We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Ok, I don't speak or write Italian, but in honor of the Italian innkeepers Roberta and Claudio, of Camden Maine Stay Inn, I say, "Favoloso!".

This is a beautiful B&B on a large two acre lot that includes a stream and expansive garden area. The afore mention hosts, Roberta and Claudio, are welcoming, warm, helpful, funny - just great people to be around. The home is large with many rooms to enjoy reading, watching a movie, or just sit and relax. They have an good selection of brochures for the surrounding area and greater Maine and spend time with you explaining the important localities for dining and sightseeing as well as giving you a personal opinion of each, if you ask. At breakfast they are there to serve you and converse if you desire. They participate in the meal by chatting as they serve, if you're amenable. This creates a friendly atmosphere for all guests at breakfast; helps break the ice. But if you wanted to be left alone, they seemed to respect that also. But, when we were there, most everyone staying participated. We very much enjoyed them!

We stayed in the Common Ground Junior Suite. We loved the comfortable sitting and dressing areas with high ceiling and many windows and a deck with views the garden area and the hills behind. The suite was very clean, in fact, everywhere we looked the house was immaculately clean. We did not view any other rooms but based upon what we viewed my guess is that they would be kept to the same standard. Most comfortable accommodations!

We thought their location to town was good(I'll get to other reviews on this topic); just a short walk and scenic regardless of your route. You could cut down a side street and walk through a small park along Camden harbor with picturesque views, or walk down Route 1(on which the property is located) and enjoy the charm of New England homes and gardens. If one really lollygagged, you could still be in Camden central in 15 minutes, but a straight walk in gets you there in five, for the average person.

Overall, an excellent base from which to see Maine, or just relax there on the property, with all New England's charm, an international flavor, oh and I forgot to say, a very good breakfast with fresh baked goods and creative main breakfast dishes, and engaging hosts who are as charming and friendly as any one could want.

We read previous reviews here on Tripadvisor prior to our making a reservation, and like ours, almost all of them were excellent. There are a few negative ones. One guest remarked that they were annoyed that the innkeepers were showing them their Italian antiques as they walked them around the house. That's petty, I mean, come on, cut loose, enjoy life a little, try to take a moment and possibly look beyond yourself and perhaps come to appreciate something other than you own naval for a change.

Another review remarked that the inn was far away from town. Again, get off your duff, and try walking! There is so much one can see by foot that can be appreciated in a way that cannot happen if you constantly have that same duff parked in a car seat. And really, it is not far from town at all! You actually at the same time could improve your health - what a novel idea America!

Alright, enough of that. Give Camden Maine Stay Inn a try! Almost everyone who has stayed there thinks it is really great! We do, and in fact, the next we come to Maine, we will be there.

Bravo! Claudio and Roberta!

Room Tip: Can't help you here since we did not view another room. But again, we very much enjoy the Commo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f00L4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

When we arrived in Camden, the US and Italian flags that graced the entrance to our long awaited destination immediately caught our eye. Roberta and Claudio Latanza have found a way to creatively blend together all the best elements of their beloved Italy and Maine into one magical creation called the Camden Maine Stay Inn. The atmosphere at this B&B is warm and welcoming as so many other reviewers have pointed out. Many personal beautiful pieces of artwork and furniture decorate this inn and yet you do not feel that anything is off limits to you as a guest. The inn is in an ideal location in mid-coastal Maine where many of the area attractions, such as Acadia National Park, can be easily accessed.

We stayed in the Common Ground junior suite which was spacious and airy with a private terrace overlooking the back gardens. There were plenty of creature comforts in this suite including a large sitting area with sofa and chair, a flat screen tv with DVD player, ceiling fan, and a wonderful Vermont castings gas stove for those chilly, rainy evenings. The bathroom had all the vanity counter space two people could want and I particularly liked the recessed sliding door that separated the bathroom from the bedroom.

Breakfast was served from 8:30 until 9:15 which was a bit more restrictive than what I was accustomed to at most inns, but I can see the merit in this since it does get you off to an early start and maximizes the time you have to explore the area. The breakfast menu alternated between "sweet" and "savory" selections on a daily basis. Everything we had during our stay was delicious! The breakfast tables in the sun porch were dressed with marvelous placemats and matching napkins which also differed each morning. Not only was it inviting to come down to the smell of freshly brewed coffee, it was also fun to see what little decorator touches had been added to the tables for that particular morning. The white teapot napkin rings were an additional nice touch. I wish that I had known the inn had them for sale before I left because there would have certainly been some in my suitcase heading back to Connecticut with me! Roberta and Claudio were always available to chat with at breakfast and quick to offer suggestions should you ask. I particualry enjoyed Claudio's sense of humor and enjoyed the travel stories he shared; I still laugh remembering one of them!

We visited Camden during the week before Memorial Day Weekend and took advantage of the Main Stay Inn's mid-week special offered during the months of April and May. This translated into a significant savings and I would recommend checking out the other specials that the Inn offers. The town of Camden itself was as mellow as the Maine Stay Inn. There were no throngs of people and plenty of shops and restaurants were open for business with genuinely nice people found in each one!

The Maine Stay Inn belongs to Select Registry and certainly lived up to what I have come to expect from member inns. Roberta and Claudio have raised the bar!

Room Tip: The Common Ground junior suite has everything going for it - all the right amenities plus being loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuki626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine_Stay_Inn, Owner at Camden Maine Stay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Wow! What can we say, we are breathless! Thanks for this wonderful review, we are so happy that we could make your stay with us pleasant and comfortable.
To read your comments makes us think that we made a good choice in coming to Camden and choosing the Maine Stay Inn. Together with all our staff we thank you deeply again.
Roberta and Claudio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I recently spent four nights at the Inn and it was our most amazing B & B experience ever! Our room was stunning, with window seats, a conversation area and private patio and our hosts, Roberta and Claudio could not have been more delightful and welcoming. The breakfasts are superb - always fresh baking, delicious and innovative hot dishes and wonderfully creative fruit starters. The setting is quite extraordinary and a short walk from downtown Camden's many shops and wonderful restaurants, so all in all, a truly exceptional experience. We will definitely return to Camden and will make the Maine Stay Inn our base for exploding all that the area has to offer!

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous ... The Carriage Room and Common Ground are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

had a wonderful time . roberta and claudio are lovely innkeepers and were very helpful in all there recommentations for things to do were wonderful. the inn is exactly as you see it online so beautiful camden is a sweet little town .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn this past Tuesday and Wednesday evening.
The inn is positively lovely. Roberta, and Claudio the innkeepers, are very warm, helpful, and so very genuine. It really was such a gift to spend two nights there. We walked into town, climbed Mt. Battie, and so enjoyed the delicious breakfasts at the inn. We look forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: Although we did not stay in this room, The Common Ground room is where we would like to stay next ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidranen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Highly recommend staying at the Maine Stay Inn. Close to town, very friendly and helpful. A pleasure to talk with and informative about surrounding area. Rooms are very nice and an excellent breakfast. No down side to staying here!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omlorelectric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a wonderful Inn! From the moment you arrive and are greeted by your hosts, Claudio and Roberta you know this is going to be a fabulous time. The Inn is beautifully decorated, and the gardens and grounds look stunning (even is April). We stayed in The Common Ground Junior Suite - my new absolute favorite room ever.Nothing common or junior about it...Quiet and more than comfortable, between the fireplace, sunny deck, cozy quilts on the bed, book filled bookcases - it was hard to leave! Breakfasts were served in the charming wicker filled sunroom overlooking the grounds. Blueberry pancakes were a real treat - and the artichoke egg dish the following morning was delicious. A warm poached pear was so good that my husband requested we make it at home! This from someone who never eats pears!
Our hosts have first hand knowledge about the area, where to go, what to see, where to eat -
I dont think you could go wrong with their suggestions! Thanks to them we had a lovely stay and hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccquohog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Maine Stay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Maine Stay Inn

Address: 22 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: £100 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camden Maine Stay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, cozy, romantic, and very friendly, the Camden Maine Stay is a grand old home located in the historic district of Camden Maine, one of America's most beautiful seaside villages. A two-block walk down tree lined streets brings you to the harbor park, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Camden Maine Stay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Maine Stay Hotel Camden
Camden Maine Stay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing