We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere”
Review of Towne Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Towne Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My niece and I stayed at this motel a couple of days ago and just loved it ! The couple that runs the place is very nice and gave us a warm welcome. Our room was just the right mix of everything you need and very comfortable. And then the home made breakfast ! It's served in a very cute living / dining room setting and I loved all the little decors.
I will absolutely recommend this motel to everyone visiting the Camden area. It's walking distance of a lot of lovely shops and restaurants.
Thank you for your hospitality guys ! Danke fuer Eure Gastfreundschaft !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review, and for writing it so quickly after your stay. We absolutely loved having you, and we’re happy to know you had such a good time. We’re glad you enjoyed the room, the breakfast, the welcome, and the short distance to shops and restaurants. We think you were an active contributor to the “wonderful atmosphere” you give us credit for – your energy and enthusiasm was contagious, and it was fun to talk to you about Europe, dogs and other pets, and of course Maine. And Katja’s visiting Mom was happy to see you enjoy her Swabian yeast bread.J We hope to see you again sometime, whether as a guest or as a potential future Mainer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    69
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
111
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The motel is in walking distance to town, lots of great scenery and coastline. Toured the lighthouse museum, had awesome food on the waterfront, the ice cream is delicious, and shopping is a great experience.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericksonml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Good to hear from the Three Lovely Ladies! We admired your spirit of adventure and hope the rest of your road trip continued with lots of laughs and lighthouses. It was fun talking to you at breakfast. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This is exactly what we needed after 10 days driving up the coast from Miami. We stayed in many places on the way from inns to B&B, chain hotels and high end 5 stars, this is just perfect for us. It is a motel, but what you get is just so nice. Great value, handy for the local town and harbour, wonderful hosts. It's just great

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart_cox_photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
We're really glad you enjoyed Camden and Towne Motel so much! We had a great time talking to you about Mini Coopers and England. We hope your trip back across the pond was trouble-free and that you come visit us again soon--you can retrieve your hat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
355 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The Towne Motel is conveniently located within walking distance of all of Camden's attractions and restaurants. The rooms are large and immaculately clean. The bedding is comfortable and the wifi is strong. The staff is very friendly and helpful with every aspect of your stay. The continental breakfast is delicious and do not miss the homemade granola. Being at the Towne Motel felt like I was staying in the guest room of my favorite aunt who had thought of everything I would need to make me happy and comfortable. You will enjoy your time here. We will certainly be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind and generous words! We're very happy to hear you had a good time here - we've never had the honor of being compared to anyone's favorite aunt before! That's very special indeed, not to mention fun. We loved having you here, and are happy to hear you will be back so we can continue our talks about restaurants, cats, and education. :) We're glad you had a good internet experience; we did a complete wifi overhaul a few months ago and so far, have been happy with the results. We're also glad you were pleased with the size of the room. All of our upstairs and two of our downstairs rooms are spacious, and the smaller standard queen rooms come at a smaller price to match. And thank you for the breakfast praise - that means a lot, coming from gourmets like you! Hope the rest of your trip was fun, and we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A lovely stay at the Towne Motel. We chose the motel through the many positive comments on Tripadvisor. We had seen lots of negative ones for the town we drove through just before, so decided to continue to Camden. Towne Motel is not trying to be ultra-modern, nor a resort, if that's what you're looking for.. Just an ultra-clean, comfortable, warm place to stay. And walking distance to the shops, restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliC2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and felt so comfortable in your room. Our guests appreciate how close we are to everything in Camden and we don't remember you two driving your car at all, just walking everywhere! We really enjoyed talking with you about your experiences traveling in the U.S. so far, and your preference for countryside over city. Hope the rest of your trip was great and that you'll return to Maine, and to us, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Towne Motel for a night. We were just passing through for a night while heading south. We didn't know what to expect since we had some preconceived notions of what average "motel" expectations should be, but we were delightfully surprised. We stayed in a small queen room (#5) on the first floor. It was cozy and small, but we had more than enough room to relax and spread out. The room is immaculate, including the bathroom. In the morning, the continental breakfast was lovely, equipped with coffee, tea and juices. They also had yogurt, granola bars and a variety of fresh baked goods. We met one of the inn keepers, and she was lovely and friendly. The best part of the stay was the price of the room. We will definitely be coming back in a few months, in fact, we already booked the future room while we were checking out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We really enjoyed chatting with you about your wedding venue and food planning. And we tried that flavor of gelato you recommended; you were right, it tastes just like fresh-picked strawberries! We are very happy when guests appreciate the immaculate cleanliness of our rooms and we know how lucky we are in our meticulous housekeeping staff. Looking forward to seeing you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My extended (3 week) stay at Town Motel to visit my hometown of Camden, was excellent! Owners Katja and Siobahn were very welcoming and accommodating; the rooms (my stay was divided into two rooms) were sparkly clean, the beds and pillows comfortable, the heaters worked great, the showers had very good water pressure, wifi was strong and secure, TV/cable, there were plenty of electrical outlets to charge my phones, cameras, laptop, etc, and enough drawers and clothes hangers to accommodate all that was in my luggage. The property itself was very well kept, and well lit (I felt safe and secure at all times there). For me, the parking felt a little tight... but that's ok because location location location is a big benefit of staying here! Within minutes of walking from the motel, you have restaurants, church, groceries, shops, laundry, the beautiful harbor, the park... it's all right there! Every year I return to Camden for a visit, and I will gladly be returning to Towne Motel again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ginger f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks so much for this beautiful and detailed review! It was great to hear from you, and we miss having you here! We offer weekly rates and extended stays only to a few friends and regulars in the off season, and we hope that you’ll remain both! Thanks for commenting on our various amenities and conveniences – and remembering them so well, weeks after your stay! As you might know, since you left we have also added Keurig coffeemakers to each room, so when you come back next time, you can enjoy a K cup any time of day. And you’ll find new bath products too – together with a few other small upgrades we’re working on this spring. As for the (free) parking, we do have enough spaces for our 17 rooms (we have to have enough!), but to get out of the lot on a busy day, it’s true that you’ll have to turn around in the back or do a bit of maneuvering-especially now, with all the snow mountains towering in the back. But we’re happy to report that our parking lot just recently met the winter challenge of Camden’s annual Toboggan championships: a full house, with every room accompanied by at least one truck or SUV! Overall, there is not much we can do about the parking, but at the moment we’re glad there’s not more of it – it would mean even more shoveling! And, as you mentioned, guests don’t drive much once they’re here – almost everything they need in Camden is in walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Crest Inn
Cedar Crest Inn
#8 of 10 in Camden
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Motel

Property: Towne Motel
Address: 68 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#3 Family Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel is a friendly small motel a five minute stroll away from downtown Camden and Penobscot Bay. We offer super clean rooms, great rates, retro charm combined with modern amenities, and a delicious home-baked continental breakfast. Enjoy one of the most beautiful Maine coastal villages without sticker shock! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Towne Motel Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing