We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Class and comfort”
Reviewed 1 October 2008

This Inn was recommended by a friend who was a repeat visitor. We were certainly not disappointed! The food was beyond delicious. The Inn itself is full of history, extremely clean and well appointed, and the comfort level is extremely cozy. Juanita Topper and her staff were professional, warm, inviting, and very good at what they do. We stayed in the Dogwood Room which was a sweet room, plenty of room for the two of us. Next time we'll try either the Common Ground or the Cottage. There isn't a bad room in the house, so we plan to try most rooms before too long! This Inn is easily within walking distance to the quaint town of Camden with its shops and restaurants, and it's also just a mile or so from the entrance to Camden State Park. We generally prefer smaller B&Bs to "Inns," but this 8-room Inn still has the ambience of a small, homey B&B. We will definitely return and will recommend this Inn to our friends. In fact, we've already sent two couples there in the last two days!

  • Liked — The rooms were clean and very cozy. Staff was superb
  • Disliked — There was no computer for guest use. We don't travel with a laptop, but there was WIFi available for those who do.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pette407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    35
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
444
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

If your going to be visiting Camden look no further to decide where to stay. Maine Stay Inn is where you should be! I started planning our Maine vacation five months before our scheduled date of departure. Since we never stayed at B&Bs before I thought it was wise to do as much research on line as possible. As part of the process I would ascertain availabilty for those establishments that seemed somewhat of a possibilty. Every site always indicated open choice of availability but one - Maine Stay Inn had only 2 rooms available. I called and spoke with Juanita who was so helpful about Camden and the surrounding area. When I inquired why so many rooms were already booked she modestly said that many previous guests book a year in advance.

Well now that my wife and I stayed at the Inn I know why. Both Juanita and Bob (the owners) are great hosts. They provide so many little things to make your experience there so pleasant - from unbelievable breakfasts (Debbie your the best!), to offering compliementary bottle water and candy in the room, to great afternoon treats and their garden is the perfect place to relax a few hours away. The Inn is walking distance to the center of town which means after a long day of sighseeing you can finally park the car and enjoy the harbor and shops of Camden by foot. I enjoyed sitting in the town park, by the waterfall overlooking the harbor while my wife did her thing shopping. Once again, of all the places we stayed in Maine during our two week vacation, the Maine Stay Inn was by far the best of the best. Don't miss out book early you will not be disappointed.


Bob & Juanita

  • Liked — Location, cleanness, service of the host, grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing- everything was perfect
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlipSouthFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, NH
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We cannot say enough positive things about this inn and the hospitality of Bob and Juanita Topper. We were celebrating our first anniversary and were looking for someplace special. We found it at the Camden Maine Stay; A charming inn with a great history. Juanita greeted us at the door with a smile and immediately made us feel comfortable. The inn is warm, cozy, beautiful and impeccably clean! We stayed in the carriage house, a clean, bright cottage style room with a great library. You immediately want to curl up with a book by the fire. Each day we had a delicious breakfast (prepared by Juanita) in the sunroom and planned our day. Just a short walk into town provided us with some beautiful views and easy shopping. We took Juanita’s suggestions on where to eat and they were all fantastic. Dinner at Francine’s and the Hartstone Inn are not to be missed. We would recommend the Maine Stay to everyone, and are looking forward to our next trip.

Jeff and Staci Garstka

  • Liked — Beautiful Historic Inn with Charm
  • Disliked — Nothing negative
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peruzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We arrived at the Inn after ay long drive from Long Island and immediately felt the warmth of the owners, Juanita and Bob Topper. The Inn is beautifully appointed, sparklingly maintained and has the most comfortable beds immaginable. Juanita serves spectacular gourmet breakfasts. After one day here I told Juanita that we'd love to move in permanently! We consider Maine Stay the best ! It is elegantly homey, quiet, gogreous and well worth a trip from Long Island or anywhere. The property on which it is set is also lovely as is the charming town of Camden. We look forward to a return trip. Excellent, excellent, excellent.

  • Liked — The welcoming atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We spent a night at the Maine Stay after our biking trip on the Maine Coast. A beautiful old inn with a great internet site and rooms and meals exactly as advertized. The Inn is clean and neat as a pin as are its extensive gardens. We stayed in the Carriage House room which was really a neat room...happened to be our 2nd choice but we were pleased with it when our first choice room was full that night. The hostess lives by "A place for everything and everything in its place" to the point when I dropped the newspapers to admire a squirrel that hopped on the back porch, she quickly picked them up and put them back on the end table.
Food and coffee were great, the host's knowledge of the Camden area was excellent. We'd stay again if we ever go back to Camden.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms; modern baths;
  • Disliked — New England "Stiffness" to the Inn
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Biked_it_Liked_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We visited the Maine Stay during our trip through Maine in July 2008. We have stayed in numerous Bed and Breakfasts over the years, but the Maine Stay surpassed all of them. Upon our arrival, the innkeepers helped us to book dinner reservations for two nights in Camden. The dinners were fabulous, but they had to compete with the delicious homemade breakfasts at the Maine Stay, which included fresh blueberry pancakes. Our room for three had ample space with a private master bedroom, a separate bedroom for one, and an additional sitting room. The decorations were simply charming and the rooms were immaculate. An added bonus was the beautiful outdoor garden with gorgeous flowers and walking paths. Juanita, Bob, and Deb could not have been more gracious and helpful. Our experience at the Maine Stay enhanced our entire summer vacation through Maine. The only downside was having to say goodbye!

Susan, Steven, and Sara from New York

  • Liked — The wonderful innkeepers
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNYC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chadds ford
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2008

The Inn is beautifully decorated, each room done differently, with singular touches. We stayed in a lovely blue and white room, where the curtains were crisp, the linens fine, quality soap and shampoo. The host and hostess are friendly, informative, and wonderful cooks, providing a magnificent breakfast each day. Cookies and tea are offered every afternoon. The public rooms are comfortable, with books, a TV, DVD's, and magazines, where you can find a lot of information on the area. Camden is a beautiful Maine town, and the Maine Stay makes for a perfect base from which to explore the area. We hope to return next year.

  • Liked — An atmosphere of elegance and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.4 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Maine Stay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Maine Stay Inn

Property: Camden Maine Stay Inn
Address: 22 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camden Maine Stay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, cozy, romantic, and very friendly, the Camden Maine Stay is a grand old home located in the historic district of Camden Maine, one of America's most beautiful seaside villages. A two-block walk down tree lined streets brings you to the harbor park, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camden Maine Stay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Maine Stay Hotel Camden
Camden Maine Stay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing