We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great History and Very Photogenic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buck Cemetery

Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Bucksport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can view the inexplicable markings, believed to be made by ghosts, on one of the cemetery's tombstones.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great History and Very Photogenic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you like history and photography... you've got to visit this small, quaint cemetery! Mr Buck has a plaque with some very interesting history of the town and his life. It's a great place to visit near dusk... You'll be glad you stopped! There is a small parking lot adjacent to the cemetery...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlanKoenigsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,602 reviews
1,083 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,294 helpful votes
“Brief encounter with Col Buck”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Quite a story. It seems that Bucksport found a good tourist focal point by enhancing the legend of Col Buck (who by the way is buried in another part of the cemetery). I suspect many post cards have been sold to folks from away. But it is worth a very short visit in order to keep the legend going. Small parking area and a busy street. There is a stain on the front of the monument, but the legend has been debunked. Read the background on this site before visiting and it will be more entertaining. I can see dads retelling this tale to their kids by the campfire. We just stumbled on it looking for an ice cream establishment having just visited Castine for the day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“debunnked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The tale that goes with this cemetary is debunked and the truth told, good to know but still fun. I think some grandpa was telling a good yarn to grandchild on his knee...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Earl1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, ME, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fun and historical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stopped by as we were wandering around town. It's easy to get to with good parking. You can't get in the cemetary as it's gated but you don't really need too. Read up on the history and the legend before you go. The legend is what makes it fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glynis407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FUN to ponder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Is the legend real? Is the leg on the marker real? Who knows? But this was a fun stop for our kids - heck the adults had quite a conversation about it. Very convenient to stop by, no admission fee and we have stopped every time we've come thru Bucksport. It's just fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buck Cemetery also viewed

Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine

Been to Buck Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing