We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT AS THE FIRST TIME!!”
Review of Grand Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My wife and I spent the week of Oct. 6, 2013 in room #2 the view was AMAZING, and we had a GREAT TIME!!! This was our SECOND TIME there and it was just as BEAUTIFUL as the first!! Everyone there took GREAT CARE of us from Debbie getting our gift when we checked in, the cleaning girls who did our rooms and bringing us plates so we could have our BLUEBERRY PIE, and Nicole who booked us for NEXT YEAR in November!! The Grand Harbor is where I WANT TO BE next year to Celebrate my 45th BIRTHDAY!! Thanks again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabe e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear gabe e,

Thank you for your return stay with us and contribution to our TripAdvisor page! I am pleased to learn of your customer service experience, as we strive to provide memorable experiences. Debbie, Nicole, and all of the housekeeping staff are great assets to our Inn and I am happy to learn of them being a highlight of your stay!

We look forward to celebrating your 45th Birthday with us next year!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Grand Harbor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We satyed here the week of the 21st for two nights, what a place. We have traveled to many places and stayed at some of the nicest spots and this is right up there. the view from the balcony of the town, the Harbor, the mountains is unreal and soooo relaxing. the attention to details in the room are first class. The breakfast served in your room each morning is another great touch. We had no problem with parking as there is a huge lot next door. Being downtown and able to walk everywhere is another real bonus. If you want to treat yourself to a little luxury, you must stay here on your next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for room 5
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Richard E,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Harbor Inn! We are honored to be amongst some of the nicest spots you have traveled to! Thank you for your kind words regarding our view, attention to detail, location, and in-suite breakfast.

We look forward to being of service during your next stay!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our children gave us a night at the Grand Harbor as a present, and we went the third week of September, which was the earliest time we could be guaranteed a waterfront room when we called. The weather proved to be spectacular, which greatly enhanced our lovely view of the harbor and our ramblings round town.

The room and bath were lovely, robes were comfy and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I would agree with other writers that if you have any choice at all, you should either try to reserve a waterfront room for your $400+ a night or choose another date..

At the request of the desk clerk, Deb, we had handed in our gift certificate when we arrived. She was also very helpful in giving us directions as to parking and what was where in Camden. When it came time to check out, however, Deb was not available, and there was no record of the gift certificate so we were billed full price for the room. It was only after fifteen or twenty minutes of searching and phoning and explaining on my part that a record of the gift certificate was found and we received a refund on our credit card for the amount billed to us. A total waste of our time on a beautiful morning, and the cause of not a little irritation on my part, this sequence of events were not at all the kind of service and efficiency one would expect from a hotel of this caliber.

Room Tip: Number 4 is a pleasant room with a nice view of the harbor (over a roof below). If you stand in the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chesterlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Chesterlady,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn! I apologize for any confusion with the gift certificate upon departure resulting in you feeling that we failed to provide a service of caliber. I am however, pleased to learn we were able to remedy this in a timely manner without billing your card, and prior to you leaving the property. Thank you for your kind words towards our rooms and amenities as well as the staff friendliness and knowledge. We strive to provide a world class experience in both amenity and customer service and I am pleased to learn we hit the mark here.

We look forward to being of service during your next Midcoast Maine stay!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had a waterfront room. Very clean! There is elevator access to the second floor. But, it only takes less than 15 seconds to take the stairs. There are not many steps. Staff is very friendly. Location is great except the parking is a joke. That is why the 4 stars and not 5. There are 10 rooms and I am not sure if there are even 10 parking spaces in the alley for that many vehicles. Parking is tight. You have to watch carefully when backing up not to hit anything. But, all of Camden seems to have very limited parking. I cannot imagine what a summer weekend would be like. There is a large parking lot next door but that lot is reserved for people taking a sailing cruise. Some nice restaurants in walking distance. A little pricey for what you get but that can be expected in a town like this. In the fall, some restaurants are closed early in the week. I would definitely go back. It is well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CabinParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear LogCabinGuy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn! I am pleased to learn of your comfort and enjoyment during your recent stay with us! I apologize that we missed the mark in parking. Our reserved guest spots in the alley definitely expand onto the landing area including our two dedicated arrival spaces. I’m sorry we were not clearer about this during your stay or had learned of your challenge during your stay as we also have the ability to reserve more spots if necessary. The town landing next door is open to all public visitors to Camden but is restricted to 2 hours. We realize we may not hit the price range for most travelers but present a quality service and amenity which we have found to be of value. There are indeed less expensive options as well as higher in Camden, which allows for travelers with all budgets to experience our beautiful area of the world. I am pleased to hear you will return and find the value in our product!

We look forward to being of service during your next stay and will work towards improving your parking experience!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A surprise trip to Camden in July, and a stay at Camden Harbor Inn was perfect. Our room was truly amazing. It had everything., Big, bright and overlooked the harbor. The bathroom was true bliss. The front desk receptionist Deb took care of us from the moment we got there. Taking us to our room, helping with our luggage, and pointing out the view of Curtis Island where if lucky. we may see eagles soaring. The room also had a balcony which she suggested would be a perfect place for breakfast. Breakfast is served in room each morning. Later that evening Deb did "turn down " for us as well. Great shops and dining were only steps away from the Inn. The shopping was great.

Room Tip: Pick a water view room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Grand Harbor. Although the weather was not very cooperative, we enjoyed ourselves. While all the staff members were great, two people stood out: Deb Davis and a young man, Radu Odangiu. We had great conversations with both of them, and they both made us feel "right at home." We had our Chesapeake Bay Retriever, Caitlin, with us. And, while some places tolerate pets, Grand Harbor actually welcomes them. That makes a big difference. We felt like Caitlin was the center of attention, anytime we would enter the lobby. Hope we can return. BTW, if you've never been to Camden during the Labor Day Week-End, stand by for crowds.

Room Tip: I think that all rooms are good, although I believe that Room #1 is best one, if you can even book i...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fantastic!!! Look forward to returning next year. Will not even consider another place. Although no restaurant, there are plenty of eateries close by. Hospitality of the entire staff was flawless and morning breakfast delivered to the room and enjoying it on the balcony was a treat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgan17_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.0 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
170 reviews
6.4 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Inn

Address: 14 Bayview Lndg, Camden, ME 04843-2249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#2 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range: £182 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Camden Harbor from the luxurious comfort of your waterfront suite at the Grand Harbor Inn, Camden’s newest and only luxury, waterfront boutique Inn. Recently awarded the coveted and prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating, the Grand Harbor Inn’s enviable waterfront location, overlooking the marina of yachts and local fishing boats, provides the perfect haven for that needed escape or romantic getaway. Located at Bay View Landing, the Grand Harbor Inn is surrounded by a vibrant mix of unique shops, fine dining, and exciting schooner and kayak tours.The Grand Harbor Inn features several waterfront rooms and suites, offering guests unparalleled views of Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay. Each guest room and suite is exquisitely well appointed with private balconies, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and separate marble and glass enclosed rain showers, high definition 37” LCD TV’s, high speed wireless internet, luxurious bed and bath linens, and so much more!The interior style of the Grand Harbor Inn is inspired by Tuscan Villas, evoking a rustic, old-world, warm and elegant feel combined with all the contemporary comforts and amenities that today's guests expect. The exterior is Coastal Cottage, shingle-style architecture, blending perfectly with the historic waterfront buildings on Camden Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Grand Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Hotel Camden
Grand Harbor Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing