We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will go back again to this lovely hotel (inn)”
Review of Grand Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Harbor Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
229 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“We will go back again to this lovely hotel (inn)”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We spent three nights here. We try to go to Camden often during the off season and this was our first stay at the Grand Harbor Inn, but it will not be our last. We love the handy location. You walk to the restaurants and shops. The room was large, comfortable with understated elegance. How can you dislike having breakfast delivered in the morning. Even our dog liked it, and he is very fussy. The entire staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful in every way..

Room Tip: We did not have a full water view room. If you are planning on spending time in your room, that woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Good Day Jack,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review of your stay at Grand Harbor Inn. We are quite happy to hear that you (and your pup) enjoyed your time at our property! Our staff truly prides themselves on the exceptional level of service that is offered to all of our guests.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you to the Grand Harbor Inn again soon.

Kindly,

Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    25
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
254
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northport, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We made it an evening getaway with dining and staying at the inn. We had a lovely evening meal at the Waterfront Restaurant after drinks, crackers and cheese's in our room. The stay was very quiet and woke to a brilliant sunny morning with a beautiful bay out our front door and nice light breakfast at our door. The view was spectacular and we had a great time.

Room Tip: Get number 5, it looks both into the inner harbor and all the way out to Curtis Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangercanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our Inn! I am happy to learn of your great stay with us during your Midcoast, Maine visit. We feel blessed to be able to share the beautiful harbor side views with our guests as it is truly a one of a kind way to experience Camden, Maine.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena MD
Level Contributor
164 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Harbor Inn in Camden Maine for 5 nights over the 4th of July in 2011. We reserved a water front room with king bed. Having never been to this location before, we were not really sure what to expect.

We were pleasently surprised. The rooms were luxury through and through. Everything about the place is designed to pamper guests plus the staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly.

The room and the amenities are first class. If we found anything amiss (noisy air conditioning), the staff were quick to fix.

Continental style breakfast was brought to our room every morning at the time we requested. After a day of hiking, the jacuzzi tub in the room was a very welcome end to a day.

Becasue the rooms are over a resturant, we were expecting some noise. We were very pleased with how quiet the evenings were. By 10pm, the whole pier area is quiet.

Sitting on our balcony in the morning was fantastic. The atmosphere was very relaxing. Watching the morning activites of the boats being prepared for the day was not only interesting but calming. No one rushed about. People on the schooners would look up and wave good morning. Looking out from the balcony as the sun rose over the water was our favorite part of the day.

We enjoyed the experience so much, we are going back for our 40th anniversary in October 2012.

Room Tip: If you want a break from the continential breakfast, go down the stairs to the Bayview Lobster Restu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFsilverfox52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear AFsilverfox52,

It was a pleasure to read your review of our beautiful little harbor side Inn. I would like to take the time to personally thank you for your kind words towards the staff, amenities, and world class services we provide. We take great pride in offering our guests high quality comfort during their stay and I am pleased to learn of your sound comfort while with us as the picturesque harbor; a true working harbor; it a great place for peace and serenity. I am happy to hear we were able to provide you with a stay beyond your expectations and look forward to your return visit in October during your 40th Anniversary!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Visited Camden midweek in April. Used the internet special and booked a Waterfront Deluxe for $201 per night including tax. This is a good deal.

Large room with a king bed, huge bathroom with jacuzzi and walk in shower, sitting area in room and harbor front deck with two chairs and a table.

The room was clean, the concierge's were very helpful and pleasant.

I recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonFoodSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpswell, ME
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Grand Harbor Inn is a reat perfect for a relaxing weekend away. The property is well appointed, comfortable, has amazing views into Camden Harbor (especially room #1!) and is situated right in the center of all that makes Camden great. The staff were friendly and eager to make our stay just right. The only thing missing is a pool and a fitness center. But with the ocean litterally feet away and Mount Battie just down the road those amenities really aren't necessary. I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Room #1 is the best in te house. Increadible view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Bart B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I am happy to learn of your enjoyment during your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments of our staff’s eagerness to assist you and ensure a perfectly comfortable stay with us. Although a very small Inn made up of only rooms and an intimate guest & concierge lobby, we do offer complimentary passes to the local YMCA to all of our guests who would like to take advantage of a pool or fitness center. We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest of ours during your next Midcoast, Maine adventure!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

I'm staying here during the shoulder season, so the crowds are diminished but not the allure of Camden. Many restaurants are open as is the Grand Harbor. I would not truly call this a five star hotel but by TA standards it certainly is. The location is excellent with fine dining just steps outside the front door. There are also less expensive, and more expensive, options within two short blocks. The hotel is primarily upstairs above shops and restaurants. You get preferred parking in the center of town. It gets better. The staff is great. Everyone friendly and helpful. If there is a minor complaint it is the room decor, Tuscan, in Maine. Something more nautical might be better, but they did add beadboard along the walls. The rooms are very, very comfortable with great linens, towels, fireplaces, all of which are kept very clean. Great bathroom with dual sinks and really a great shower with good water pressure. All in all, the hotel doesn't have the feel of a chain, but offers all the amenities you would expect. I found it far more comfortable than most historic B&Bs. Most rooms do NOT have water views. A small balcony with a parking lot view is true of all but the most expensive rooms. On the flip side, you can walk out the front door, take a left, and be on the Camden dock.

I read the complaints about noise from the restaurant(s) below. Bring a noise maker. I haven't found it bad but in high season... The heating/AC works great, I needed both. One last thing, the breakfast. It is brought to your room as there is no common area except a small reception lobby. Nothing hot, but something baked, yogurt, great fresh berries in quantity, granola juice and coffee/tea.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank barinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Easter getaway! What a wonderful surprise. Welcomed by Assistant Manager Nicole Hawkes and offered a beverage of our liking. Nicole is a professional and attentive staff member who helped to make our stay wonderful with suggestions of places to eat and church service times for the Easter Vigil. I fear sharing our room number (No. 5) because it probably won't be available next time we wish to visit Camden. The turn down service was a special treat with miniature Lindt Chocolates awaiting us and soft wind chimes playing in the background. The view and all amenities were wonderful. I sat on the balcony and read for quite awhile even though it was a tiny bit brisk. Can't wait to visit again when the harbor is active. My husband is a runner and he says he has never had a more beautiful early morning run followed by the shower of a lifetime. Everyone should experience a stay at the Grand Harbor Inn. Treat yourself!

Room Tip: I am sure you will be pleased no matter which room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
I would like to personally thank you for your review of our Inn! I am always eager to learn of our guests visits during their stay with us and am excited to learn of your enjoyment with our Inn as well as the services provide by Nicole Hawkes. Nicole has been with us since opening the Grand Harbor Inn back in June of 2010 and has become a great asset to our Inns, assisting in many facets including customer service training and amenities you found throughout your stay.

Although all of our rooms offer the precise amenities we are known for, Room 5 is a personal favorite of mine as it offers great unobstructed views of Penobscot Bay but also awards you with spectacular views of Camden Hills as it meets our beautiful harbor. With this said, I can fully understand the desire to experience the balconies comfort even during the chilly weather. Every room is equipped with our rain jet showers and are truly a great amenity to our Inn as we receive many high remarks towards them.

Thank you once again for your review, we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.0 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
150 reviews
6.4 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Inn

Property: Grand Harbor Inn
Address: 14 Bayview Lndg, Camden, ME 04843-2249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#2 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Camden Harbor from the luxurious comfort of your waterfront suite at the Grand Harbor Inn, Camden’s newest and only luxury, waterfront boutique Inn. Recently awarded the coveted and prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating, the Grand Harbor Inn’s enviable waterfront location, overlooking the marina of yachts and local fishing boats, provides the perfect haven for that needed escape or romantic getaway. Located at Bay View Landing, the Grand Harbor Inn is surrounded by a vibrant mix of unique shops, fine dining, and exciting schooner and kayak tours.The Grand Harbor Inn features several waterfront rooms and suites, offering guests unparalleled views of Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay. Each guest room and suite is exquisitely well appointed with private balconies, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and separate marble and glass enclosed rain showers, high definition 37” LCD TV’s, high speed wireless internet, luxurious bed and bath linens, and so much more!The interior style of the Grand Harbor Inn is inspired by Tuscan Villas, evoking a rustic, old-world, warm and elegant feel combined with all the contemporary comforts and amenities that today's guests expect. The exterior is Coastal Cottage, shingle-style architecture, blending perfectly with the historic waterfront buildings on Camden Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Grand Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Hotel Camden
Grand Harbor Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing