We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Daniel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Captain Daniel Stone Inn. It is a lovely hotel with lots of history and atmosphere but has all the modern conveniences. Our suite was spacious and well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable. Staff were all friendly and helpful.There is plenty of parking and the hotel is only a few minutes walk to Maine St. We explored Brunswick and also found it a good base to tour around Maine as the Harpswell area, Bath and Boothbay are within easy driving reach. The hotel restaurant No 10 Water has delicious food and the bar is great as well. A very pleasant place to say in Brunswick.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Sue S,

Thank you for your wonderful review from your recent stay! We really appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Inn and the restaurant. Our staff endeavors to ensure that each and every guest has as comfortable of a stay as you did. Brunswick really is a great spot to explore the area and we’re glad to have been a part of you Midcoast experience.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest again on your next trip to Brunswick.

Sincerely,

Mandi Cote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    98
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
88
193
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed at this Inn during my recent visit to parent's weekend at Bowdoin College. While it is a bit of a further walk to the campus, it is still in walking distance, and near downtown. The staff is friendly. The building is very quaint in a New England sort of way, and very nicely remodeled. The bedding, towels, robes, etc, were very high quality, and the 4 gourmet chocolates on the pillow a nice touch. I did not dine at the restaurant this trip, but there it is very cozy, and seems to keep a fire going in the fireplace.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Front Office Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Carol M,

We really appreciate your choosing to stay with us during your trip to Brunswick for Parent’s Weekend. The Inn was thoughtfully renovated to be just what you described and we’re glad you felt it was quaint. We also know how important the small luxuries are away from home and we’re happy to hear you enjoyed the in-room amenities.

The cozy spot next to the fire in our restaurant is a guest favorite and we hope you’ll get the chance to enjoy it on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Captain Daniel Stone Inn. The rooms were cozy and the bed extremely comfortable. The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The location is walking distance to the restaurants and bars on Maine Street (check out the Broadway Deli for a fab breakfast). My one comment was that the restaurant closed pretty early - 8:30 p.m. Granted we stayed on a Sunday night, but after coming back after dinner had to go out again to watch the Sox game and have a beer. Nonetheless, it is a great hotel and one I would certainly recommend if you were traveling in Brunswick.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Front Office Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Suzanne W,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We’re not only glad to hear you found our rooms comfortable but that our staff was friendly and accommodating. We’ll be sure to pass along your kind compliments to them. Brunswick really is a great town and we’re glad our location was convenient for you to explore Maine Street.

We appreciate your feedback on the restaurant hours. We came under new ownership recently, and will be extending the restaurant hours in the near future!

We hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed for one night, December 2012, I was 9 months pregnant and the staff were all very accomidating. Beautiful hotel, grounds, restaurant, etc. Room was corner wth queen, very comfortable bed, even for a pregnant woman, beautiful bathroom with clawfoot tub. We stayed with a groupon deal, no problems at all with it, ate at the onsite restaurant for dinner, atmosphere was great, food was even better. Brunswick is a great town too!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Front Office Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Michelle l,

Thank you for your positive comments and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. The corner room with the claw foot tub is one of our favorites! We’re so pleased that it was what you needed. The finest compliment we can receive is that our staff was helpful and you enjoyed both the Inn and restaurant, No. 10 Water. We hope you’ll be back for another stay with us in Brunswick!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel on a trip through New England. Our room was a nicely appointed room, not very large, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is included, and is typical continental fare like what is usually found at a much cheaper property. Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel, just doesn't live up to its 4 diamond rating or its $165 per night price tag.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genelary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Genelary,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate that you took time to
give us valuable feedback. We are pleased that you found your room
comfortable and clean. As stated in previous responses, we are recently
under new ownership and are excited to be offering a brand new breakfast
to our guests very soon. We also understand that during peak season, the
rates are competitive, but we hope you will stop and see us again on
your next trip through New England.

Sincerely,

Mandi Cote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
263 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

When we made our reservation months ago, Captain Daniel was a Choice Hotel. Upon arrival we found out it had changed ownership. We met the new CEO and he shared some of his vision for the hotel. We had a suite with a pull-out sofa that was broken and wonderful Joanna, the front desk person, had a roll-away brought in. There were no locks on the wheels so the CEO and his assistant taped the wheels and then taped the roll-away to the couch. It worked and we were please the CEO took part in finding a solution. That's doing smart business. Bravo! One thing I hope the new owners keep are the homemade cookies at check-in. They are delicious and goes well with the Keurig coffee in the lobby and in your room. We stayed three days and ate the free breakfast each morning. The fruit was very good with my bagel but no cream cheese. A variety of cereal, toast, muffins and juice. Best of luck to all of you and Joanna, many thanks for making our stay fun.

Room Tip: There are only 2 suites and both are on the street side so a little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Cheri W,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you
for taking time out of your day to write such a thoughtful review. I
apologize the sofa bed was not as expected on your arrival. We
appreciate you being so understanding. As you know, we're recently under
new ownership and room renovations will soon be under way.

Thank you again for your review. Our staff strive to provide a quality
experience with each guest and we'll be sure to pass along your kind
words to them.

We truly look forward to having another opportunity to have you as our
guest!

Sincerely,

Mandi Cote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel with our two boys on a trip thru New England. It was a welcome treat after staying in some "quaint" hotels along the way. We were in a suite, so our boys had their own bed and TV. It had a huge old fashioned bathtub which was nice to relax in after a long road trip. Also a great hot tub and sauna in the hotel that our family used at the end of the night. The room was spotless, with beautiful decor and great towels and bedding. Very upscale. The price for this hotel was really good and also included a free continental breakfast. The breakfast area was in a very nice restaurant which was part of the hotel and made it a relaxing and enjoyable morning. Great Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-girlUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear G-girlUSA,

We are so happy to hear that your stay with us was relaxing, refreshing and a welcomed reprieve on your trip thru New England. Our entire staff works to exceed our guests’ expectations and we are thrilled we were able to do that for you and your family.

We are also excited to hear that your family enjoyed the hot tub and sauna room and the claw foot bathtub in your suite.

We are glad you enjoyed the continental breakfast and are excited to share with you that we are introducing a weekend brunch on October 26th.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Brunswick.

Sincerely,

Mandi Cote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
23.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daniel

Property: The Daniel
Address: 10 Water St, Brunswick, ME 04011-1518 (Formerly Captain Daniel Stone Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#1 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#4 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daniel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Maine Street and the stunning Bowdoin College campus in Brunswick, Maine, The Daniel is a historic building that was erected in 1819. Formerly known as The Captain Daniel Stone Inn, the hotel has been renovated and reimagined as Maine's newest curated lifestyle luxury hotel. Our guests are always treated to a stylish, luxurious home away from home. The hotel's Coast Bar + Bistro provides great food, drink and entertainment in a relaxed but engaging atmosphere. Come join us on your next trip to Maine! Happy hour offered every day and live music on Thursday and Fridays. Brunswick is a historic town located in mid-coast Maine just 10 minutes from Freeport and 25 minutes from Portland and the Jetport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Daniel Stone Hotel Brunswick
Captain Daniel Stone Brunswick
The Daniel Brunswick, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing