We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, clean motel with friendly innkeepers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Towne Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Towne Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic, clean motel with friendly innkeepers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you are just looking for basic, not luxury, this is the motel for you. It is clean. The furnishings and bedding are no thrills. The location is good. Just a short walk to the center of town. The innkeepers were friendly and resourceful.

We were passing through Camden for 1 night and didn't want to spend a lot on a hotel since we were only going to sleep and shower in the room. This motel fit our needs. I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay unless you like basic. I prefer high end accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Snooz425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
No thrills? What a shame. We're glad you appreciated our location, service, and very clean rooms. And we're glad we could save you money. But it's unfair to compare us to the "high end" properties you prefer. Here at Towne Motel we don't go in for frills and pretense, and we don't pretend to be other than who we are: a very nice, clean, and friendly motel. We hope you find a property more to your liking on your next trip to or through Camden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    68
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
107
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our stay to Town Motel was great choice. from clean to breakfast girls know how to cook and a friendly manner.Would we go back yes.Oh yes they have a new released book by SIOBHAN KELLY you might want to read.

Room Tip: tell them what you are looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay--and thank you for promoting my mystery novel! We really enjoyed our breakfast talks with you, especially about writing. And it's always great to have guests who love our baked goodies. We look forward to reading your short stories and we'll be sure to make chocolate-chocolate chip muffins next time you come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Towne Motel just two nights prior to a lovely cruise on a windjammer. The hotel is quite plain on the outside, comprised mostly of a strip of rooms (two floors) and has the appearance of a "Motel 6" facility. The rooms are very clean but generally quite small and the other negative is that you are on a major street leading to town so there is a fair amount of traffic noise during the day. This should not be a factor if you are out and about during the day and return in the evening. The management is friendly and helpful. Their breakfast usually includes some fruit and fresh baked cake (did not see any bread those two days) which is filling if not providing a lot of variety. Also the breakfast room is rather tiny, more what you would expect in a small bed and breakfast rather than a commercial hotel. Prices fairly reasonable, and not a bad place to stay if you are only needing a place rest you body after a busy day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the main street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We’re glad you enjoyed our affordable rates, friendliness, and cleanliness; these are all big compliments and greatly appreciated. But we are sorry our place didn’t quite fit your preferences when it came to breakfast, appearance, and space. We’re not sure which room you stayed in, but since you described it as “quite small,” it might have been one of our downstairs standard queens which are smaller in size and price than most of our other rooms. If so, we hope that at least it prepared you for the less than spacious quarters on your windjammer cruise! :) But in case you consider a return visit in the future, think about asking for one of our larger rooms. They’re only $15 more in the high season (10 in the quiet season), and especially the larger single queens are quite spacious – leaving room for yoga, dancing, or just empty space to think. Larger rooms also come with a fridge.

You also made a comparison to Motel 6. Sure – all motels share some defining characteristics: parking close to the rooms, easy access and visibility from highways or other busy roads; often exterior corridors or balconies. But what’s wrong with these things?? Motels are part of Americana, and they closely relate to other uniquely American traditions: car culture, mobility, road movies, and road trips! We have no problem calling ourselves what we (mostly) look like, and our name shouldn’t fool anyone into thinking we’re a secluded hideaway inn (although some reviews do see us as a hidden gem :)

It’s not that bad to be compared to Motel 6, either: the chain helped make travel more affordable, and won a Travel and Leisure award for room upgrades a few years ago (plus, check out the fun retro look of the original Santa Barbara location!). But still, the comparison doesn’t quite fit. For one, we’re not part of a chain. Like so many other smaller motels all over Maine and the rest of the country, we’re a family business, and therefore

- we have more personality! Outside, for example,

- we have colorful, hand-tended flower baskets, and we planted the flowers on and around our sign. Which, in our opinion,

- is better than the Motel 6 signs! It’s big, bold, blue, wooden and a bit retro, comes with daisies and petunias this year, and has a Vacancy / No Vacancy sign that needs to be flipped by hand twice daily (or less often, when we’re full)

You didn’t want to be in a chain motel, but it seems you would’ve preferred one of them for breakfast. Yes, our breakfast rooms are smaller than the cafeteria spaces of a Comfort Inn or Motel 6 – but almost no one complains about having breakfast in the parlor and dining room of our 1850’s home (less space, but more character!) We don’t have a lot more guests than many B&Bs (just 17 rooms), so traffic jams during our two-hour breakfast time are rare. Until early 2012, it was just muffins and coffee for breakfast here (served in the office); today you get a lot more breakfast space and food for your buck!

Since we’re a small motel with a B&B feel, our breakfasts have aspects of both. We don’t have enough space to serve plated breakfasts, nor are we licensed to do so. But we do make everything ourselves (no plastic-wrapped muffins or Danishes, no bland rubbery bagels in three main flavors), and always have at least two different baked goods (often both sweet and savory), sometimes granola (also homemade), plus fruit and/or yogurt, coffee, juice and tea. Various special requests, such as whole wheat or GF choices, toast, or cereal can usually be accommodated, especially with advance notice.

We enjoy our particular type of hybrid motel/B&B identity, and are sorry it wasn’t a perfect fit for you. Maybe a full service inn or larger hotel would be –but at least here in Camden, it would also cost you more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

It was our first time to Camden and we enoyed it immensely. We read earlier reviews of this motel, were lucky enough to book for a Sunday evening on very short notice, and were not disappointed. Check-in and checkout were both handled very efficiently. We arrived before lunch and could not move into our room immediately due to cleaning, so the owners provided lots of useful information on choices of restaurants and shopping in the local areas -- all within walking distance down the (not steep) hill into the downtown harbor area. Our room was clean and spacious with what looked to be a recently updated bathroom. Simple but up-to-date finishings for a classic, family run motel -- the bed was comfortable, flat-screen TV, the WiFi worked fine, and we enoyed a quiet night's sleep. The continental breakfast was superb -- good food and good conversation with other guests. We will definitely return to Camden and would be delighted to stay here once again.

Room Tip: Parking is conveniently located right across from the rooms, but the lot itself is a bit narrow. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdjc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled that we met and even exceeded your expectations! Sometimes guests arrive early and we will do an early-check in if their room is ready. When that's not the case, we're happy to fill you in on lunch and shopping options in the village. We're so glad you enjoyed our clean and quiet rooms and our homemade continental breakfast. Guests are often surprised at this "hybrid" aspect of our property--motel rooms but a B&B feel at breakfast, with the opportunity to chat with other guests and exchange stories and travel tips. It's one of the things that keep our guests coming back, and we'll hope you'll be among them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this motel, chosen sight unseen for an overnight stay on our trip to Maine. This is an older style motel and charmingly redone. It is close enough to walk to downtown Camden, altho it was rainy the night we were there so we chose to drive. Clean, comfortable, quiet room - due to the weather we had to keep the windows closed so road noise not an issue. Breakfast was very good with a choice of homemade pound cake, muffins, granola. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaefcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We're so glad you discovered us! Here at Towne Motel we have a nice mix of returning guests (some of whom have been coming for many years), guests who find us via internet research, and happy-go-lucky travelers who think our place looks nice and pull in to see if we have a room. Retro charm is what we're all about! Guests enjoy staying in an old-schooll motor court, lovingly maintained by a number of owners over the years. And we're glad you enjoyed our location and our breakfast goodies. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Walkable to downtown. This motor court was perfect for our trip. Seems as if it has been totally refurbished and refitted with updated furnishings. It was clean comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. They helped accommodate us during a busy weekend with last minute logistics. We would definitely stay again. Bed was supercomfortable. Keurig in room was a great plus. Did not make it to the continental breakfast so can not comment...but Saw the earlier reviews and they seemed a bit unfair. Having a bit of pastry and good coffee here is a definite plus but there are good restaurants in town too if you are not being a cheap chiseler on your vacation. On that note the price was great for the amenities and the location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1968a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you! We and the previous owners have indeed done some updates, and we plan on continuing with some re-decorating. We're always happy to help our guests with plans and logistics, and we're so glad we were able to figure some things out for you. We do have very good rates for Camden and our homemade continental breakfast is part of that. Camden does indeed have some great places for a full breakfast and some of our guests who want eggs or pancakes prefer to stroll downtown for that. Sorry you couldn't make it to sample our goodies--maybe next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Situated in picturesque Camden, Maine you will be pleasantly surprised and quite happy with your stay at the Towne Motel. It's truly a gem! The rooms are very comfortable with flat screen TV's, great water pressure for your shower and clean. The breakfast is great with homemade pound cake or muffins (loved the chocolate chip & peanut butter pound cake!) that makes all guests arrive early to enjoy the good food and chat with other guests in a nice dining room. The owners are super friendly and accommodating. It's within Camden and you can walk to all the shops, restaurants and the cove where the ships sail from too. You get to enjoy Maine at a price you just can't beat! I would highly recommend the Towne Motel especially for longer stays so that you can save money and enjoy more of what Maine has to offer! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralgozini89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Your review made our day – what a treat! We’re thrilled that you had such a good stay here, and that you took the time to comment on so many details of your experience! It’s good to hear that everything from the water pressure to the breakfast pound cake was to your liking (and now that our peanut butter cake has made it into Tripadvisor, we will definitely keep it in the breakfast rotation!). We’re glad you were able to walk to so many places you visited. That’s the idea of being right in Camden, of course - it would be a shame to stay in a coastal Maine village and “commute” to shopping and dining! Although sometimes you’d want to – with so many other beautiful places close by. It was great fun to have you and your friends here for a few days, and we hope to see you again on a future Maine trip you might take!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Motel

Property: Towne Motel
Address: 68 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#3 Family Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel is a friendly small motel a five minute stroll away from downtown Camden and Penobscot Bay. We offer super clean rooms, great rates, retro charm combined with modern amenities, and a delicious home-baked continental breakfast. Enjoy one of the most beautiful Maine coastal villages without sticker shock! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Towne Motel Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing