We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean motel within walking distance of waterfront”
Review of The Towne Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Towne Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice clean motel within walking distance of waterfront”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We just got back a couple weeks ago from a stay at the Towne Motel Camden Maine. We enjoyed this clean motel that is kind of cute as motels go.

We would not hesitate to go back and would recommend this motel. It was high season and all the rooms were sold out but the place was quite and peaceful. We parked the car when in Camden and walked to the restaurants and waterfront.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you: we're glad you think we're cute! Our guests appreciate the big hanging baskets of flowers out front and other touches that make Towne Motel look good. As many of our guests say, there really is nothing like parking the car (especially after a long trip), and leaving it parked as you explore Camden. And many guests comment on how quiet we are, despite being only two blocks from the heart of the village. We hope you come back soon, maybe to beat the Florida heat. It's nice and cool up here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    69
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
111
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Logan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I spend three nights in this charming Motel. The room was nicely decorated and exceptionally clean. How nice to have Keurig Coffee Pot in the room with my choice of coffee flavors. The motel is conveniently located near the center of town with an easy walk to the harbor. The continental breakfast is delicious with homemade goodness. A reasonably priced stay. I can't express my gratitude enough with the personal touch that was so appreciated. I was looking a place to rent a bicycle. The owners contacted the rental shop for me and personally drove me to the rental shop to pickup the bike. They offered to pick me up when I was ready to come back. That kind of personal service is rare. If your in the area, I highly recommend staying here. I know that I will be back again someday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you, Kandi! You were a wonderful guest and we loved hearing about your dream-come-true sail on the Grace Bailey. We appreciate all of the details you noticed: the in-room Keurig coffee maker, the homemade baked goods, and our spotless rooms. And it was no trouble at all to run you out to the bike shop; you should have called for a ride back! Really glad that you enjoyed that beautiful day of biking. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We wanted to stay in Camden but not pay some of the high rates of the hotels right in downtown - and the Towne Motel was the best of all worlds. The rate was very reasonable, the rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable, the owners were warm and personable - all just minutes from all the downtown shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your good experience here! We are very lucky in our location here; guests, especially after a long drive, love to forget about their cars for a while and walk downtown for shopping or dinner or to take a ride on a schooner. So glad that we made you feel welcome and we hope you will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was just an amazing place: very reasonable rates, spotless (I mean spotless) rooms with comfy beds (I was upstairs and had a sumptuous queen) and room amenities usually found in much pricier places: nice basket of toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, soaps) in the bathroom and a Keurig coffeemaker are in each room. I'm surprised a reviewer said the rooms were small, since different sizes and types are described on the website.There was an air conditioner, though I didn't need to use it; I think those are standard. My room also had a microwave and a small fridge. This place was amazing not only for its value and location (perfect: out the door, and you are already walking into town), but because it is a hybrid, best of both worlds: a B&B with a sense of hotel privacy. There are two rooms in the main house (also with ensuite bathrooms), but I stayed in the "motel" (don't let that word fool you) part, where my lovely, charming and comfy room had its own screen door and real Adirondack chairs right outside on the porch. It was like a studio apartment when I wanted it to be, but/and: each morning, you just make your way over to the attached captain's house, and the innkeepers, Katja and Siobhan, offer a choice of home baked breads, muffins, or granola (items vary by day), some kind of fruit offering, coffees, teas, even hot chocolate is available. There and sitting out on the porch, you can mingle with the other guests if you like.

In sum: you cannot do better. This was a fantastic place to stay, and since it is reasonable, I had money to actually go out and enjoy Camden and Camden has a lot to offer. Siobhan and Katja are knowledgeable and welcoming innkeepers who are happy to give you advice about what to explore in Camden or are fun just to talk to. Secret bonus: Katja speaks German and was happily conversing with some German tourists one morning I was there. Other secret bonus: talk mysteries and mystery writing with Siobhan. Oh, and the website is accurate: there is off the street parking at no extra charge, and you can leave it there and explore Camden on foot. I will definitely be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Larger rooms are upstairs, though the downstairs rooms are a decent size too. Anyone who wants more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cats4tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much!! We are so happy that you had a great stay with us, and you noticed every little detail! We do try to offer the best of both worlds here: low rates for Camden but walking distance to everything in town, and amenities you might not expect in a motel (Archive bath products, Keurig coffeemakers, homemade baked goods). We take great pride in the spotless cleanliness of our rooms, credit for which goes to our dedicated team of housekeepers. Just one thing: we don't actually have microwaves in our rooms though we do recall loaning you one of our electric tea kettles.

We hope you come again soon. Room 15 awaits you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The owners are very nice and welcoming and the location is perfect for walking Camden. The rooms are a little small, but exceptionally clean and comfortable. Love the home baked muffins and breads for breakfast. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We're very glad you enjoyed our spotless rooms--that is the #1 compliment we get from our guests, and we know how lucky we are in our great team of housekeepers. And we're lucky to be in such an ideal location where our guests can park the car and walk to the center of the village in five minutes. We're sorry you found your room a bit small: maybe next time you could upgrade to one of the larger upstairs rooms. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times. It is reasonably priced, well maintained, comfortable and close to downtown. Each room has a single cup Keurig coffee maker good for warming up after a wet ride and handy in the morning. The bathroom has been updated. The room and bathroom were very clean. My preferred room is upstairs and all the way in. Very quiet. The owners are pleasant and offer a continental breakfast centered around homemade coffee cakes, muffins and scones with butter and jams.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TLM1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for this review; we appreciate it and we so appreciate your loyalty as a returning guest! Every day we meet more returning guests--some have been coming here for 20 years or more! People come back because of what you have noted: the location, the reasonable price in Camden, and the super-cleanliness of our rooms. And people say there's just "something" about the Towne :) The Keurig coffeemakers are a new addition and they've been a big hit. Glad you were able to warm up with a cup of coffee after a wet ride. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chciago
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was a pleasure to have this place located so close to the center of the town. Very affordable and clean. The room was a tad small, but it had a coffee maker and microwave, so all was right. The beds were big and very comfortable. The owners seem to pride themselves on cleanliness as the room was spotless. A ceiling fan helped as it was a warm day. There is also a nice lite breakfast with some mighty tasty treats. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks very much for your positive review, and for pointing out some of the many pluses of staying at the Towne Motel – such as our great rates, walking distance to downtown and the harbor, and immaculate rooms. We always enjoy getting feedback on the cleanliness of the rooms, and passing it on to our wonderful housekeeping staff. We’re very glad you found the beds comfortable, and hopefully had a good night’s sleep! In addition to the ceiling fans you mentioned, we also have air conditioning in each room (yes, Maine can get warm enough for ACs!). We don’t, however, have microwaves (but are happy to hear you found one anyway !) Maybe you meant the fridge instead? Our larger rooms all have small refrigerators now. As for the size of the rooms, there is not much we can do about that, but we do have many different types of rooms and room sizes. Our smaller rooms on the first floor are popular in part because of their lower rates, but we also have two large ones downstairs, with large bathrooms, one of them wheelchair-accessible. All of our upstairs rooms are a decent size; one of our cottage style rooms is also quite spacious, and so is the studio with the kitchenette. Next time you come, maybe we will have one of these available for you - just make sure to ask! Thanks again for all the positive feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towne Motel

Property: The Towne Motel
Address: 68 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#3 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Towne Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel is a friendly small motel a five minute stroll away from downtown Camden and Penobscot Bay. We offer super clean rooms, great rates, retro charm combined with modern amenities, and a delicious home-baked continental breakfast. Enjoy one of the most beautiful Maine coastal villages without sticker shock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Towne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towne Motel Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing