We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very clean and wonderful place to stay, a place i would repeat again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Daniel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Biddeford, Maine
1 review
“a very clean and wonderful place to stay, a place i would repeat again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

to all the staff
we went as a group of 20 or more for dinner and the service and food was great. We stayed in the lounge to have drinks and to sit by the fire place, it was a lot of fun. Some of us stayed over night, what a beautiful place. to end our evening we relaxed in the hot tub.
The most important thing to me when I stay somewhere is clean and friendly and they where. I would recommend this place to anyone.


Thank you
Tim & Rose Morin

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    97
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
86
189
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

The hotel looks quite nice from outside, but sadly, that was all I got to see a couple of weeks ago when I tried to stop after a very long day of driving, only to find the building locked up and completely empty! I tried multiple doors and drove around the outside, but every one was locked and there wasn't a single car in the parking lot.

I don't understand how a hotel that touts itself as being a first class establishment can justify locking it's doors and going home if no one checks in by midnight. (Which is what the polite woman told me they did when I called the next afternoon.) And personally, I would be hesitant to leave such a large, well appointed property unsecured all night.

Frustrated, I drove down the road to the very sub-par Knight's Inn. But at least they were open... Even if the desk clerk was a weird hippy moon child lady.

That said, the reviews are good on here, so maybe I'll try it next time I'm in town, but my schedule is usually eclectic at best and I never know what town I'll be in - especially if I have to book it before they close.

Room Tip: Book ahead! They close early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank InkfishWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

My wife and I stayed here recently for a weekend getaway, and there was absolutely nothing short of perfect about our time there. The staff was wonderful and always accommodating, the facilities were impeccable, the restaurant was sublime (I can't believe how inexpensive the dining was for how wonderful of a product they served). The bedroom was comfortable, and the clawfoot soaking tub didn't disappoint at all! This was the perfect weekend getaway, bar none.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToadandTenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We visited Brunswick , MAine to watch our son compete in his college league swim meet. We were delighted with the room, amenities, nice towels, comfortable beds and friendly service. The price was reasonable for the comfort. They have a well quipped workout room.
Delicious fresh baked cookies in the afternoon.
Two of the evenings, the chef/restaurant prepared a delicious and complete banquet dinner for approx 60 very hungry swimmers and their folks.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Copperbed83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabattus, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I got ready at the Captain Daniel for my wedding day. The staff was excellent and the room was clean and beautiful. We also took all of our bridal party pictures in the lobby, on the grand staircase, and in front of the stone fireplace. My large bridal party pretty much took over the lobby (on a very busy night, it was new years eve) and they didn't complain at all! We were able to take beautiful pictures. My husband and I also stayed the night of the wedding and our room was perfect... the staff even put flowers, rose petals, candles and wine in our room. Very romantic. Thank you to everyone for making our day so special!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlindsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

What a great find...my guy and I went on a convertible-riding vacation from our home in Indiana to Maine...We stayed on the ocean in different cities...but found that overall...we liked this Inn the best. Great Value!!!

What we were most impressed with, however, was our dinner the second night we stayed. At No. 10 Water Street Restaurant, we could not decide what to have for dinner...so Mark walked over the the open kitchen to get the chef's recommendations...he then proceeded to give suggestions, but then opened up with the question..."Would you like to enjoy a Four-Course Dinner, and have it paired with wine??? Yes...Yes...and More Yes....and the Evening was the Most Memorable. :)

Thank You!!!

Mark and Heather of Indiana

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heatbrown75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

This is a relatively new restaurant to compliment the Brunswick dining experiences. We have visited a half a dozen times and have not been impressed by the dedication the chef is taking to 'get it right' . The menu is always changing but they listen to customers requests. The layout varied depending on you mood lounge, fireside, out on the enclosed deck. It's spread out enough so you're not on top of the next table - very comfortable. Love the new colors and the open kitchen.
Make sure to save room for dessert!
We will be trying out the brunch today and we like breakfast foods for brunch!








comfortable

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmd1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
23.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
23.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daniel

Property: The Daniel
Address: 10 Water St, Brunswick, ME 04011-1518 (Formerly Captain Daniel Stone Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#1 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#4 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daniel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Maine Street and the stunning Bowdoin College campus in Brunswick, Maine, The Daniel is a historic building that was erected in 1819. Formerly known as The Captain Daniel Stone Inn, the hotel has been renovated and reimagined as Maine's newest curated lifestyle luxury hotel. Our guests are always treated to a stylish, luxurious home away from home. The hotel's Coast Bar + Bistro provides great food, drink and entertainment in a relaxed but engaging atmosphere. Come join us on your next trip to Maine! Happy hour offered every day and live music on Thursday and Fridays. Brunswick is a historic town located in mid-coast Maine just 10 minutes from Freeport and 25 minutes from Portland and the Jetport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Daniel Stone Hotel Brunswick
Captain Daniel Stone Brunswick
The Daniel Brunswick, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing