We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maine Adventure”
Review of The Towne Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Towne Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Maine Adventure”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location, only two blocks from one of the prettiest towns you will see in Maine. The owners are super friendly and helpful and really care about the quality of your stay. The rooms are not fancy or upscale but they are very nicely appointed, very clean and well maintaned. Don't leave without trying Janes zucinni bread.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the end of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerryg41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    70
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
113
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boont
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I stayed on night at the Towne Motel. Rick and Jane were so friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was spacious and clean, The price was affordable. A 2 block walk to downtown Camden. In the morning, Jane had baked blueberry muffins and peach crisp. Which were both delicious. Along withe coffee, tea or juice. When we told Jane we were going on the schooner tour she packed us a couple of muffins to take on the tour with us. That was so sweet! I would recommend this place and would stay here again if in the area.
Thank you, Rick and Jane for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This motel has clean, comfortable, and spacious rooms and is a good value. I did blow the electrical fuse while using my own hair dryer because I hadn't been told that I couldn't dry my hair with my own dryer and run the air conditioning at the same time. I was then told that the motel has hair dryers that are much easier on their electrical system. You can check them out at the front desk. :) It's not that I wouldn't stay at the motel again though, I just don't have any interest in ever returning to Camden. My Maine trip included many other exciting places where I would have rather spent my time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverCO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This little motel was sweet. Not fancy but not expensive, extremely clean, comfortable, quaint, friendly folks, just nothing bad to say. It is about a 5 minute walk into town so the location is perfect. And the price was reasonable for in season on a busy weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWiseTrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night with our 2 children. The location was perfect, within walking distance to the shops and restaurants in Camden. The owners, Rick and Jane, were incredibly friendly, and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We asked to borrow a wine key, and she asked how many wine glasses we would like as well. If we return to Camden, we will be sure to stay at the Towne Motel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimandJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

As part of our East Coast roadtrip this year (2013) we planned a few nights in Camden - but not knowing much about the area. We booked directly with the motel - and it was superb from that moment on. From arriving, to leaving we thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality and accommodation provided by the owners - they are extremely welcoming, the accommodation very comfortable and the homely homemade breakfast experience was lovely. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this area - I wholeheartedly recommend the Towne Motel. (great coffee and oats, too!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTomkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here and I'm happy we did. The owners, Rick and Jane, are very friendly and accommodating. Rick showed us to our room (more on that in a bit) and the breakfast Jane puts out in the morning is wonderful. She was there to greet us, and her homemade blueberry muffins are to die for. The breakfast area inside is small, encouraging you to converse with other guests in this quaint motel. We chose to eat outside at a small table, enjoying the fresh air and sunshine both days.
The only drawback to the Towne Motel is it's location. It's located directly on Highway 1, a very busy thoroughfare, thus suffering from quite a bit of traffic noise, particularly the trucks that are driving through. Our room was in the original part of the inn at the front of the motel, looking out on this road. We would have preferred to sleep with the windows open for the abundant fresh air, but instead chose to keep them closed and run the air conditioner to cover the noise. I think this could easily be remedied if you can get a room near the back of the motel.
The room itself was clean, bright and fresh and had all the basic amenities one would expect. Our queen bed was comfortable, albeit a bit on the small side.
With the exception of the busy road, the location is excellent. An easy 5-7 minute walk down the hill brings you to downtown Camden, a small quintessential coastal town. The beautiful harbor offers a wonderful park, several restaurants and lots of shops to browse in.
When we planned our New England trip my goal was to use only B and B's and "ma and pa" type local motels. I wouldn't have done it any other way, and the Towne Motel was one of the highlights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
2.1 mi away
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Rockport
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towne Motel

Property: The Towne Motel
Address: 68 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#3 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Towne Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel is a friendly small motel a five minute stroll away from downtown Camden and Penobscot Bay. We offer super clean rooms, great rates, retro charm combined with modern amenities, and a delicious home-baked continental breakfast. Enjoy one of the most beautiful Maine coastal villages without sticker shock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Towne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towne Motel Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing