We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and Elegant”
Review of The Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Daniel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel with our two boys on a trip thru New England. It was a welcome treat after staying in some "quaint" hotels along the way. We were in a suite, so our boys had their own bed and TV. It had a huge old fashioned bathtub which was nice to relax in after a long road trip. Also a great hot tub and sauna in the hotel that our family used at the end of the night. The room was spotless, with beautiful decor and great towels and bedding. Very upscale. The price for this hotel was really good and also included a free continental breakfast. The breakfast area was in a very nice restaurant which was part of the hotel and made it a relaxing and enjoyable morning. Great Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-girlUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear G-girlUSA,

We are so happy to hear that your stay with us was relaxing, refreshing and a welcomed reprieve on your trip thru New England. Our entire staff works to exceed our guests’ expectations and we are thrilled we were able to do that for you and your family.

We are also excited to hear that your family enjoyed the hot tub and sauna room and the claw foot bathtub in your suite.

We are glad you enjoyed the continental breakfast and are excited to share with you that we are introducing a weekend brunch on October 26th.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Brunswick.

Sincerely,

Mandi Cote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The Captain Daniel Stone is a beautiful bed and breakfast a block away from the main street and Bowdoin College campus. The rooms toward the street have a view of the bay. Further down the quiet street is a lovely park. The staff is cheerful and helpful. The rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable with super comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet was huge and had lots of variety. One evening we ate in the dining room. I had the seafood sampler which was the best seafood I have ever had. We would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCamper46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear HappyCamper46,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are glad you found your room to be impeccably clean. Our housekeeping staff works tirelessly to keep our entire hotel sparkling clean.

While we are happy to hear you loved the food in our restaurant, we are gearing up to introduce a new menu for the fall and winter seasons.

We gladly invite you to stay with us the next time you are in Brunswick and to try our new menu.

Sincerely,

Mandi Cote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a clean, nicely appointed corner room in a quiet part of Brunswick. Woman at the reception desk (Joanna?) was helpful and friendly. It's a good place to stay if you're visiting Bowdoin College.

Room Tip: Our corner room overlooked the road and, in the distance, bridge and old factory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Rose1920,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you were pleased with your room and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Our number one goal is to provide a top quality, unforgettable experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town!

Sincerely,

Mandi Cote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I agree with all the good things others have had to say about the hotel. It is a 4 diamond AAA property,and as such, we felt that breakfast should have been a lot better. It was certainly adequate, but only really comparable to what we have seen in a Comfort Inn or Hampton Inn type of place. It was all self-serve, with yogurt, fruit, cereal, and breakfast breads available. But the one attendant had to be asked to provide more coffee cups, the coffee was not really hot, and the fruit was previously frozen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGuestServices, Manager at The Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Cronechristine,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you were very happy with the property.

We note your comments about our breakfast offering and we absolutely agree that while it has been acceptable, it does not live up to the high standards of the Inn. I am delighted to inform you that we are launching a brand new delicious breakfast for our guests by the end of this month. The hotel ownership changed on October 1, 2013 and the new management team is very excited to take this exceptional hotel to new heights of service excellence. The entire food and beverage service is being upgraded to ensure that The Captain Daniel Stone Inn will be not only a fantastic place to stay but will have a restaurant and bar that will be must visit destinations.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future and will welcome the opportunity to impress you with a delicious new breakfast offering!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by how nice this place is. Has the feel of a classy B&B but with great rooms with all 1st class amenities. Nice restaurant. Hotel even gives you a discount coupon for the restaurant. Nice breakfast included. Wish we could have stayed longer. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veratom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We liked this hotel a lot, and would go back if we had the chance. Everything in our room - and out - was crisp and clean. Our bed was very comfortable - the sheets were fabulous - really soft and wonderful. Amenities were very good - coffee, tea and fruit available all the time. The continental breakfast was quite good; I'd say easily above average. Not only is there free internet in your room, but also, there is a computer and printer in the lobby for guest use.

This is a great place to stay to see some of the Maine coast ... we really enjoyed the location. Brunswick is a lovely little town, with lots of good restaurants and fun shops - just a block from the hotel. We drove up to Boothbay Harbor, half an hour away, and visited the botanical garden. We then drove out one of the Boothbay peninsulas, and found a wonderful restaurant to eat fresh lobster and watch the sunset. The next evening, we drove to Portland for dinner, half an hour away - Miyake Japanese - quite elegant, wonderful food. Lots of fun things to do - we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel, and with one of the small balconies if you like more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on the way to bar harbor and wished I could have stayed longer. Beautiful inn. Very comfortable king room and friendly staff. I would have rated it a five if room service was available. But I would stay again without hesitations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnytan1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Brunswick
303 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
261 reviews
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,483 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daniel

Address: 10 Water St, Brunswick, ME 04011-1518 (Formerly Captain Daniel Stone Inn)
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#1 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#4 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range: £104 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daniel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Maine Street and the stunning Bowdoin College campus in Brunswick, Maine, The Daniel is a historic building that was erected in 1819. Formerly known as The Captain Daniel Stone Inn, the hotel has been renovated and reimagined as Maine's newest curated lifestyle luxury hotel. Our guests are always treated to a stylish, luxurious home away from home. The hotel's Coast Bar + Bistro provides great food, drink and entertainment in a relaxed but engaging atmosphere. Come join us on your next trip to Maine! Happy hour offered every day and live music on Thursday and Fridays. Brunswick is a historic town located in mid-coast Maine just 10 minutes from Freeport and 25 minutes from Portland and the Jetport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Daniel Stone Hotel Brunswick
Captain Daniel Stone Brunswick
The Daniel Brunswick, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing