We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veteran Traveler Review”
Review of The Towne Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Towne Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Several hours can be spent in selecting the ideal place to stay when on the road for work or pleasure. I have averaged 150 nights a year in motels for work, and have become an expert in knowing the great places to stay. In Camden, or the surrounding area, don't search; stay at the Towne Motel! The owners, Siobhan and Katja, are more than accomodating...they are truly professionals in the industry. You will feel welcome and appreciated the moment you arrive. The rooms are immaculate!! The housekeeping staff are perfectionists; I dare you to find a speck of dust anywhere! The linens are white (including bedspreads), and are changed after each guest. The location is ideal...you are 2 blocks from the onset of restaurants, shops, and attractions. Park the car and walk everywhere!
The morning breakfast is amazing. All homemade granolas, muffins, etc. The aroma when entering the breakfast area of their home is enticing!
With the volume of nights I am away from home, The Towne Motel comes the closest to a feeling of being home. I was in Camden for pleasure, and this establishment and staying here added to a most wonderful experience. Don't overthink it....book your room now!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank janadele59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We really appreciate it when guests take the time to share their experiences at Towne Motel. Guests often remark on the immaculate cleanliness of our rooms; we are very lucky to have superb housekeepers who take great pride in their work. We are especially pleased to hear praise from a veteran, very observant traveler like you! We're so glad you enjoyed our home-baked breakfasts and that you felt so at home here at Towne Motel. Hope you come back soon--the lights will be on for you in Room 15!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

The owners are wonderful and pleasant! Morning breakfast was great, homemade food, a large variety of food and beautiful presentation. The amount of food offered you could probably skip lunch! The rooms are immaculate and well cared for, a very basic room, but a room is for sleeping. The price was great and you are right downtown. No need for a car to stroll the downtown area. I have recommend the Towne Motel to co-workers, friends and family and will stay again, hopeful soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Denisekps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thanks so much for this wonderful review! We’re very happy to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. It’s been a lot of fun to prepare and serve a variety of things for our continental breakfasts, and we’re glad you didn’t have to leave hungry! We love our housekeepers as much as our guests; they truly care about this place just like we do. Some of them have been friends with these rooms for years, knowing all their special needs and character traits. And speaking of the rooms - we continue to upgrade their amenities, having just added Keurig coffeemakers and new Archive bathroom products. Our wifi system has recently been completely overhauled, so it’s not just free but also secure and extremely reliable. There are other things we’re working on, so stay tuned and check them out when you come back! We’re looking forward to seeing you again, and also welcoming your friends, family, and co-workers! Thank you for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

first time here and we were glad , stayed about 4 nights and we had no problems at all, the owners were very nice and put out a nice breakfast for you in the morning for free coffee tea orange juice muffins, we had coffee each morning but we like to go out to the local breakfast places and hang with the locals, but over all its a nice motel with very friendly owners, the loction is great but the great thing about maine is free parking, unlike it is in cape may new jersey !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttynot20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and the all the available parking in town! It's a very different story in the summer though, and that's why our guests appreciate being able to park in the Towne Motel lot and walk five minutes into the village :) Wondering what your favorite local breakfast place was? We know you'll be busy in Cape May in the summer, but hope you make your way back to Maine and to us in the fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I was exploring the coast of Maine in mid-October when I was referred to this little treasure. The innkeepers, Sioban and Kjatia were so very welcoming to a traveler late in the day when they were all but 1 room full.
The rooms were immaculately clean. The bed was amazingly comfortable. I even stayed here on my way back down the coast at the end of my trip. Home-made bread, cakes and muffins were great...Katjia even baked a special chocolate cake for me when she found it was my birthday...they even sang to me that morning.
Great location on Highway 1 just up the road from town and the best laundromat I have ever visited.

Very reasonably priced. I plan on returning with my daughter next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you Deb! You were such a fun guest--and our first repeat guest! And our first birthday-girl, guest too. We were reminded of you every day by the ground/husk cherries you brought back from the farmers' market, which sat amid the candy in the basket at the front desk. We loved seeing you again on your return trip from Lubec and we hope you'll consider Towne Motel as your home away from home in Maine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

No frills but excellent value. Stayed 2 nights in mid-October 2013. Just 2 blocks from everything in Camden. The new owners were very friendly and prepared excellent continental breakfasts. We will highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay--you were such fun, adventurous guests! We love to see our guests exploring all that Camden has to offer and enjoyed hearing about your sail on the Olad, hikes, and restaurant explorations. Hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Nice motel ... Very Clean and fairly reasonably priced considering the excellent location. Parked the car at the motel and walked to downtown Camden. Enjoyed our stay although Breakfast was disappointing despite the delicious home made muffins.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gus K, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed our location: our guests love that they can park their cars and then walk to the shops, restaurants and harbor. And we're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the breakfast. We tell all our guests (when the reservation is made, and again when they arrive) that we offer a continental breakfast--coffee, juice, and home baked goods---not a full, plated breakfast, and our guests are very happpy with our offerings. Many Camden B&Bs offer full breakfasts, but they do not offer our value rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We and our neighbors drove to Maine for a extended weekend and I found the The Towne Motel online and we were pleasantly surprised as it is about the cleanest motel we have stayed at. We travel all the time and this little Gem was a pleasant experience, short walking distance to downtown. Great muffins for breakfast. Pricing was fair. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review! We're always happy to get great feedback on the cleanliness of the rooms, and we love to pass on the news to our wonderful staff who make it all happen! We are especially flattered to get such a good review from seasoned travelers like you, who have plenty of other lodging to compare us to. It was fun to meet you, and we hope to see you again when your plans take you back to Maine and our great little town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Rockport
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
0.8 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towne Motel

Address: 68 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#3 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range: £60 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Towne Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel is a friendly small motel a five minute stroll away from downtown Camden and Penobscot Bay. We offer super clean rooms, great rates, retro charm combined with modern amenities, and a delicious home-baked continental breakfast. Enjoy one of the most beautiful Maine coastal villages without sticker shock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Towne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towne Motel Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing