We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good quality price”
Review of Towne Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Towne Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, NB
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good quality price”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We found this motel to be very clean, quiet and comfortable. It is conveniently located two blocks from downtown and at a much better price than other for this location. Breakfast was a bite too heavy on sugar and sparse in choices. It is why we are giving it a 4.

Room Tip: Sparse breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docacadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed our convenient and quiet location, and comfortable rooms. And we're sorry you found our breakfast too sweet. Our continental breakfast features all-homemade baked goods and our guests really enjoy them, but we also offer fruit and yogurt, and would have been happy to offer you toast or cereal if you had requested it. We hope you come stay with us again and let us know of any special requests for breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    69
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
109
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree Corners
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Towne Motel combines the best of a convenient motel with the charm and personal touches of a bed and breakfast. Extremely clean, awesome beds and quiet location two blocks from Camden Harbor. We celebrated my father's 04July birthday here and the lovely owners ordered and delivered a delicious birthday cake! The fresh and scrumptious breakfast was perfect, and we enjoyed chatting with fellow guests. Stay here! We hope to again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Savage1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks so much for your sweet words! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay here (despite the less than perfect holiday weekend weather), and we loved having you and your family! It felt good to help you do something special for your Dad; he’s such a sweet man and easy to please. For the taste of the birthday cake, credit goes to the baker at Camden’s Megunticook Market! We’re also happy to hear that you agree with many of our other guests when it comes to cleanliness (credit goes, once again, to our wonderful housekeepers), our beds (our thanks to our predecessors, the Courtneys, who invested in the Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop in your room) and the location (which we ourselves can’t really take credit for either!). But we will gladly accept credit for your breakfast praise, and it was nice to hear you enjoyed it in conversation with other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Garden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We have been staying here several years and it has always been fantastic. We love the added touches the new owners have added. Thank you for Keurig coffee maker and great coffee. Hanging baskets are beautiful. Rooms clean and comfortable. Love the little breakfast you serve.Walking distance to town. Love Capt.Tibby even though I only saw him once.Katja and Siobhan went out of their way to check our room for cell phone after we left . They also found something we left and made sure we got it.lov the blog they do on their website. Raspberry Truffle Sorbetto so good we got from them. Thank you and see you next year.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We’re thrilled to get such a wonderful review from you – thank you so much! We absolutely loved having you here – and it was nice not to have to say a big good bye the first time you left, because we knew you were coming back after your windjammer trip! We’re very happy you were so pleased with everything, even with the demanding yet elusive Captain Tibby. Elusive is not usually in his character – he’s loud and demanding and wants attention from everyone he can get it! So the next time you come, you’ll probably see him more often. (If you book something upstairs, some of the rooms have a view onto our patio – more cat watching possibilities!). Glad you loved your Facebook friend gelato gift, the coffee and breakfasts, and even our blog! It’s always fun to hear we have readers. We can’t wait to see you again next year – or anytime before that, if you need a Maine fix sooner. Guests like you are the best thing about having become innkeepers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Friendly welcoming with some candies and chocolate. The room had been recently renovated, spacious et very clean. Keurig coffee machine with regular and decaf cofffe. The air conditioning was working perfectly...its is true that we couldn't use the air dryer in the same time than the AC, but it was not a big deal. The next morning the breakfast was waiting at the table. Fresh muffins, lemon and poppy seeds muffins caps, apple cake and a watermelon salad, juice and coffee. They were good desserts and the owner as put a lot of time to prepare those goodies. I would have been happy with a more healthy choice ,like whole wheath breads, peanut butter and jam or cereal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DieppeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Merci beaucoup! We're so glad you enjoyed our welcome candies and chocolate, and our newly-renovated large cottage-style room. And we're glad you enjoyed our homemade continental breakfast, too. It does take effort! But we're rewarded every day by our guests' appreciation. There's nothing like the smell of fresh baked goods (and coffee) in the morning. As for healthier choices, we do provide fruit and yogurt, but we would have been glad to make toast for you. We're happy to accommodate our guests' dietary requests, especially if you let us know in advance. We hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent two nights here during a recent trip through New Brunswick and Maine. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, and I would definitely stay there again. The only FYI I would add is that the rooms (ours was one of them) nearest the street are not for you if you like to sleep with the windows open. There are trucks rolling by all night long, and open windows will make you think your bed has been relocated to the fast lane. Just know this and plan accordingly. This is a fine place to stay, very convenient to town, and the owners are great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Nancy, thank you the taking the time to write a positive review of Towne Motel. We have a fabulous team of housekeepers here and we pride ourselves on the spotlessness of our rooms. So sorry about the traffic noises in the night. We very rarely get a complaint about noise but it seems you had the misfortune of staying on a night of loud (though we hope only intermittent) truck noise.
We enjoyed meeting you and hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We just got back a couple weeks ago from a stay at the Towne Motel Camden Maine. We enjoyed this clean motel that is kind of cute as motels go.

We would not hesitate to go back and would recommend this motel. It was high season and all the rooms were sold out but the place was quite and peaceful. We parked the car when in Camden and walked to the restaurants and waterfront.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you: we're glad you think we're cute! Our guests appreciate the big hanging baskets of flowers out front and other touches that make Towne Motel look good. As many of our guests say, there really is nothing like parking the car (especially after a long trip), and leaving it parked as you explore Camden. And many guests comment on how quiet we are, despite being only two blocks from the heart of the village. We hope you come back soon, maybe to beat the Florida heat. It's nice and cool up here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I spend three nights in this charming Motel. The room was nicely decorated and exceptionally clean. How nice to have Keurig Coffee Pot in the room with my choice of coffee flavors. The motel is conveniently located near the center of town with an easy walk to the harbor. The continental breakfast is delicious with homemade goodness. A reasonably priced stay. I can't express my gratitude enough with the personal touch that was so appreciated. I was looking a place to rent a bicycle. The owners contacted the rental shop for me and personally drove me to the rental shop to pickup the bike. They offered to pick me up when I was ready to come back. That kind of personal service is rare. If your in the area, I highly recommend staying here. I know that I will be back again someday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you, Kandi! You were a wonderful guest and we loved hearing about your dream-come-true sail on the Grace Bailey. We appreciate all of the details you noticed: the in-room Keurig coffee maker, the homemade baked goods, and our spotless rooms. And it was no trouble at all to run you out to the bike shop; you should have called for a ride back! Really glad that you enjoyed that beautiful day of biking. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
0.0 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#4 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Motel

Property: Towne Motel
Address: 68 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#3 Family Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel is a friendly small motel a five minute stroll away from downtown Camden and Penobscot Bay. We offer super clean rooms, great rates, retro charm combined with modern amenities, and a delicious home-baked continental breakfast. Enjoy one of the most beautiful Maine coastal villages without sticker shock! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Towne Motel Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing