We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and centrally located”
Review of The Towne Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Towne Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very clean and pleasant. Short walk to the center of Camden, to do some shopping, visit the beautiful harbor and many delightful restaurants. The view from the back of "The Smiling Cow" and the Camden Deli was wonderful. The homemade breakfast was delicious. The Hostesses were very helpful and pleasant. Would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your five star review! We're honored. Our guests love parking the car (especially after a long drive) in our lot and walking to Camden's shops, restaurant, and harbor, where they can have lunch atop a waterfall! We're so glad you enjoyed our breakfast, and we love helping guests plan their excursions. Hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you're looking for luxury, this is not the place for you, but if you want a pleasant clean small room with all the basics, welcoming owners, yummy (but light) continental breakfast, perfect location and good rates, this is it.

It's a 1950s style motel (first floor built in 1955, upper floor added in 1988) attached to a wonderful old house built in (if I recall) the 1860s. It's right on US 1, but at that point US 1 is a shady two-lane street. But there is a lot of traffic, so if that bothers you, ask for a room at the far end (higher numbered rooms). The whole thing is very compact, so not much landscaping, but beautiful hanging flower baskets and everything is nice and clean. Rooms are small but mine had plenty of storage space. There wasn't a real closet, just a hanging rack with a few attached hangers, out in the room. Bathroom fixtures are modern and nice, with a good amount of counter space (but the actual plumbing is probably old, judging by the clunking noises).

The location is perfect - easy walk to downtown Camden, but not right in the middle of it, and surrounded by big trees and old houses (most of them converted to commercial use). Convenience store, huge drugstore, and great laundromat all very close.

The owners (two women) are really nice and welcoming. I didn't have questions but I'm sure they'd be happy to help you find your way around Camden and the area. The breakfast is "just" baked goods, coffee and juice - but the baked items are awesome! All homemade, right there -- things like pound cake with mixed berries baked in, some kind of cheese/sausage bread, applesauce bread, banana bread, etc. etc. etc. So it's not a big protein-filled bacon-and-egg breakfast, but a very yummy way to start the day. (Actually one day they also had yogurt with fresh fruit mixed in.)

If I stay in Camden again it will definitely be here!

Room Tip: If moderate traffic noise bothers you, ask for a room at the far end (higher numbered rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed and generous review! We admired your Harley and your adventurous spirit, but we didn't know you are a foodie on a Harley--so we're doubly thrilled you loved our breakfast goodies! We're very lucky in our location, easily walkable to downtown, and lucky in our dedicated housekeepers who keep our rooms sparkly clean. So many guests have enjoyed our big hanging baskets that they will be a definite annual tradition. Happy trails, and hope your journeys take us to Camden, and Towne Motel, again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you are just looking for basic, not luxury, this is the motel for you. It is clean. The furnishings and bedding are no thrills. The location is good. Just a short walk to the center of town. The innkeepers were friendly and resourceful.

We were passing through Camden for 1 night and didn't want to spend a lot on a hotel since we were only going to sleep and shower in the room. This motel fit our needs. I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay unless you like basic. I prefer high end accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Snooz425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

No thrills? What a shame. We're glad you appreciated our location, service, and very clean rooms. And we're glad we could save you money. But it's unfair to compare us to the "high end" properties you prefer. Here at Towne Motel we don't go in for frills and pretense, and we don't pretend to be other than who we are: a very nice, clean, and friendly motel. We hope you find a property more to your liking on your next trip to or through Camden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our stay to Town Motel was great choice. from clean to breakfast girls know how to cook and a friendly manner.Would we go back yes.Oh yes they have a new released book by SIOBHAN KELLY you might want to read.

Room Tip: tell them what you are looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay--and thank you for promoting my mystery novel! We really enjoyed our breakfast talks with you, especially about writing. And it's always great to have guests who love our baked goodies. We look forward to reading your short stories and we'll be sure to make chocolate-chocolate chip muffins next time you come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Towne Motel just two nights prior to a lovely cruise on a windjammer. The hotel is quite plain on the outside, comprised mostly of a strip of rooms (two floors) and has the appearance of a "Motel 6" facility. The rooms are very clean but generally quite small and the other negative is that you are on a major street leading to town so there is a fair amount of traffic noise during the day. This should not be a factor if you are out and about during the day and return in the evening. The management is friendly and helpful. Their breakfast usually includes some fruit and fresh baked cake (did not see any bread those two days) which is filling if not providing a lot of variety. Also the breakfast room is rather tiny, more what you would expect in a small bed and breakfast rather than a commercial hotel. Prices fairly reasonable, and not a bad place to stay if you are only needing a place rest you body after a busy day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the main street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your detailed review. We’re glad you enjoyed our affordable rates, friendliness, and cleanliness; these are all big compliments and greatly appreciated. But we are sorry our place didn’t quite fit your preferences when it came to breakfast, appearance, and space. We’re not sure which room you stayed in, but since you described it as “quite small,” it might have been one of our downstairs standard queens which are smaller in size and price than most of our other rooms. If so, we hope that at least it prepared you for the less than spacious quarters on your windjammer cruise! :) But in case you consider a return visit in the future, think about asking for one of our larger rooms. They’re only $15 more in the high season (10 in the quiet season), and especially the larger single queens are quite spacious – leaving room for yoga, dancing, or just empty space to think. Larger rooms also come with a fridge.

You also made a comparison to Motel 6. Sure – all motels share some defining characteristics: parking close to the rooms, easy access and visibility from highways or other busy roads; often exterior corridors or balconies. But what’s wrong with these things?? Motels are part of Americana, and they closely relate to other uniquely American traditions: car culture, mobility, road movies, and road trips! We have no problem calling ourselves what we (mostly) look like, and our name shouldn’t fool anyone into thinking we’re a secluded hideaway inn (although some reviews do see us as a hidden gem :)

It’s not that bad to be compared to Motel 6, either: the chain helped make travel more affordable, and won a Travel and Leisure award for room upgrades a few years ago (plus, check out the fun retro look of the original Santa Barbara location!). But still, the comparison doesn’t quite fit. For one, we’re not part of a chain. Like so many other smaller motels all over Maine and the rest of the country, we’re a family business, and therefore

- we have more personality! Outside, for example,

- we have colorful, hand-tended flower baskets, and we planted the flowers on and around our sign. Which, in our opinion,

- is better than the Motel 6 signs! It’s big, bold, blue, wooden and a bit retro, comes with daisies and petunias this year, and has a Vacancy / No Vacancy sign that needs to be flipped by hand twice daily (or less often, when we’re full)

You didn’t want to be in a chain motel, but it seems you would’ve preferred one of them for breakfast. Yes, our breakfast rooms are smaller than the cafeteria spaces of a Comfort Inn or Motel 6 – but almost no one complains about having breakfast in the parlor and dining room of our 1850’s home (less space, but more character!) We don’t have a lot more guests than many B&Bs (just 17 rooms), so traffic jams during our two-hour breakfast time are rare. Until early 2012, it was just muffins and coffee for breakfast here (served in the office); today you get a lot more breakfast space and food for your buck!

Since we’re a small motel with a B&B feel, our breakfasts have aspects of both. We don’t have enough space to serve plated breakfasts, nor are we licensed to do so. But we do make everything ourselves (no plastic-wrapped muffins or Danishes, no bland rubbery bagels in three main flavors), and always have at least two different baked goods (often both sweet and savory), sometimes granola (also homemade), plus fruit and/or yogurt, coffee, juice and tea. Various special requests, such as whole wheat or GF choices, toast, or cereal can usually be accommodated, especially with advance notice.

We enjoy our particular type of hybrid motel/B&B identity, and are sorry it wasn’t a perfect fit for you. Maybe a full service inn or larger hotel would be –but at least here in Camden, it would also cost you more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

It was our first time to Camden and we enoyed it immensely. We read earlier reviews of this motel, were lucky enough to book for a Sunday evening on very short notice, and were not disappointed. Check-in and checkout were both handled very efficiently. We arrived before lunch and could not move into our room immediately due to cleaning, so the owners provided lots of useful information on choices of restaurants and shopping in the local areas -- all within walking distance down the (not steep) hill into the downtown harbor area. Our room was clean and spacious with what looked to be a recently updated bathroom. Simple but up-to-date finishings for a classic, family run motel -- the bed was comfortable, flat-screen TV, the WiFi worked fine, and we enoyed a quiet night's sleep. The continental breakfast was superb -- good food and good conversation with other guests. We will definitely return to Camden and would be delighted to stay here once again.

Room Tip: Parking is conveniently located right across from the rooms, but the lot itself is a bit narrow. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdjc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled that we met and even exceeded your expectations! Sometimes guests arrive early and we will do an early-check in if their room is ready. When that's not the case, we're happy to fill you in on lunch and shopping options in the village. We're so glad you enjoyed our clean and quiet rooms and our homemade continental breakfast. Guests are often surprised at this "hybrid" aspect of our property--motel rooms but a B&B feel at breakfast, with the opportunity to chat with other guests and exchange stories and travel tips. It's one of the things that keep our guests coming back, and we'll hope you'll be among them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this motel, chosen sight unseen for an overnight stay on our trip to Maine. This is an older style motel and charmingly redone. It is close enough to walk to downtown Camden, altho it was rainy the night we were there so we chose to drive. Clean, comfortable, quiet room - due to the weather we had to keep the windows closed so road noise not an issue. Breakfast was very good with a choice of homemade pound cake, muffins, granola. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank elaefcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowneGirls, Owner at The Towne Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We're so glad you discovered us! Here at Towne Motel we have a nice mix of returning guests (some of whom have been coming for many years), guests who find us via internet research, and happy-go-lucky travelers who think our place looks nice and pull in to see if we have a room. Retro charm is what we're all about! Guests enjoy staying in an old-schooll motor court, lovingly maintained by a number of owners over the years. And we're glad you enjoyed our location and our breakfast goodies. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
Schooner Bay Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Rockport
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towne Motel

Address: 68 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#3 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range: £61 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Towne Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel is a friendly small motel a five minute stroll away from downtown Camden and Penobscot Bay. We offer super clean rooms, great rates, retro charm combined with modern amenities, and a delicious home-baked continental breakfast. Enjoy one of the most beautiful Maine coastal villages without sticker shock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Towne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towne Motel Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing