We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

My wife and I rarely stay at B&B's. We wanted to get away from Connecticut, so we chose the Maine Stay Inn solely based on their website. We had a 6 hour ride which was well worth it. We had the best time. Roberta and Claudio, the owners, are two of the most cordial and friendly people that you will ever want to meet. They had always lived in Rome, but wanted to make a change. They had never run an Inn, fell in love with Camden, and decided to purchase the Maine Stay 4 years ago. They were born to do this. All they care about is insuring that their clients have a memorable experience. The breakfasts each morning are wonderful. Our room was very cosy and nicely decorated. We heard from Roberta that they repaint all the rooms every year. Talk about attention to detail. The walk to downtown Camden is no more than 10 minutes.

There is really no need to stay in any other Inn in Camden than the Maine Stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    34
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
426
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Many thanks to Roberta and Claudio for making our Camden get away a fantastic success! Breakfast on the porch was delightfully delicious as was the lively conversation over endless cups of hot coffee. And our room was without a single flaw.It was clean,fresh,quiet and comfortable. We have visited Camden on many,many occasions ...this visit was the best and we are already planning our next stay with Roberta and Claudio at The Camden Maine Stay Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicknJina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

What sets the Maine Stay apart is the warm and generous hospitality of the hosts, Roberta and Claudio. Yes, the inn is located within walking distance of the center of the charming town of Camden. Yes, the rooms are attractive and comfortable; and, yes, the breakfasts are delicious. But it is Roberta and Claudio and the care they take in insuring their guests needs are met are what keeps us returning year after year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gramps09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

My wife and I go every year to the Camden Conference in Camden, Maine. We also have a home on an island off of Camden, Islesboro, and so are familiar with that part of the Maine coast. And we have stayed in many places in and near Camden, but for many years now we have consistently chosen the Maine Stay Inn as our home away from home. The owners, Roberta and Claudio, are both delightful people and run an outstanding Inn. We would call it "the Best" in the Maine mid-coast region.

Room Tip: We always choose the double room one floor below the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewCanaan_CTNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

The Maine Stay Inn is truly memorable. The Inn was originally built in1802, and has been lovingly updated over the years. The common rooms and bedrooms are exquisite, and the owners have spared no expense to make the Inn beautiful. Claudio and Roberta treat guests as family members. I have traveled all over the world and have rarely had such a wonderful experience.
Alan Schechter

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We love B&B's and found this one to be one of our best experiences so far. We stayed in the Smith Robinson Room and we found it to be cozy (some reviews have said it was small) and the bed was comfortable. It might not be a large room however, it was perfect for us and the size is quite adequate for 2 people. We would have no problem staying in this room again.

We also spent a significant amount of time relaxing in the living rooms enjoying wine, tea and cookies! The experience was warm, relaxing and enjoyable.

The breakfast room has a great view of the gardens and the breakfast was superb! The location of this property is great in that it is in a quaint part of town that looks very small town New England and, is only a short, beautiful walk to town.

The owners, Claudio and Roberta were excellent hosts as was the rest of their staff. We found them to be friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to see and do, and recommendations for local restaurants. We will return to this Inn based on the warmth and charm of Claudio and Roberta alone as they helped to make our stay fun and memorable.

We recommend Camden for anyone visiting Maine and highly recommend the Maine Stay Inn when visiting Camden!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed here one night on our way from Bar Harbor to Vinalhaven. Our room was very nice, enough space, breakfast was great, it's a 5-10 minute walk to main Camden area & very nice backyard garden area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.6 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Maine Stay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Maine Stay Inn

Property: Camden Maine Stay Inn
Address: 22 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camden Maine Stay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, cozy, romantic, and very friendly, the Camden Maine Stay is a grand old home located in the historic district of Camden Maine, one of America's most beautiful seaside villages. A two-block walk down tree lined streets brings you to the harbor park, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camden Maine Stay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Maine Stay Hotel Camden
Camden Maine Stay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing