We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and quaint.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Daniel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely and quaint.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Such a beautiful little spot to stay at. Friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and very qiet and peaceful stay. We slept all night with our windows and door open of our balcony to smell the salty air of the coast. A really nice place to vacation to!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    97
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
88
190
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Jefferson NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The Captain Daniel Stone Inn was the perfect choice for me, traveling alone, on a family mission in Maine. The circumstances of my visit were difficult, but having a clean, comfortable and calm place to go each night made the difficulty more bearable. Yummy cookies, good breakfast, luxurious roomy space with impeccably clean linens and first rate bathing products supplied much appreciated luxury, easing away the strain of the long drive, the sadness of the circumstances and the great fatigue and stress of the whole trip. The women who worked at the desk were very helpful with turn by turn directions and tidbits of local knowledge. I was able to get where I had to go, do what I had to do and then renew myself for the next day in a serene environment. I know I will return when I will be freer to take advantage of hotel amenites like the exercise room, hot tub room and the restaurant. And the weekly music in the Tavern! This is a great choice...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginnyPortJeffersonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the inn. We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments. We are sorry to hear that the circumstances of your visit were difficult. We hope that your next visit to Maine will be much easier.
We look forward to you staying with us in the future.

Thank you,

Mandi Cote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baring, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for my birthday. We stayed in a King room and it was beautiful. We even booked the hot tub room and were able to enjoy the room all to ourselves. We also went to the lounge and enjoyed some drinks. The singer was wonderful. She wished me a happy birthday and asked if we had any requests. She sang a romantic song and my hubby and I had a very romantic dance. They had a wonderful selection of wines and I even bought a bottle to take home. The only thing that could use improvement is the continental breakfast. It was set up in the lobby and there were no tables and chairs to sit at and they didn't have any trays to take our breakfast to our rooms. We had to make two trips. But overall the stay was fantastic. The staff was wonderful. I will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Call ahead and book time in the hot tub room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the inn. We are so pleased to hear that you chose to celebrate your birthday with us. We think that Katie Dagget always puts on a great performance and are glad that you agree.
During continental breakfast we do offer seating in the tavern as well as the lobby. I do apologize that you were not aware that was an option.
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We were leaving a ski trip at Sunday River and needed somewhere to stay in Maine. Had originally planned on staying near Ebenezer's Pub, but learned they were closed the night we wanted to go. So we tried in Brunswick near the Lion's Pride. My wife found this place and got a great gov't employee rate that saved us a ton of money. Upon arriving, we discovered the hotel to be quite swanky and more than worth what we actually paid. It seemed to have just gone through some renovations. The spa wasn't open yet, but they had a gorgeous hot tub (we used it and it was fabulous) and sauna and a nice fitness center. The staff were all super friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, and perfect (though a little on the small side, but this is an old place, so it was to be expected). They had a free continental breakfast that was far better than your average continental breakfast - small containers of cereal, including some good healthy options (Kashi, for example), tasty breads, bagels, English muffins, etc. We didn't eat in the restaurant or drink at the bar, but the bar looked really nice and they had some good beers on tap. If I find myself up this way again, I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RunawayJimPVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the inn. We are pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and had the time to enjoy the hot tub and sauna. We hope to see you again in the future and appreciate your feedback.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

As I walked into the lobby I was immediately taken in by the warmth of this beautiful quaint Inn. The gal at the desk was so kind and welcoming as though I had just come home from a long journey. She was polite and not overbearing. She gave me enough information without overwhelming me with too much for me to take in as my eyes continued to wander and draw in every detail of my surroundings. My eyes followed the long staircase to the overlooking balcony. I swear this is a sight from the great movies of the past. It reminded me of something like the Sound of Music. The colors were warm and all I could think of was this is a prefect setting for a family portrait.
As I followed the brick walk way to the canopy covered entrance I couldn’t wait to see my room. The hall to my room was not the standard hotel/inn wall paper of never ending over done details. Everything was tastefully decorated and the pillars along the way just made me feel like I was in a beautiful home.
As I entered my room, the lights softly lit all my thoughts of work just went by the wayside. I dropped my bags and just lay across the bed for a good hour. No noise, no music, no TV on. I looked all around and I was taken back to my child hood where our home was filled with so much warmth and comfort. There wasn’t this cold empty feeling I get from most places I’ve stayed. For some reason it wasn’t just a room to sleep in. Once I sat on the sofa perfectly placed by the picture window I was brought back to my modern life. I started to text and tell my friends how sweet and quaint this Inn was. I tried to work but felt too relaxed to focus. I realized the next morning as I made my coffee in those beautiful old style serious sized coffee mugs that I never even turned the tv on. Most hotels or Inns I stay in I automatically turn the tv on get my belongings in place for me to find them quick but I looked around the room and there lay my bags on the floor from the night before. Did I seriously loose myself as I entered my room the night before? My only regret was I never made it to the restaurant. I read their incredible menu and their offerings for the holidays which sounded enticing. It was time to leave and like my childhood home I have felt like I’m being called back to return. I hope anyone who has the opportunity to stay at this Inn, will upon entering just take the time to take in its warmth and comfort and hopefully it’ll take a way the hectic life you have and leave it outside the door so you too can feel Captain Daniel Stone calling you back after your stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seriouslynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. It is a goal of ours to make every guest feel at home when they stay with us. It is wonderful to know that this was accomplished for you! We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,

Mandi Cote
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Captain Daniel Stone Inn was a great place to stay on our vacation! Great facility with friendly staff and beautiful dining room and bar... Perfect location in Brunswick!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FishingVermilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
We are glad that you chose to stay with us and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you,

Mandi Cote
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
863 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 825 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

The Captain Daniel Stone Inn is a lovely, elegant hotel in beautiful mid-coast Maine. We spent our anniversary here on a trip to coastal Maine. I only wish we had spent more time at the inn and in the beautiful area.

After a gorgeous, sunny day sightseeing on the coast, we arrived to the serene oasis of the Captain Daniel Stone Inn. Everyone we encountered, from check in, to evening tea/coffee, to breakfast, to checkout was accommodating and cheerful. They make their guests feel special.

Our queen bed room was just lovely -- both beautiful and tranquil. The multi-million dollar renovation of this hotel is evident in every space from room and bath, to hallway, lobby, staircase, restaurant, and fitness room.

The complimentary breakfast is served in the spacious restaurant. Quiche, fruit, pastries, and cereals are offered with assistance from a server who will heat anything you want and bring it to your table. The offerings are not expansive, but you'll not leave hungry. In spite of the grand surroundings, guests feel comfortable enough to talk and share their tips and experiences of Maine travel.

Captain Daniel Stone Inn is by far the most elegant Choice Hotel that we've ever experienced. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our inn on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make each guest experience memorable. We hope that you will be able to celebrate another anniversary with us in the future.
Thank you,
Mandi Cote
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
23.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daniel

Property: The Daniel
Address: 10 Water St, Brunswick, ME 04011-1518 (Formerly Captain Daniel Stone Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#1 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#4 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daniel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Maine Street and the stunning Bowdoin College campus in Brunswick, Maine, The Daniel is a historic building that was erected in 1819. Formerly known as The Captain Daniel Stone Inn, the hotel has been renovated and reimagined as Maine's newest curated lifestyle luxury hotel. Our guests are always treated to a stylish, luxurious home away from home. The hotel's Coast Bar + Bistro provides great food, drink and entertainment in a relaxed but engaging atmosphere. Come join us on your next trip to Maine! Happy hour offered every day and live music on Thursday and Fridays. Brunswick is a historic town located in mid-coast Maine just 10 minutes from Freeport and 25 minutes from Portland and the Jetport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Daniel Stone Hotel Brunswick
Captain Daniel Stone Brunswick
The Daniel Brunswick, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing