We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camden Ocean View and Popovers Too”
Review of High Tide Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Tide Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Camden Ocean View and Popovers Too”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We just made our second visit to this B&B about three miles from Camden. The property includes motel rooms and cabins in addition to the main house. We opted for the beachfront building with a nice view of the ocean. Innkeeper (Jo) is a very caring person and serves fresh popovers and muffins fresh her own oven every morning to go with coffee and juice.. There is no road noise because the rooms are off the main road. Rooms are comfortable although a bit dated. Rates are very reasonable. We will stay with Jo again. .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salesproSanDiego_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    64
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
53
119
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Acton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights at this Inn (Sept 16-19, 2013); it is down off the main road so there is no noise factor! Thought it was a great find; we have a small pet so were accommodated in one of the small cabins which had nice oak furnishings and wicker chairs. Very comfortable and cozy... step outside and enjoy the beautiful seaside view :) The Inn itself is very lovely/homey... has a lovely closed in (large) porch which overlooks the lawn and bay. Mornings were delightful w/sun sparkling on the ocean as we enjoyed Jo's (Innkeeper) homemade popovers and yumbo muffins along w/fruit, juice & coffee! She was very personable and interactive and shared some tidbits/info about the area along w/eating recommendations... was more like a B & B. Michael who 'mans' the desk was also very pleasant and helpful :) We've been visiting Rockland/Camden areas for many years and always ENJOY our travels around this beautiful region :)

Room Tip: Select a room in the Inn or in the Motel location right down by the Bay :) Pet friendly accommodatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We have visited HTI in the first half of September. We have stayed the 'motel' part of inn for one night. The place offers clean, spacious rooms, with ocean view from the window. The only thing which might be improved was the bathroom, which was a bit oldfashioned, but still clean and tidy. In the morning we had a delicious, totally homemade breakfast consisting of muffins, popovers, marmolade, coffee and fruits. The housekeepers were very nice and helpfull! We will definitely come back there when next time visiting New England!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The best thing about High Tide was Michael who manned the desk! He was very gracious.The breakfast was wonderful the first morning, but after the third morning the same watermelon and popovers were tiresome.
Our room was damp, had sagging floors, worn carpet, threadbare sheets, and broken woodwork with mold showing through. There was no cell phone reception and the room phones were out of order. The desk in the main building closed at 8:00, so if there were an emergency, no one could be reached. Ice had to be gotten in a beat up garage.
By our 3rd night, we were not given any toilet paper or tissue replacements, so had to use a box of Kleenex from our car. There are far better places to stay in Bar Harbor! I won't return there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect spot if you like peaceful quietness. Our room by the water was simple and comfortable, we could hear the waves, the breakfast was terrific,and the host was warm and welcoming. Next time we will stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 228anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We called many hotels when driving in to the Camden area, and got a room at the Inn. We were expecting a roadside motel. When we drove up, that's what we saw and the room we got. Very simple, but very clean rooms. Quiet and peaceful property. The surprise was seeing the property that opened up to a beautiful lawn overlooking the water. This motel is the closest thing to a B&B. We woke the next morning, although beds could be a bit more comfortable, to a fabulous home cooked, baked goods breakfast with coffee, juice, fruit, and jams. The warm popovers, coconut muffins, breads, etc were to die for. Jo was an incredible hostess and baker. She shared many ideas with us for outings in the area which proved to be spectacular. We enjoyed the motel and area (very close to Camden, Rockport, Lincoln, Rockland, and Mt Battie) so much that we booked a second night. A definite stop and a gem in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4J2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We picked the High Tide Inn after reading good reviews and it lived up to all of them. Room was clean and comfortable. The freshly baked muffins were the best. The beach was gorgeous! The staff/owner were super nice. It has the social B&B feel with the privacy of a motel.

This is a must stop for us on our next trip to Acadia.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
2.7 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
129 reviews
2.7 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
1.3 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
365 reviews
2.2 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tide Inn

Property: High Tide Inn
Address: 505 Belfast Rd, Camden, ME 04843-4512
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#6 Family Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
High Tide Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing