We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Perfect B&B”
Reviewed 28 June 2005

I have stayed in approximately 40 B&B's (including Europe) and Camden Maine Stay is the best B&B I've had the pleasure to visit. It has an amazing one acre garden and the attention to detail throughout the interior and exterior of the property is a delight to uncover. Bob and Juanita are the most gracious hosts. They recommended the best place for lobster (Bayview Lobster Shack) and scenic drives. The breakfast on the sunporch was pure pleasure with a 10 rating on the quiche. It was light and delicious. Juanita provided the recipe and I've already tried it twice. It's heavenly.

I rarely revisit the same B&B (too many places to see) but I am definitely going to visit Camden, Maine and the Camden Maine Stay B&B again.

Helpful?
7 Thank JoyceKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    35
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
66
437
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2005

Can't say enough about the beauty of the Camden Maine Stay experience for my wife & I this past 3-day weekend. Bob & Juanita Topper (inn-keeper owners) are very kind and humorous, a pleasure to be around, and very helpful on suggested activities for the area.

The property was outstanding! The 1802 historical building was quaint and magical, yet didn't show it's age. Everything in our Dogwood room was simply perfect. The 1 acre garden in the back was stunning! 3-feet tall tulips and beautiful wildflowers with a pretty paths that I walked each morning with my coffee.

Going in June, we were ahead of the summer crowds, but still experienced beautiful weather. Some of our activities in and around the Camden area: We did a schooner sail on the Heron out of Rockport Harbor (a couple miles south). We had fabulous lobster feast in Port Clyde at the Dip Net, a colorful and character-filled 1-room dock restaurant with friendly staff. I jogged between Camden and Rockport in the morning mist past beautiful harbor views, homes, and picture-perfect farm. We also enjoyed a late night meal at Cappy's downtown.

We had never been to Maine, but loved it. We also went to the Lobster Shack on the tip of Cape Elizabeth overlooking the rocky seashore, saw various lighthouses, and drove through Acadia National Park.

Wonderful trip and the Camden Maine Stay is a wonderful place to stay. They're not part of Select Registry and Distinguished Inns of New England by luck. A great place.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sneddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 April 2005

My boyfriend and I had one of our best vacation getaways at the Maine Stay Inn. The Maine Stay is a charming bed and breakfast that’s kept in pristine and immaculate condition. Innkeepers, Juanita and Bob, are so warm and hospitable that they felt like family to us. Both were knowledgeable and informative with their suggestions on where to hike, bike, sail and dine. And each day Juanita prepares the most delicious gourmet breakfasts (yum!)

The Maine Stay is, by far, our bed and breakfast of choice ― thanks Juanita and Bob and we’ll see you again real soon!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 March 2005

My wife and I have stayed at the Camden Maine Stay Inn for many years, and have thoroughly enjoyed every visit. We always plan our next visit with great anticipation. The Toppers (owners) are wonderful hosts, warm and friendly, and are ready with any need or request, but without being "in your face". The breakfasts are superb, the inn is immaculate and the rooms are cozy and well appointed.

We have recommended the inn to a number of friends over the years, and will continue to do so. The value received in terms of comfort and relaxation is well worth the reasonable room rates. Just a great B&B to use as home base while staying in the Camden area.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 March 2005

I have traveled extensively through the United States and Europe and the Maine Stay is absolutely one of the most special places I have stayed. One of the things that makes it so very special are the inn keepers themselves. Bob and Juanita are just the nicest kind of people, making you feel warm and welcome from the moment you arrive.
I had the pleasure of staying in the Christian Topper Suite, which has a separate sitting room with a gas fireplace. The room was just lovely and immaculately clean, they really pay attention to details. Looking out over the snow covered grounds while relaxing by the fire was the perfect end to a wonderful day of enjoying the picturesque town of Camden.
I wasn't that familiar with Camden and Bob and Juanita were so wonderful about suggesting things to do. We shared coffee, which is always available, and a chat in the kitchen. You can tell they really enjoy what they do. I love to dine out and they knew exactly where to send me for a good meal. Juanita is an amazing cook herself, the breakfasts at the inn are leisurely and delicious!
I'm looking forward to my next trip to Camden, and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.
K. Kapitan

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 February 2005

This B&B is the nicest place I've been to in a long time. The rooms had an old world charm with the modern amenities you look for in AAA hotels. The owners made a special effort to make you feel welcome, offering special treats (homemade cookies etc) when you least expect them. Breakfast was delicious, and all amenities were fisrt class. I intend to be there again in the near future and will bring friends and family to share this enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2005

For a delightful visit to postcard-worthy Camden, ME, try the Maine Stay where you will be welcomed with utmost hospitality and warmth. The owners themselves, with true caring and concern for their guests, compliment in every way the inn itself which is beautifully and tastefully restored and maintained. A charming home away from home, with ambience galore and traditional panache! Within easy walking distance of Camden's lovely shops and numerous restaurants, the guest can park upon arrival and accomplish much adventuring on foot. We have visited and stayed with the Toppers on many occasions, most recently this winter, and look forward to our next visit this spring.

Helpful?
9 Thank drsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.6 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Maine Stay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Maine Stay Inn

Property: Camden Maine Stay Inn
Address: 22 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camden Maine Stay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, cozy, romantic, and very friendly, the Camden Maine Stay is a grand old home located in the historic district of Camden Maine, one of America's most beautiful seaside villages. A two-block walk down tree lined streets brings you to the harbor park, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Camden Maine Stay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Maine Stay Hotel Camden
Camden Maine Stay Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing