We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't Be Any Better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Towne Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Towne Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Chicopee
Level Contributor
346 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Couldn't Be Any Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Short walk to downtown Camden with shops, restaurants and harbor. The Towne Motel is incredible, clean, excellent bedding, great value and the continental breakfast is awesome. Rick and Jane are excellent host. My wife and I plus another couple attended Pop the Cork, a Cellardoor Winery Concert and benefit event in Rockport Maine. The next day we visited the Cellardoor Winery in Rockport and Lincolnville (a must see). The winery has some amazing events checkout their website at mainewine.com.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicopeeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    68
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
107
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Excellent beds, good location, short walk to harbor, restaurants and shops, more than adequate continental breakfast and all at a very reasonable price. We couldn't ask for more for a short stop in Camden.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rhale53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

A five minute walk to the town center to visit the shops, restaurants and harbor. Rick and Jane are very friendly and make you feel like your old friends. My first time to visit Camden and it is a beautiful, small Maine town by the sea. Towne Motel is an excellent value. The rooms are spacious and clean. The continental breakfast is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juma196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Garden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Love staying here.Rick and Jane make you feel like you are home.Love the new parlor and having coffee juice.muffins,cake and fruit in there.Cozy and beauiful place..Will be back next year!Location great to town and harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have stayed at this Motel on multiple occasions now and it is consistently great - clean - friendly owners - excellent location in close walking distance to the down town of beautiful Camden Maine - and well priced!

Room Tip: Away from the main road is always going to be better but the main road is NOT especially noisy anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FUNKYBUNCH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at the Towne Motel before and after a windjammer cruise. The owners, who have had the motel for about the last two years, were most helpful before and during the stay. Both of the rooms we stayed in were updated with modern fixtures and amenities and the rooms were very clean. The kindness of Rick and Jane and the good continental breakfast (muffins, coffee and juice) makes the Towne seem like a B&B. The rates are very reasonable. Location is good...about a 5 minute walk into Camden's waterfront and tourist district. We found the location and our rooms to be quiet and very comfortable. We hope to visit Camden again and will definitely plan to stay at the Towne Motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the Towne Motel, rented the more expensive room where it is upstairs with a kitchenette. It was a nice room with clean bathroom amenities. The owners were very helpful regarding where to have dinner and what to expect in town. The breakfast was fresh muffins, coffee, juice, and pastry. Very solid work. The only thing I would ask to improve on is to have more towels already in the room than 3, as the room is far from the desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac_Maximum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
0.0 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Motel

Property: Towne Motel
Address: 68 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#3 Family Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel is a friendly small motel a five minute stroll away from downtown Camden and Penobscot Bay. We offer super clean rooms, great rates, retro charm combined with modern amenities, and a delicious home-baked continental breakfast. Enjoy one of the most beautiful Maine coastal villages without sticker shock! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Towne Motel Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing