We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Inn”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Brunswick Me for two nights and were very comfortable there. It was clean, comfortable and the staff was gracious and helpful. The breakfast was not too good, but adequate. This is an area which needs improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0nglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear ronglen,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Comfort Inn and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy that you found the staff to be so open and helpful and I will pass those compliments along to them. I will also tell housekeeping that you appreciated their hard work in keeping the rooms clean and comfortable. We are sorry that you didn't fully enjoy our breakfast, we try to have options for everyone. Hopefully when you return to the Brunswick area you will choose to stay with us again!

Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at this facility for a week while visiting the coastal area. We could not not have been more pleased with the entire experience. Overall the staff was wonderful in all areas. Check in and check out was flawless. Parking was more than adequate. While the room was somewhat dated it contained the most important aspect of any stay- it was clean. The cleanliness was not confined to the room as the entire facility was well kept and clean. It was obvious that housekeeping took pride in what they did as each day the room was cleaned and made up expertly. While we did not have occasion to meet the housekeeping staff we were very appreciative of their fine work. The flat screen tv offered numerous channels. The wi-fi worked flawlessly throughout our stay. The bed was comfortable although a little softer than we usually like it but it was not a problem. We had no problem with noise although we did hear the train but that was only once in the morning and once at night and it was not a problem just a couple of short blasts on the whistle and it was gone.

Breakfast was more than adequate with all the usual fare as well as hot items daily. The staff in the breakfast area were all very friendly and more than willing to do whatever they could to accommodate you. They should be proud of the service they provide. The items were stocked as needed. The front desk staff were also very friendly, very helpful and and had a great working knowledge of the area and what it has to offer as well being able to provide recommendations for dining and directions. Everyone greeted you with a smile and were ready to help you. In fact they were so helpful that we would have missed a wonderful experience at the botanical gardens were it not for a suggestion by Ms. Allen that it was someplace that was well worth a visit. All in all this was a facility that we would definitely return to and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Longstreet,

Thank you so much for all the kind things you had to stay about your stay at our Comfort Inn. Your words will be shared with the entire staff, as they fully deserve to hear all the different ways that they made your time with us special. It is really fantastic to get such positive feedback and it encourages our staff to continue to provide excellent customer service. We are truly happy that you found everyone here to be friendly, accommodating, and professional and we are grateful that you chose to stay at our hotel. We hope that the next time you visit Maine you will stay with us again, it would be our pleasure to host such kind and friendly people as yourselves.

Take Care,
Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

PS I am glad that you enjoyed the botanical gardens! I will tell walky-chalky you said HI the next time I am in Boothbay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Brunswick, Maine, Comfort Inn is a clean, fairly comfortable place to stay for a night or two, and the price was appreciably lower than most other motels in the area during the height of the summer tourist season. The staff were pleasant, the room was well made-up and the complimentary breakfast offered a number of buffet-style choices ranging from cereal to toast to eggs and bacon to pancakes, with bagels, muffins, fruit and other items available as well. The location is convenient: right on Pleasant Street, one of Brunswick's main thoroughfares leading to Route 1 Coastal. There are a number of restaurants close by, and Freeport, with its plethora of shopping locations such as L. L. Bean, etc., is just about a twenty-minute drive away. Since the motel is somewhat surrounded by wooded land, the sounds of nearby Interstate 295 are muffled, and it's possible to get a good night's sleep with the windows open. Yes, this motel actually has double-hung windows with screens that open all the way. There are fancier places to stay in the Brunswick-Freeport area, but for the price, the Comfort Inn offers a restful stay in a good bed with an appetizing free breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWHistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear CWHistorian,

Your review of your stay at our Comfort Inn was nicely detailed and informative. You really seemed to enjoy your time in Brunswick and your tips about things to do in the area were spot on! It is nice that you noticed that we keep our rates reasonable, even in the summer, and our rooms clean. We are also happy that you appreciated the windows in the rooms, and the fact that they can be opened to let in fresh air. We try to have many options for breakfast to please everyone's tastes and it is great that you recognized the variety. We look forward to hosting you again if you return to the mid-coast area!

Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This Comfort Inn seemed to be a cut above the others we've used - but it is more expensive. Having said that, there seemed to be a shortage of available accommodation in the area and on the second and third nights of our stay there were no vacancies. The building is pleasant-looking, the staff were really nice and the bedroom and bathroom were slightly more up-market than other Comfort Inns we've used - and extremely clean. The breakfast was pretty much the same but the breakfast room was nicer. Although it's on a major road, it wasn't noisy. It's a bit far to walk into Brunswick (and not a pretty route) but it's do'able if you really had to.

Room Tip: Like most similar hotels the car park is outside the ground floor rooms. We had a first floor (seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Hilary K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Comfort Inn. It seems as if you found out first hand how busy the mid-coast area is in August and we are glad that you were able to stay with us. Thank you for the compliments regarding our friendly and detail-oriented staff, I will be sure to pass along your comments to them. Everyone here from front desk, to housekeeping, to maintenance works really hard to provide all of our guests with a positive experience. We hope to see you again in the future!

Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

In terms of trying to get the feel of a country inn, this hotel succeeds whole heartedly. Pulling up to it is almost like pulling up to the home of a friend, and there is a definite homey feel as you walk in. But there's a difference between a well-kept hotel with a homey feel, and one that feels like I am in my own home, only if I never made improvement to it. This hotel sadly falls into that second category.

When we first got to our room, our keys worked at unlocking the door, but it still wouldn't open. We returned to the desk and while the girl did come back with us to our room to help us out, she told us along the way that our room was the one with the "trickiest door," and that we would need to put our weight on it to get into the room....so basically like we would have to break into our own hotel room we had paid for. Uh...okay.

Entering the room we found a really narrow and cramped space, and it felt a little dingy...which it was. It's very poorly lit. Even with all of the lights on, it was still quite dark. We went out for dinner and when we returned around 8:00 PM, decided the check out the fitness room. The sign posted outside the door said it was open until 10:00, and there was no key card slot to unlock it like most other hotels utilize...it was a regular door. But the room was pitch black and the door was locked tight. Two hours before it should have been. Okay no workout...let's go back to the room, and I needed to do things online anyway...but the wi-fi was so spotty. It kept randomly slowing down unbearably, as well as kicking me off and then reconnecting me. Half the websites I tried visiting were redirected to their page where I had to agree to their terms and conditions...and I wasn't trying to access anything outside of email or online banking etc. It was incredibly frustrating.

There was also no way to get a good night's sleep. You heard EVERY door slamming, EVERY time someone walked above us the floor creaked so loudly we were afraid it was going to collapse and they would fall into our room,. And to top it off there was a train nearby that had its whistle blast through the walls of our room as well. Have they never heard of sound proofing or at least thicker walls? I've stayed at hotels elsewhere where my window opened directly onto a freeway...and never heard a sound.

To add to the not so great sleep woes, my bed felt damp near the end, like the blankets hadn't properly dried before they were put on the bed, and the pillows were beyond too soft. I used four of them, and my head still sank all the way through them and still hit the mattress. There was no support in them at all. Our alarm clock also didn't work--we couldn't set it.

Breakfast was adequate. It consisted of the standard fare you'll find at any other hotel, so I can't comment on that really-variety and flavor were what you expect. But the attendant was having a hard time keeping up with the demand.

Overall I would strongly recommend another hotel. The only reasons we stayed were because we paid in advance, and when we booked, no other hotels within a 35 mile radius had vacancies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comsewogian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear comsewogian,

We appreciate that you took the time to recount your stay at our Comfort Inn, however there are a few issues that you encountered that we would like to shed a little light on. I understand that you had difficulty with your door and that one of our front desk attendants assisted you. We are a little surprised that they told you to “put your weight on it to get into the room” since all of our doors respond to finesse, not force. We are very sorry that you had this issue and we have spoken with our staff to ensure that we handle this situation differently in the future.
You also mentioned that the fitness room was locked and closed down 2 hours early. We actually have keys available at the desk that guests can come and get until 10pm and then again at 6am in the morning. The only reason we have these keys at the desk and the door locked is so we can guarantee that children are not in there unsupervised.
I also understand that you had difficulty with the internet and we wish that you had brought this to the attention of the front desk attendants. When everyone is on their individual devices at the same time (peak hours between 8 and 10pm) the internet can be a little slow. When this happens though, we can reset our router and this will resolve the issue.
We are sorry to hear that you found your room to be so noisy. There are train tracks roughly 100 yards behind our hotel and a train does go by twice every day. This only happens though around 8 in the morning and then again at 8 in the evening.
We are surprised that you had an issue with your blankets, and if we had known at the front desk that you thought they were damp we would have immediately retrieved a new set of linens and blankets and remade your bed. Our pillows are quite soft, but many people prefer this, and again if we had known of the issue we could have brought you some that are more firm.
We really do strive to provide excellent customer service to every single guest, and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are very quick to resolve issues and attend to the needs of our guests, however we ask that our guests voice these issues at the moment they arise in order to give us a chance to remedy the situation.
We truly do apologize for your unsatisfactory experience at our hotel.

Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked this via Priceline for $125/night and were darn glad to get it the night we were there, as there seemed to be NO vacant hotels on the east coast that particular Saturday night. Comfort Inns can be iffy, but this one was VERY comfortable, even homey in its appearance and general ambiance. Hotel was very clean. The room was plenty big, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. We were exhausted after a long trip from North Carolina, and this was just what we needed that particular night. Breakfast was just OK--usual "free breakfast" fare in a cramped breakfast area--but that was not a huge detriment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amwdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear amwdew,

We are very happy to hear that you got such a good deal at our Comfort Inn, especially on a sold out Saturday night. Your comments are incredibly nice to hear as it seems that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I will pass along to the housekeeping staff that you noticed their hard work in keeping our rooms very clean, and to the maintenance staff that their efforts at maintaining the outside of the hotel were appreciated. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations, compared to other hotels where you have stayed, and definitely look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel was very noisy. The walls must be paper thin. I had a hard time falling asleep and staying asleep. No refigerator in room and no safe. Otherwise, the hotel and room was very clean and the staff friendly. Breakfast was good. The fitness room had better equipment than most hotels in this price range (precor).

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Recon_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Recon_Engineer,

We are very sorry to hear that you had such trouble sleeping during your recent stay. It can sometimes be hard as a front desk attendant to hear noises that occur away from the lobby area, and I can assure you that if we had known you were having such difficulty we would have spoken with the disruptive guests. While we regret this inconvenience we are happy that it did not ruin your stay and that you had a positive experience otherwise. We are very glad to know though that you found the rooms to be clean, the staff open and attentive, and enjoyed the equipment in our fitness room. We hope that if you return to Brunswick you will choose to stay with us again and give us the opportunity to provide you with an excellent nights sleep.

Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
0.6 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#2 of 11 in Brunswick
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
1.6 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
433 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 199 Pleasant St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range: £60 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Comfort Inn, Brunswick we constantly strive to improve your "home-away-from-home" experience. In our opinion a hotel should be clean, it should be comfortable, and you should feel welcome. Your experience begins the moment you turn into our driveway and see a beautifully landscaped property. Walk into our newly renovated lobby and be greeted by a staff that prides itself on welcoming guests. When you are ready, make your way to your room where you will find a very cozy bed, and all of the amenities to make you feel at home. Trust that your room has not only been cleaned, but that it has passed our inspection process. Visit the front desk for recommendations not only for places to eat, but to visit as well. In the morning, after you have slept comfortably please enjoy our brand new hot breakfast. We are proud to serve you hot eggs and breakfast meats, make-your-own waffles, fresh fruit and other goodies! Remember, at the Comfort Inn, Brunswick comfort begins the moment you walk in our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Brunswick
Comfort Inn Brunswick, Maine
Brunswick Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing