overcharged by at least $1......

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbygelato, Manager at The Gelato Fiasco, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello, I'm sorry about our staff's confusion at the cash register that resulted in a larger-than-expected check total. Please email us at delicious@gelatofiasco.com. We'd like to discuss what went wrong. Thank you, Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gelato Fiasco also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Gelato Fiasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing