We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frontier Cafe

Frontier Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Frontier Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 106 Restaurants in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Heard about this spot a while ago and finally went last night. The food was very good with a variety of soups, salads, sandwiches and entrees at a decent price. The service was efficient and friendly. There were two drawbacks which led me to deduct a star from the rating: lack of handicap entryways, limited parking in a slanted parking lot and the entry to that lot which is confusing. I think if they address these issues their business would see more people going there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank baileysmom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    75
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Trendy, Pricey only OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This restaurant was difficult to find the entrance to. Once we were finally inside we liked the high ceilings & the art on the walls, old factory/industrial feel. It was dusk so we did have a nice view of the sunset. But it was very loud inside despite there only being a few patrons there. Service was very slow on this particular Tuesday night. We thought the menu was a bit limited and a bit hipster, trendy for our liking. We settled on a lobster roll and fish sandwich. Both were good, but certainly not great or the best we've ever had. The fries were great and there were lots of them. My husband ordered a beer and I got a house sangria. We were both a little disappointed when our drinks were served in glasses typically used for brandy. We would not be in a hurry to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure in Brunswick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Frontier is at the end of a labrynthine passage in Fort Andross, but it's worth the walk. The interesting dining room has a very nice river view. The vibe is college town earnest hipster. The waitstaff were very nice. We started off with an excellent Negroni, a delightfully spicy Bloody Mary and a couple of glasses of wine. We all opted for lobster rolls. They are apparently making them a new way. There was a generous serving of well seasoned lobster in a toasted roll- much better than the typical lobster and mayo. The russet and sweet potato fries were excellent.

A nice restaurant in an interesting space- worth a trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Solomander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
380 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“FRONTIER GREAT, MY BAD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My bad for not writing a(nother) glowing review sooner. Truth is my wife and I come here often - for the ambiance [stunning space], for the [always] outstanding and friendly service, and above all for the food [always delicious, always plentiful, always reasonably priced]. To sum it up; Frontier is a very VERY special place served, owned, and operated by very special people.

My apologies for not writing sooner!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue for a wedding reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Housed in a converted textile mill along the Androscoggin River in Brunswick, the cafe has wonderful views of the dam and waterfall that match its great food and beer selection. For the purposes of a wedding reception, the space is great because it is open with lots of flexible space for tables, dancing, standing chatting, etc. The food was top quality and not at all run-of-the-mill. This can give any big city trendy restaurant a run for the money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frontier Cafe also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Frontier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing