We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly happy with my stay here”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

During our recent college tour over spring break, we stayed here overnight. The room was decent sized and very clean & comfortable. From the front, the building looked like a large house as you cannot see all the rooms located behind it. The place is well maintained and everything seemed to work fine. The complementary breakfast was an added bonus. I was glad that there was a small exercise room with some machines - including a treadmill, after eating a good-sized dinner in town. I'd stay here again we're back in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Alex C,

We are very happy to hear that you would choose to stay with us again when in the area! Our maintenance and housekeeping staff work very hard to ensure that the hotel runs smoothly and stays clean, and I will pass on to them that you noticed and appreciated their hard work. We hope that the college tour went well and that you will be staying in Brunswick more often in the future. We offer a Bowdoin visitor discount, be sure to ask for it when making future reservations!

Thank You,
Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

My parents have been staying in the Comfort Inn a lot lately, due to my recent cancer diagosis. The staff has been amazingly friendly and helpful, and the rooms are always comfortable, clean, cheery and cozy, making it a great place to deal with all we have been going through. They have pillowtop beds with your choice of soft or firm pillows, and there's never a problem when you ask for anything. I never thought I would be comfortable in a hotel the night after an operation, but due to the pleasant staff and comfortable rooms, it really felt like coming back home and I slept like a baby. The lobby and dining room are also very attractive and inviting. I recommend this hotel highly...it's a winner! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyesys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear eyesys

Thank you so much for all the kind things you had to say about your time at our Comfort Inn. We are very glad that we can be here for you while going through a difficult time, and help to make things a little easier. I will need to compliment our staff for their overall service as they seemed to be accommodating and friendly every step of the way. We really appreciate that you recommend our hotel so highly, that is a huge compliment, and we will always be your home away from home! We hope that your treatments continue to go well!

Take Care,
Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for one night but wish it was longer! The hotel was so pretty and the staff were so pleasant which was great after travelling for 15 hours! Our room was a little chilly when we arrived, but we turned heat on went out to eat, it was toasty when we came back. Breakfast was perfect for us and actually we found the make your own waffle station a really novelty.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EmmaS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear EmmaSloan,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our Comfort Inn. We are very glad that you found our hotel to be so comfortable and inviting and we wish that you could have stayed longer too! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast, especially the waffles. We realize that you probably do not come to Coastal Maine very often but we hope that the next time you visit you will choose to stay with us again!

Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have been very happy each time that we stayed here. We come thru about 3 times a year from Boston. Check in is fast and easy.
The staff has always been very kind and friendly rooms are ok but clean. Good location good price. Going back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LARRY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear LARRY B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It is great to know that you have stayed here multiple times and that each visit was pleasant. We do find that our consistency is appreciated by our repeat guests. From cleanliness to friendliness we try to make each stay comfortable at our inn. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Jessie
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

When we arrived, the property looked charming. It was beautifully decorated with Christmas lights inside and out. The staff were friendly and check in was a breeze. The room looks dated, although it was clean. For the price it was good. I found a note from the staff with two peppermint patties and two bottles of water. Our remote control was missing, the front desk staff brought a new one to the room rather quickly. At night, they had complimentary chicken soup in the crockpot, it was delicious especially on a cold December night. The only concern was the back doors and security, they are left open during the day, unlocked.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 246Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear 246Trips,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Comfort Inn. We really enjoy putting up the lights and making the outside of the hotel, as well as the lobby, quite festive and inviting! I will pass along to the staff the nice things you had to say concerning your quick and easy check-in, the pleasant recognition of your Choice Privileges Membership with the water and mints, as well as the prompt service regarding the remote. We pride ourselves on our high standard of customer service and we are glad that you noticed this during your stay. This is only the second year that we have been doing the soup on the weekends in the winter, but it has been a huge hit with guests! The outside doors to the hotel are left open during the day, however this is simply as a convenience to our guests since the layout of the hotel is not conducive to just the front and back door being open. However we are looking into setting up “keyed” entry to those doors, where they will be locked at all times with the only access being a guest key. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we hope that when you return to the area and you will choose to stay with us again!

Kind Regards,
Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My son and I were visiting the Brunswick area and stayed here two nights. A Comfort Inn is a Comfort Inn, so we did not have high expectations. The room was basic and small with a tiny (but clean) bathroom. Two double beds that were just OK. 32" TV was nice, but analog service only. WiFi worked very well. Interestingly, the "in room" heating/cooling unit was the quietest I have encountered, a big plus to me. Breakfast was included and I found it very good: scrambled and hard boiled eggs; sausage; do-it-yourself waffles; cereals; breads, bagels, & pastries; fruit; yogurt; juices and coffee. Convenient location off 295. Check-in was handled efficiently. The staff was very friendly and helpful. In all, very good value for the price (about $180 for the 2 days, taxes incl.). BOTTOM LINE: If you just want something basic with a good breakfast, definitely stay here.

Room Tip: It's on Route 1 which can be noisy. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. We did and road n...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear BostonDriver,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Comfort Inn while visiting the Brunswick area. We are glad to hear that you found the room clean and quiet (once you moved away from Route 1), and the staff to be friendly. Most of our guests, including yourself, enjoy the many items in our breakfast spread! We hope that you will stay with us again when in the area as it seems you liked our clean rooms, helpful staff, location, and price.

Kind Regards,

Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I always find budget and mid-range chains and independent hotels the hardest to rate. You don't (or shouldn't) EXPECT a Motel 6 to be a Four Seasons, but if you give an "Excellent" rating to anything less than a full-service luxury property, someone will always fail to manage their expectations appropriately and quibble about the missing niceties. This Comfort Inn has a little more personal styling than most; it doesn't look like a giant concrete box. Inside, the corridors seem to go on forever, but my husband and I found our room comfortably furnished, with everything in good working order. The setting seems quiet enough, although we were woken up by a passing train early in the morning. I guess we have different ideas about what makes up a great breakfast buffet, as we found the coffee weak and the food selections all bland, but still, it was pretty much what we have come to EXPECT. I answered a Comfort Inn survey sent to me after our stay, filling it out with my honest opinion. I don't believe that I outright criticized anything, but I didn't give a 10-star rating to every area queried either. Following my reply, the property's general manager sent me an apology for not meeting or exceeding my expectations; Jessie Allen, don't worry - your Comfort Inn DID meet my expectations. Some things are a matter of personal taste, some things are unavoidable (like passing trains), and sometimes surveys are asking too much out of a roadside inn. I would be happy to return in the future under similar circumstances.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Tellurian,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this review as well. I really do appreciate your explanation regarding how you rate hotels, and it is nice to know that we did meet your expectations. At our Comfort Inn we pride ourselves on our customer service and overall cleanliness and we are glad that you noticed this effort. We understand that we don't have all the fancy amenities and full-service options of a Four Seasons hotel, but we really try to provide our guests with a well-rounded, comfortable, and inviting stay at our hotel. We also appreciated that you noticed that we are not a typical Comfort Inn in regards to appearance, and most people are genuinely impressed with our cozy New England style inn. We are glad to know that you would return to stay with us again.

When you do return I would suggest booking a room with a King bed, as those rooms have all recently been remodeled. We are currently in the process of remodeling our rooms with two Double beds as well, with all rooms scheduled to be renovated by the spring of 2015!

Jessie Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
0.6 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
250 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
1.6 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
412 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 199 Pleasant St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range: £67 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Comfort Inn, Brunswick we constantly strive to improve your "home-away-from-home" experience. In our opinion a hotel should be clean, it should be comfortable, and you should feel welcome. Your experience begins the moment you turn into our driveway and see a beautifully landscaped property. Walk into our newly renovated lobby and be greeted by a staff that prides itself on welcoming guests. When you are ready, make your way to your room where you will find a very cozy bed, and all of the amenities to make you feel at home. Trust that your room has not only been cleaned, but that it has passed our inspection process. Visit the front desk for recommendations not only for places to eat, but to visit as well. In the morning, after you have slept comfortably please enjoy our brand new hot breakfast. We are proud to serve you hot eggs and breakfast meats, make-your-own waffles, fresh fruit and other goodies! Remember, at the Comfort Inn, Brunswick comfort begins the moment you walk in our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Brunswick
Comfort Inn Brunswick, Maine
Brunswick Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing