We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Grand Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Harbor Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We spent three nights recently in room #3 and had a wonderful experience. The suite is large with a sitting room overlooking the harbor, a gorgeous bedroom, and a bathroom that's over the top excellent. I almost wished the weather had been worse during our stay so we would have spent more time in this wonderful suite. The furnishings are elegant. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts brought to our room each morning and all the amenities that made the place feel special, including the fireplace. The furniture in the sitting room wasn't as comfortable as some of the furniture described in the other reviews. Even so, next time we are in Maine, this hotel will again be our home base and we will request room #3. We will stay longer next time, too. Camden is a great town, and I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

What you are getting at this place is a lovely room - exactly and only that. We had a small balcony with a view of the car park area, but actually that is fine. The room had two halves, one of which had a gas fireplace, so when the weather was bad it was great to sit there and read. However, depending on your definition or expectation, it is not really an 'Inn.' There are no 'public' areas except the entrance where there was a computer and a helpful receptionist. There is no bar or restaurant or spa. The price of the rooms (unless you are out of season) is high, so you should expect a breakfast. But this is where it all falls down a bit. The breakfast is from the bakery across the road and is brought to your room on a tray at a morning hour that you request. I cannot understand why they do this. There is nothing on the tray that is freshly cooked or baked that morning, and since you have a fridge, microwave and coffee machine in the room, what is it they are bringing that they could not have brought to you the evening before when they turned the beds down? Breakfast had juice, muffin, thermos of coffee, quiche and a yoghurt with slices of apple. Sliced apples go brown quickly, so if you get breakfast early they are fresh, but by 8 they are browning, so they are better off no putting apple slices on. The bakery has excellent bread and olive oil, but they do not bake it in the morning (or at least not in time for breakfast) and it would have cost $5 to change the items on the breakfast (although what to I am not sure as they don't have croissant or bread at that time in the morning anyway). They need to really sort this out. If the bakery cannot produce fresh produce in the morning, then stick to providing select items the evening before (it would save some of the staff costs of running around in the morning!) They might even entice other shops or restaurants to provide small items as tasters every now and then to show what they are capable of (if we are staying here we must have some spare cash and certainly nowhere to eat, so we should be a great target!) Most of all it would be great to get the bakery to show the residents what great bread it can make! Oh, and the yoghurt. It was vanilla flavoured and I think it was someone's pride and joy. But yoghurts in NE all have that long life custard look and feel. I think they all put in corn starch. Don't do it - they have such fabulous ingredients there, please someone in NE make some great yoghurt - Grand Harbor please lead the way! Sorry I went on a bit just over the breakfast as the rooms and staff and location was great, but it is this type of attention to detail that they must get right.

Room Tip: I think you get what you pay for, so if you want a great view of the harbour it will cost, but our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WithScruples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear WithScruples,

Thank you for taking your time to provide a review of our Inn, as we greatly value all forms of feedback so that we may grow in a positive direction.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Inn and the helpful desk staff. I am sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with our breakfast however. We continually improve breakfast and will certainly take your comments into consideration as we grow. Our current breakfast consisting of yogurt and homemade granola parfait, fresh baked sweet pastry items and a savory slice of quiche which is prepared daily each morning prior to service as well as a selection of juices, coffees and teas is served in-suite as we are an Inn with a Bed and Breakfast design offering an intimate setting for travelers seeking calm and comfort. Fresh Bakery has partnered with us this past June and has already become a great hit within the community since its opening in May. They offer many samples of their breads and treats daily to the public and continue to expand their operation to now include artesian pizzas. We also know that there are many restaurants in town and utilize Camden's assets whenever possible to provide a community strong growth, so the "Good Start" Breakfast we serve we feel is the right start to the morning for guests who want something light and homey, or there are multiple options to dine within footsteps of our Inn for those who seek the larger breakfast service and our Guest Representatives are here to assist in recommendations.

Thank you once again for your review and your recent stay with us. We value you as a guest and will take all of your comments into consideration as we grow. We look forward to your return stay with us during your next visit to Midcoast, Maine.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We spent a week touring the Maine coast, and only stayed one night here at the Grand Harbor.....big mistake, should have been longer! This is the nicest, most relaxing, beautiful place! We are already planning our next trip! We stayed in #11 and it was perfect! Very friendly staff too! It was a little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This place is AMAZING!!!! My wife and I were in Room 1, WOW!!!!!!!!!!!! GREATEST VIEW and the room is outstanding, from top to bottom!! bathroom is AMAZING, 2 tvs, leather chair and ottoman, fridge, microwave I could go on and on!!!!
The girls who work here are OUTSTANDING!!!! They are VERY FRIENDLY and helpful!! It's hard to find a hotel that has such GREAT FRIENDLY PEOPLE!!!!
We WILL BE BACK next year and we are coming here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniv.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabe e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

A great location with great harbor views. It's just what you'd think New England would look like. Service is fabulous and the rooms are the best ever. We stayed in #3 which overlooked the harbor. It had a sitting room and large bedroom and bath. The fireplace even goes through to both rooms and there are two closets too. Parking is fine and the quaint town of Camden is right outside your door. This one is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

After perusing reviews of many different hotels in the Midcoast area, we decided upon the Grand Harbor Inn for our honeymoon. And it was definitely the right choice! We were in room #2, which overlooks the Camden Harbor. It was spacious, clean, luxurious. The view is stunning. This inn was perfect for our honeymoon because it combined the charm of a B&B with the luxury of a resort. Every morning we got to put on our robes and eat breakfast on our balcony overlooking the harbor. The bathroom is quite large and includes a wonderful shower and jet tub. Upon our arrival, the staff had left a bottle of champagne and two chocolates for us with a congratulatory note. Oh, and we loved the gas fireplace!

Our only complaint is that they didn't always remember to leave the breakfast order form on our door handle, so some nights we had to call down and request it. Also, the fridge was stocked with bottled water only on the first night. Would have been nice to have some bottled water for the duration of our stay. Obviously these are minor complaints... no place is perfect.

All in all, this was an excellent experience, and we can't wait to return someday!

p.s. There is a schooner (name: Appledore) that docks right outside the Grand Harbor and offers 2 hr sailing trips. We went on one of these sails and LOVED it. One of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: We loved room #2 - overlooks the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Being a new hotel, it has all the goodies: surround shower, Keurig coffee maker, microwave, more light switches than my house, 2 TVs, and solid doors. Most importantly, you can get rooms with a suite-like setup: separate area for the couch, coffee, desk, and one TV. Very clean, very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.0 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
174 reviews
6.4 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Inn

Address: 14 Bayview Lndg, Camden, ME 04843-2249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#2 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range: £178 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Camden Harbor from the luxurious comfort of your waterfront suite at the Grand Harbor Inn, Camden’s newest and only luxury, waterfront boutique Inn. Recently awarded the coveted and prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating, the Grand Harbor Inn’s enviable waterfront location, overlooking the marina of yachts and local fishing boats, provides the perfect haven for that needed escape or romantic getaway. Located at Bay View Landing, the Grand Harbor Inn is surrounded by a vibrant mix of unique shops, fine dining, and exciting schooner and kayak tours.The Grand Harbor Inn features several waterfront rooms and suites, offering guests unparalleled views of Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay. Each guest room and suite is exquisitely well appointed with private balconies, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and separate marble and glass enclosed rain showers, high definition 37” LCD TV’s, high speed wireless internet, luxurious bed and bath linens, and so much more!The interior style of the Grand Harbor Inn is inspired by Tuscan Villas, evoking a rustic, old-world, warm and elegant feel combined with all the contemporary comforts and amenities that today's guests expect. The exterior is Coastal Cottage, shingle-style architecture, blending perfectly with the historic waterfront buildings on Camden Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Hotel Camden
Grand Harbor Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing