We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bucksport Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucksport
Certificate of Excellence
Emmen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Clean and nice motel”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The hotel is located two minutes outside of Bucksport at Route 1 towards Acadia. We stayed there one night on our tour through New England.

We had a spacious room on the lower floor ond the backside of the building. Our room was very clean and nice - also the bathroom. There was enough space for all our belongings and the beds were comfortable for a relaxing rest. The rate was moderate and completely ok. When we arrived the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubriport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    41
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
59
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

After a lot of research to take our son and grandson to Bangor and Acadia we chose Bucksport Motor Inn. Rooms spacious and spotless. Updated nicely. Owners very helpful and honestly care about their property and guests. Even provide a gas grill outside if you would like to grill a hot dog for supper. Great choice for us. An hour from Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairplaywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

One wouldn't expect such a pleasing room when spotting an older style motel from the road. Thanks to the reviews at Trip Advisor, we chose this motel and were happily pleased with the room and management. The owner was friendly and helpful. The room was freshly painted in light colors. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The room was spacious width plenty of seating, a table, a flat screen tv and updated bath. All was bright and clean. Wifi was accessible in our room which was as far as possible from the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORENO VALLEY
Level 6 Contributor
591 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

When I checked in here I told owner I might be checking out earlier than the 3 days I had reserved, but in the end I stayed 2 nights longer. Really nice place, has everything I look for: flat screen, good wifi, mini refir, micro, nice big chair to relax in, comfortable king bed. And completely redone bath. Very friendly people. A block from grocery store.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mojave, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I was in the area on business for a few weeks and chose this motel for location and price. I travel with my business partner and my dog so it is important that i get a pet friendly motel. From day one we felt as though we were being parented with the female owner going so far as to make us either close the window or turn the fan off. We were accused of leaving the dog in the room alone on the very first day, because we had the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. When we informed them that the dog was with us the entire day, they apologized and said they had "assumed" that is why we put the sign up, rather than asking or not assuming. Things stayed tense until we finally asked them to let us know if they wanted us to leave, but if they didn't then they needed to lighten up. Eddie apologized, but Val seemed very unwelcoming. If you don't have a pet, the experience may be a very different one than we had. The rooms were very nice... though I would have loved to return my towels in the afternoon and run the fan with the window open... but I guess that's not part of the hospitality offered. Also, there was a lot of "activity" going on in the area where the owner and his family all lived. The kids ran back and forth late and played basketball early, which is fine, but if you have to be to work early, get an end room so you can sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TMP244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I rang ahead to check availability, and they did not have a problem with my late check-in (after 22:00) The Inn itself is set well back and above the road, tidy appearance and there are some fast food outlets nearby.
The room was recently refurbished, very clean and comfortable, with Wi-Fi, coffee machine, fridge and TV. I was only here for one night after my last day in Acadia, but would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndonville, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I am a business man and travel with my wife and a small dog. I look for quiet, location, and a welcoming warm feeling. This family operation is all of the above and more. Bucksport is a small seacoast town on the Penobscot River in Maine. It is a half hour from Bucksport, University of Maine, and just a bit more to Acadia National Park. It is open all year and for those who know Maine, it is at the edge of the "real" northern Maine forest. Fisherman, paper mills, woodsman, canoe builders (Old Town), and something for everyone. Its hidden away downtown, near Verona Island and the spectacular Vernona Bridge, a relative to the beautiful Bridge which welcomes you to Boston. Fort Knox sits in the bay across from the town and large boats navigate the river as far as Bangor. At the end of the driveway there is Dunkin donuts, a few fast few offerings, and downtown has a great book store, a nice clothing store, a small theatre, and a great walk along the river. The motel is clean with a variety of accomodatins, some with microwave, refrigerators, and an ambiance back to the 50;s. Some solar panels fit into the constant upgrading. No pretense, but a wonderful family operation.Hard working people, accomodating and kind staff the motel. I am a repeat guest so they recognize my family and welcome us when we call. Not fancy, but convenient, a place for a good nights sleep, quiet guests and on a good size chunk of property where you can walk around and relax. If you need a nice get away, not fancy, but very adequate, than visit this gem on the coast of Northern Maine. Think Lobster Dinners, Fried Clams, all very fresh, sometimes off the boat. Think rest and time out while being in the middle of a wonderland of quaintold Maine without the glitz of fast lane urban life Meet some great people along your way and enjoy going to Liberty Tools for old tools, or antique stores all along route 1. The Bucksport Motor Inn is my choice when I get a chance. bob kantar, SCC

Room Tip: Front of motel is good/ back is more isolated and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucksport
18.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
13.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
13.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
651 reviews
14.1 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort Knox Inn
Fort Knox Inn
#2 of 2 in Bucksport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucksport Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucksport Motor Inn

Property: Bucksport Motor Inn
Address: 70 US Route 1, Bucksport, ME 04416-4120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bucksport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucksport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bucksport Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Dog Friendly in Select Rooms (please notify us first) and a Kid friendly Maine Motel, so come and stay with us and explore the beauty of Midcoast Maine. We also offer internet service for the business traveler. The Bucksport Area is the perfect place for experiencing a fun filled family vacation. We have historic places to visit, children's amusements a short drive away, maritime fun, outdoor activites galore and the natural beauty that is Maine. Across the river is the new Penobscot Narrows Bridge and Observatory. The new bridge's Observation Tower is the first such innovation of its kind in the United States and only the third in the world. The motel is conveniently located near restaurants, churches, antique shops, flea markets, the new bay side walkway, fishing areas and Fort Knox State Park. Many guests staying with us enjoy Bucksport and day trips to Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, Camden, Castine, Blue Hill, Bangor and other Maine Areas. So please stop by our Inn and let us make your stay in Maine comfortable and affordable. Make sure to ask us about our discounts for certain groups and organizations. · All Rooms are Non-Smoking, · Parking at your Front Door. · All rooms have remote controlled TVs/Cable, high speed internet, refrigerators and microwaves, irons and ironing boards, · Direct Dial telephones, · In-room coffee makers, · Table and Chairs in Each Room, · Tub/Shower Combination, · Air Conditioning, · amex, mc, visa and discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bucksport Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucksport Motor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing