We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! This was a great place....”
Review of The Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Daniel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our GPS did not want to find this inn but after a phone call to the inn for directions we were on our way for a most wonderful stay. Our room was a corner room with huge windows, beautiful decor and very clean. The claw foot bathtub with an added shower was so unique. Everything was wonderful - the front desk staff were so friendly and helpful. Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summertraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in a King room.The room was immaculate .It was most comfortable and the rooms were very quiet.The location is walking distance to downtown and a matter of yards to get on the highway.The staff was most congenial and helpful.The bar manager Mary was most pleasant and helpful on the area.We go to Brunswick twice a year and now weknow where we will stay.The noise from the highway did not seem overwhelming..The food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced.When they found out we were going to So Africa next week Mary appeared with Henry the general manager who had spent five years there.A simply wonderful experience.

Room Tip: aroom away from highway may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mainelytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you found your room to be quiet, comfortable, and immaculate. Housekeeping tries hard to maintain high standards in all areas of the property. Your comments will also be shared with Mary, we are sure she was happy to serve you and provide information about the area.

Enjoy your trip to Africa and we hope to see you next time you are in Brunswick.

Thank you for staying with us.

Mandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was a random stop, but excellent choice. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable and quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family coming to visit the Brunswick area.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your review of the inn, it is very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear you feel you made an excellent choice by staying with us. It is always a great compliment when guests leave and recommend the inn to family and friends. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,

Mandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

A great hotel conviently located to downtown Brunswick. We chose the location because we didn't to stay in Portland and were very happy with our decision. We would definitely stay there again. The room was very comfortable, breakfast was adequate and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindig4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would stay with us again. We frequently have guest tell us they booked with us because they didn’t want to stay in Portland. While Portland has some nice hotels we are glad you chose to stay with us. The drive from Portland to Brunswick is also convenient and easy.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope to see you again.

Thank you,

Mandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for one night on a trip through Maine and enjoyed it thoroughly. Just the kind of old-fashioned inn we wanted to experience on our trip. The rooms are decorated beautifully and the bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was delicious and included in the rate. Check-in was a breeze, although we arrived a little late. Slept like babies as it is very quiet. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2travel2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

“Would highly recommend” that is such a wonderful comment for us to hear. We are glad that the inn turned out to be just the place you were looking for on your trip. Thank you for taking the time to review the inn. We hope to see you again.

Thank you,

Mandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Captain Daniel Stone Inn. Our queen room was very nicely appointed and super clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the temperature control was one of the most quiet I've experienced. We slept well. The room was a bit small (I think the king rooms are larger), but it was wonderful corner room with windows on two sides. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. And the breakfast was excellent - Chobani yogurt, Kashi cereals, quiche, fruit, etc. - a wonderful continental buffet. The hotel is located close to the center of Brunswick -- we took a nice evening walk to the shops and restaurants. Overall - a great choice for Brunswick; we would stay again!

Room Tip: We had a corner room overlooking Water Street - the room was a bit small, but very, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the inn. You are right, the queen corner rooms are smaller than the king rooms. We find that guest like these rooms for the location of them and the view. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed our continental breakfast selection.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again.

Mandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Beautiful building, rooms, and decor.
The HK staff had the place immaculate!
Breakfast was well above the normal Choice breakfasts...
(My only complaint is against the other hotel guests; they were not tipping the breakfast girls. Have people forgotten common etiquette?)

Very nice place.
Visit and enjoy .... just remember to tip!

Room Tip: The end king rooms are the best; those are the rooms in the e-brochure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliveAndWellAt40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the options available for continental breakfast. Housekeeping does try very hard to keep all areas of the inn immaculate. Your comments have been shared with them.
We hope that we have another opportunity to provide you with accommodations in the future.

Thank you,

Mandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Brunswick
303 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Brunswick Freeport
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,506 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daniel

Address: 10 Water St, Brunswick, ME 04011-1518 (Formerly Captain Daniel Stone Inn)
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#4 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range: £100 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daniel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Maine Street and the stunning Bowdoin College campus in Brunswick, Maine, The Daniel is a historic building that was erected in 1819. Formerly known as The Captain Daniel Stone Inn, the hotel has been renovated and reimagined as Maine's newest curated lifestyle luxury hotel. Our guests are always treated to a stylish, luxurious home away from home. The hotel's Coast Bar + Bistro provides great food, drink and entertainment in a relaxed but engaging atmosphere. Come join us on your next trip to Maine! Happy hour offered every day and live music on Thursday and Fridays. Brunswick is a historic town located in mid-coast Maine just 10 minutes from Freeport and 25 minutes from Portland and the Jetport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Daniel Stone Hotel Brunswick
Captain Daniel Stone Brunswick
The Daniel Brunswick, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing