We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Standard”
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We have stayed here annually in the fall for the last seven years and have found the Maine Stay to be the standard by which we judge other bed and breakfast inns. The innkeepers, Bob and Juanita Topper are warm and friendly and are indeed an integral part of the experience of our stay. We love the Common Ground Room and have managed to reserve it on most every visit. We recommend the Maine Stay highly.

  • Liked — Hospitality of the innkeepers
  • Disliked — Street noise but not a major problem
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SimpRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    38
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
450
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2008

I´m from Barcelona. We have been visiting all New England during this last september. This inn is by far the best one we have been. We really felt like "Princes of Maine, Kings of New England.

  • Liked — Familiar
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xavifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2008

This Inn was recommended by a friend who was a repeat visitor. We were certainly not disappointed! The food was beyond delicious. The Inn itself is full of history, extremely clean and well appointed, and the comfort level is extremely cozy. Juanita Topper and her staff were professional, warm, inviting, and very good at what they do. We stayed in the Dogwood Room which was a sweet room, plenty of room for the two of us. Next time we'll try either the Common Ground or the Cottage. There isn't a bad room in the house, so we plan to try most rooms before too long! This Inn is easily within walking distance to the quaint town of Camden with its shops and restaurants, and it's also just a mile or so from the entrance to Camden State Park. We generally prefer smaller B&Bs to "Inns," but this 8-room Inn still has the ambience of a small, homey B&B. We will definitely return and will recommend this Inn to our friends. In fact, we've already sent two couples there in the last two days!

  • Liked — The rooms were clean and very cozy. Staff was superb
  • Disliked — There was no computer for guest use. We don't travel with a laptop, but there was WIFi available for those who do.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pette407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

If your going to be visiting Camden look no further to decide where to stay. Maine Stay Inn is where you should be! I started planning our Maine vacation five months before our scheduled date of departure. Since we never stayed at B&Bs before I thought it was wise to do as much research on line as possible. As part of the process I would ascertain availabilty for those establishments that seemed somewhat of a possibilty. Every site always indicated open choice of availability but one - Maine Stay Inn had only 2 rooms available. I called and spoke with Juanita who was so helpful about Camden and the surrounding area. When I inquired why so many rooms were already booked she modestly said that many previous guests book a year in advance.

Well now that my wife and I stayed at the Inn I know why. Both Juanita and Bob (the owners) are great hosts. They provide so many little things to make your experience there so pleasant - from unbelievable breakfasts (Debbie your the best!), to offering compliementary bottle water and candy in the room, to great afternoon treats and their garden is the perfect place to relax a few hours away. The Inn is walking distance to the center of town which means after a long day of sighseeing you can finally park the car and enjoy the harbor and shops of Camden by foot. I enjoyed sitting in the town park, by the waterfall overlooking the harbor while my wife did her thing shopping. Once again, of all the places we stayed in Maine during our two week vacation, the Maine Stay Inn was by far the best of the best. Don't miss out book early you will not be disappointed.


Bob & Juanita

  • Liked — Location, cleanness, service of the host, grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing- everything was perfect
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlipSouthFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, NH
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We cannot say enough positive things about this inn and the hospitality of Bob and Juanita Topper. We were celebrating our first anniversary and were looking for someplace special. We found it at the Camden Maine Stay; A charming inn with a great history. Juanita greeted us at the door with a smile and immediately made us feel comfortable. The inn is warm, cozy, beautiful and impeccably clean! We stayed in the carriage house, a clean, bright cottage style room with a great library. You immediately want to curl up with a book by the fire. Each day we had a delicious breakfast (prepared by Juanita) in the sunroom and planned our day. Just a short walk into town provided us with some beautiful views and easy shopping. We took Juanita’s suggestions on where to eat and they were all fantastic. Dinner at Francine’s and the Hartstone Inn are not to be missed. We would recommend the Maine Stay to everyone, and are looking forward to our next trip.

Jeff and Staci Garstka

  • Liked — Beautiful Historic Inn with Charm
  • Disliked — Nothing negative
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peruzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We arrived at the Inn after ay long drive from Long Island and immediately felt the warmth of the owners, Juanita and Bob Topper. The Inn is beautifully appointed, sparklingly maintained and has the most comfortable beds immaginable. Juanita serves spectacular gourmet breakfasts. After one day here I told Juanita that we'd love to move in permanently! We consider Maine Stay the best ! It is elegantly homey, quiet, gogreous and well worth a trip from Long Island or anywhere. The property on which it is set is also lovely as is the charming town of Camden. We look forward to a return trip. Excellent, excellent, excellent.

  • Liked — The welcoming atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We spent a night at the Maine Stay after our biking trip on the Maine Coast. A beautiful old inn with a great internet site and rooms and meals exactly as advertized. The Inn is clean and neat as a pin as are its extensive gardens. We stayed in the Carriage House room which was really a neat room...happened to be our 2nd choice but we were pleased with it when our first choice room was full that night. The hostess lives by "A place for everything and everything in its place" to the point when I dropped the newspapers to admire a squirrel that hopped on the back porch, she quickly picked them up and put them back on the end table.
Food and coffee were great, the host's knowledge of the Camden area was excellent. We'd stay again if we ever go back to Camden.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms; modern baths;
  • Disliked — New England "Stiffness" to the Inn
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Biked_it_Liked_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Maine Stay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Maine Stay Inn

Property: Camden Maine Stay Inn
Address: 22 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camden Maine Stay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, cozy, romantic, and very friendly, the Camden Maine Stay is a grand old home located in the historic district of Camden Maine, one of America's most beautiful seaside villages. A two-block walk down tree lined streets brings you to the harbor park, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Camden Maine Stay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Maine Stay Hotel Camden
Camden Maine Stay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing