We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of Grand Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Harbor Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, Connecticut
1 review
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is a wonderful inn. Everything was just perfect, the room, the view, the location, the staff. We stayed overnight and wished it could have been longer. Looking forward to returning in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverside37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    25
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
251
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This is THE place to stay in Camden! Very well located and very attentive staff. Be sure and have dinner at Fresh, which is owned by the same person.

We highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here overnight (too short of a stay) but looking forward to a return visit. Everything about this Inn is outstanding, The rooms have everything you need and more (fireplace, wonderful bed,heated bathroom floor, etc.) and the location on the water is perfect. You never have to get in the car to enjoy Camden - everthing is within walking distance. The staff are all very, very friendly and helpful. Don't miss a chance to enjoy an out of the ordinary Inn. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piperzackery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Can't say enough about the comfort and tasteful rooms in this new waterfront hotel in Camden. Fireplace was cozy even in August. Great location - walking distance to city dock and downtown restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have stayed at many of the local upscale hotels in the Camden area and decided to try out the relatively new Grand Harbor Inn. For location it cannot be beat, with beautiful views of the harbor and centrally located to all shopping and restaurants in the area. The room was very tastefully furnished and the bed very comfortable. It is a small venue (only about 6 or so rooms I beleive), so that makes it also very private. The people working there are very nice and extremely attentive to your needs, questions, etc.

The Grand Harbor Inn is on the very upper price tier for hotel rooms, thus there comes an expectation level and comparison with similarily priced hotels/inns. A couple of quirks or tweeks needed, again given the price level. First I arrived and no where to park even though it says reserved parking for guest. I had to park elsewhere and then move my car later when shoppers/restaurant patrons finally left. Second, I could hear through the room walls the conversations of the people in the adjacent rooms - as in could hear the whole conversation. For this level of hotel there should be more sound proofiing in the walls. Third, the HVAC unit is one that kicks on and off to maintain the temperature, versus always running. For me, this type of system wakes me up a lot as it kicks on then goes quiet. Finally, there is an incredible shower system in the bathroom but he wate is set to not exceed 100 degrees. So you have warm showers that are about 10-15 degrees too cool. Upon mentioning this at check out, they said there is an safety override button somewhere on the system that allows hotter showers. I suggested that they print this in the bathrooms as I looked for such a override but could not find it.

Overall, great location, well-appointed rooms, unmatched harbor views, and they try very hard to address your needs. But is very expensive so they need to address these little issues that their competitors don't have.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTMNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during the Windjammer Festival and we were not the least bit disappointed. This place is extremely pricey but even trying to surprise my husband and work with the staff it was flawless and everyone I've dealt with has been fantastic. I didn't find it the least bit noisy except with the balcony doors open...which is to be expected. The rooms are sinfully lavish and comfortable and the amenities can't be beat. Our complaints are so minimal they're even kind of ridiculous. The beds are very comfortable and the bedding is very luxurious.

The first is you have all this coffee and tea at your fingertips but no stir sticks in the rooms. Second is the hot water. I'm assuming they're trying to save a bit of money or save someone from getting burned but they have it locked at 100 degrees..not even close to warm for me. I told you the complaints were borderline ridiculous.

We stayed in Room #2 and I honestly don't think there's a better room. If you're splurging to stay here, get a waterfront room, it's most definitely worth it. The breakfast was more than enough to fill us up and we even had enough left over to skip eating out for lunch one day.

I recommend Paolina's Way for fantastic pizza and tiramisu..but avoid the champagne cocktail. The best blueberry pie was found in the back cooler at French & Brawn (french market) but when it's gone, it's gone. We never made it to Bayview but the place was constantly packed so we can only assume it's good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickAndKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words and great review of our Inn! We always love hearing and learning about our guest experience during their stay with us.

I am happy to hear that we were able to assist in a flawless surprise to your husband and your enjoyment of our comfortable amenities and bedding.

Thank you for your recommendation of stir sticks to be placed in our guest rooms. We try to eliminate as much in-room waste whenever we can as part of a green initiative therefore we supply our amenity closets with silverware that we replenish daily or whenever requested but will kindly review this suggestion as we are forever reviewing and improving our guest experience. I’m sorry to learn of your water temperature experience as indeed our water temperature is set at 100 degrees per our safety standard, however, this is adjustable for each guest to set from there by pressing the lock/safety button and decreasing the water temperature as low as 86 degrees or increasing in upwards of 122 degrees.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed a few of many dining options within footsteps of our Inn during your stay with us as we take great pride in our location that we are able to offer our guests.

Thank you once again for your review our Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Harbor Inn during your next adventure to Midcoast, Maine!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We had an excellent stay at the Grand Harbor Inn. Our room was perfect, overlooking the harbor. Nothing can beat the continental breakfast on that beautiful deck. We could have easily parked our car and not moved it for the four days we were there. The location is convenient to the shopping area and plenty of excellent dining spots. Schooner rides and kayaking right outside our door. Did I mention our deck? So nice to sit and watch the osprey flying overhead or watching the boats coming in and out of the harbor. The staff was so accommodating and efficient.. Very helping with suggestions as to where to eat or sight see. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were very very comfortable. Plenty of plush towels. My husband and I look forward to returning to the Grand Harbor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Grand Waterfront Suite. A spacious corner room with excellent view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariec713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.0 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Inn

Property: Grand Harbor Inn
Address: 14 Bayview Lndg, Camden, ME 04843-2249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#2 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Camden Harbor from the luxurious comfort of your waterfront suite at the Grand Harbor Inn, Camden’s newest and only luxury, waterfront boutique Inn. Recently awarded the coveted and prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating, the Grand Harbor Inn’s enviable waterfront location, overlooking the marina of yachts and local fishing boats, provides the perfect haven for that needed escape or romantic getaway. Located at Bay View Landing, the Grand Harbor Inn is surrounded by a vibrant mix of unique shops, fine dining, and exciting schooner and kayak tours.The Grand Harbor Inn features several waterfront rooms and suites, offering guests unparalleled views of Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay. Each guest room and suite is exquisitely well appointed with private balconies, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and separate marble and glass enclosed rain showers, high definition 37” LCD TV’s, high speed wireless internet, luxurious bed and bath linens, and so much more!The interior style of the Grand Harbor Inn is inspired by Tuscan Villas, evoking a rustic, old-world, warm and elegant feel combined with all the contemporary comforts and amenities that today's guests expect. The exterior is Coastal Cottage, shingle-style architecture, blending perfectly with the historic waterfront buildings on Camden Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Hotel Camden
Grand Harbor Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing