We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place --- loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place --- loved it!”
Reviewed 21 April 2005

My boyfriend and I had one of our best vacation getaways at the Maine Stay Inn. The Maine Stay is a charming bed and breakfast that’s kept in pristine and immaculate condition. Innkeepers, Juanita and Bob, are so warm and hospitable that they felt like family to us. Both were knowledgeable and informative with their suggestions on where to hike, bike, sail and dine. And each day Juanita prepares the most delicious gourmet breakfasts (yum!)

The Maine Stay is, by far, our bed and breakfast of choice ― thanks Juanita and Bob and we’ll see you again real soon!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    34
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
66
429
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 March 2005

My wife and I have stayed at the Camden Maine Stay Inn for many years, and have thoroughly enjoyed every visit. We always plan our next visit with great anticipation. The Toppers (owners) are wonderful hosts, warm and friendly, and are ready with any need or request, but without being "in your face". The breakfasts are superb, the inn is immaculate and the rooms are cozy and well appointed.

We have recommended the inn to a number of friends over the years, and will continue to do so. The value received in terms of comfort and relaxation is well worth the reasonable room rates. Just a great B&B to use as home base while staying in the Camden area.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 March 2005

I have traveled extensively through the United States and Europe and the Maine Stay is absolutely one of the most special places I have stayed. One of the things that makes it so very special are the inn keepers themselves. Bob and Juanita are just the nicest kind of people, making you feel warm and welcome from the moment you arrive.
I had the pleasure of staying in the Christian Topper Suite, which has a separate sitting room with a gas fireplace. The room was just lovely and immaculately clean, they really pay attention to details. Looking out over the snow covered grounds while relaxing by the fire was the perfect end to a wonderful day of enjoying the picturesque town of Camden.
I wasn't that familiar with Camden and Bob and Juanita were so wonderful about suggesting things to do. We shared coffee, which is always available, and a chat in the kitchen. You can tell they really enjoy what they do. I love to dine out and they knew exactly where to send me for a good meal. Juanita is an amazing cook herself, the breakfasts at the inn are leisurely and delicious!
I'm looking forward to my next trip to Camden, and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.
K. Kapitan

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 February 2005

This B&B is the nicest place I've been to in a long time. The rooms had an old world charm with the modern amenities you look for in AAA hotels. The owners made a special effort to make you feel welcome, offering special treats (homemade cookies etc) when you least expect them. Breakfast was delicious, and all amenities were fisrt class. I intend to be there again in the near future and will bring friends and family to share this enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2005

For a delightful visit to postcard-worthy Camden, ME, try the Maine Stay where you will be welcomed with utmost hospitality and warmth. The owners themselves, with true caring and concern for their guests, compliment in every way the inn itself which is beautifully and tastefully restored and maintained. A charming home away from home, with ambience galore and traditional panache! Within easy walking distance of Camden's lovely shops and numerous restaurants, the guest can park upon arrival and accomplish much adventuring on foot. We have visited and stayed with the Toppers on many occasions, most recently this winter, and look forward to our next visit this spring.

Helpful?
9 Thank drsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 February 2005

My husband and I just returned from the best and most romantic weekend ever. We both work very long hours and planned a last minute Valentine's trip. We consulted Fodor's and Conde Nast who both highly praised this Inn and decided to "book it".

We arrived to find the Inn beautifully decorated with wreathes and bows on every window. The snow helped to frame the winter wonderland atmosphere. Bob and Juanita, the Innkeepers, could not have been more warm and welcoming to two weary travelers after a 7.5 hour trip.

Our room was on the ground level. It was very large compared to other Inn's and hotels, and private (important for a romantic weekend). Our room was beautifully decorated in white and blue and immaculate. We had spacious sitting area with a gas/wood burning stove where we stretched out, read, and enjoyed the view of the wild life just out side our french doors.

The gourmet breakfast of fresh cut fruit and artichoke eggs was to die for. The coffee was organic and Juanita was kind enough to tell us that they pay special attention to provide fresh, organic and pesticide free food and coffee.

Bob and Juanita also helped direct us to area restaurants, antique shops and town events. To add to all the hospitality, Bob even helped us change our worn wiper blades for the trip home.

We have already booked another reservation for this summer and cannot wait to recreate this weekend's wonderful experience.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 February 2005

I have stayed at the Maine Stay twice and can’t wait to return. It is the perfect getaway -- a Norman Rockwell painting that has come to life. The inn is beautiful, warm and inviting. You immediately feel at home with Bob and Juanita’s delightful hospitality (and tea time cookies). The rooms are perfectly appointed and wonderfully maintained. There is nothing overdone, nor is anything lacking. The breakfasts are delicious and served in a delightful garden room (it’s worth getting up early for a window table overlooking the property’s gardens). The Maine Stay embodies Camden itself, idyllic without pretension.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.6 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#4 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Maine Stay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Maine Stay Inn

Property: Camden Maine Stay Inn
Address: 22 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camden Maine Stay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, cozy, romantic, and very friendly, the Camden Maine Stay is a grand old home located in the historic district of Camden Maine, one of America's most beautiful seaside villages. A two-block walk down tree lined streets brings you to the harbor park, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Camden Maine Stay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Maine Stay Hotel Camden
Camden Maine Stay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing