We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”
Review of Grand Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Harbor Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We took a few day mini vaca to Camden where we have never been. The Grand Harbor Inn is one of the best places we have ever stayed in; period! The staff is a delight and could not have been more helpful. The suites are well designed without overdoing it. The bathroom was exceptional. From the glorious towels and robes to the Jacuzzi and walk in shower, no touch was not considered..even a heated floor!
The complimentary "continental" breakfast is served in your room as part of the service. It came with carafes of juice and coffee, a huge piece of quiche for each of us, delicious granola in yogurt with fresh fruit, and a pastry that was just fabulous. Enough for us to make it to dinner without lunch. In the room, there is also a Keurig coffee maker with K cups for free and a couple of biscotti..a nice touch.

The staff is amazing. Nicole and Jennifer were the two staff we met. It is a small Inn, so the desk staff multitasks. Nicole checked us in and helped with the luggage and gave us a tour of the room and as a Camden native, was full of helpful info. Jennifer was there in the evening and offered advice on the free DVD library at our disposal, good restaurant tips, and she does the turn down service. When we returned to our room, the curtains were shut, two pieces of chocolate on the very comfortable bed, and wind chimes coming from the Bose alarm clock made it a very relaxing atmosphere.

I am partially disabled and use a walker or trekking poles, no access issues at all. Lots of space to maneuver the walker in the room and the walk in shower had one grab bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kMH714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    25
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
254
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We just returned from a stay at the Grand Harbor Inn. We stayed in Room 2, which had a balcony overlooking the harbor. The room was beautiful, clean, and very well appointed. You cannot beat the view from your balcony, which we managed to used in spite of the cold weather, even enjoying breakfast out there the last morning. Breakfast was very good, and delivered to our room promptly each morning. The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk from everything in Camden. Our only small complaint was that our room wasn't made up one day, even though we were gone from about 12:30 or 1:00 until after 5:00 and had placed the "service please" sign on our door. We were able to get clean glasses and towels, however, on our return and that would not prevent me from staying again at the Grand Harbor when we return to Camden.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
285 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was very happy with the Grand Harbor Inn. The location is centrally located in town making it an easy walk to anywhere. It is also located right on the water and that made it very pleasant.

The staff was wonderful. They got me checked quickly.

My room was spacious and very clean. The bed extremely comfortable.

I give the Inn a very good rating instead of a excellent because of the price. I think it was fully priced for an off season, weekday night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Selva Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

On our recent trip to Maine and Massachusetts, my husband and I stayed in the Grand Harbor Inn for two nights. Our only wish was that we could have been there longer. We were in Room 2, with a beautiful view of the harbor, a fireplace, comfortable and attractive furnishings, and an exceptionally nice bathroom. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Everything about the room was perfect. The staff were also all very helpful and friendly, and the lady who checked us in took us up to the room and explained everything to us. A delicious breakfast was brought to our room each morning at the time we requested. We stayed in several nice hotels on our trip east and the Grand Harbor Inn was one of the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in Room 5. The noise was excessive from the kitchen in the restaurant below us. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything from the guest next door using their microwave to make popcorn. The heating unit is extremely loud. Thank goodness we came off season an got a fair rate. I would have complained if we paid top dollar for this room. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Corrch,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Grand Harbor Inn and thank you for your review contribution! We are saddened to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible experience for all of our guests.

I sincerely apologize for the noise you experienced from the restaurant on our first floor as the construction crews worked earlier and later than anticipated during the relocation of the restaurant below. Please know that noise from the restaurant below was a unique circumstance and is not a common occurrence.

One of the perks to our waterfront location is being within walking distance to several of Camden’s best restaurants. We feel our location is ideal for guests to enjoy all Camden has to offer simply by parking in our on-site complimentary parking lot, and walking to many fantastic shops and restaurants nearby.

Your mention of our heating and air conditioning system is something we have already looked into and confirmed that it is running at maximum efficiency. We have made adjustments to the fan speed as this may have been the source of the increased noise level. These units are guest controlled and are critically important guest room amenities lending to the overall guest comfort and experience.

Again, we apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations; we greatly appreciate all guests’ feedback as we look to create the best possible experience. We do certainly hope to change your mind and once again be of service during your next time in Camden.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This place is all about the little things that add up to one amazing stay. When we checked in the manager took us up to our room and showed us how to use every thing and asked what we were up to while we were here. We told him we wanted to eat and hike and just check out the area as we were considering moving in a few years and this was a place we wanted to see. Eric then proceeded to tell us all about the restaurants and hiking places he liked and had a ton of other suggestions. He also talked about the schools in the area and then drew us a map of all the places he thought we'd like to see. I was very impressed.

The room itself is immaculate. The bathroom was incredible with the awesome shower with extra nozzles and the hot tub. We booked a waterfront room and the view was fantastic. Nothing beats having you balcony door open and its a little chilly so you turn on your gas fireplace and just snuggle up in bed while sail boats come and go!

So the little touches. Breakfast delivered to your room at whatever time you want in the morning and it was honestly the best meal we had every day. The toiletries are excellent and a good size. The towels are much larger than what you see at any other hotel and there are plenty of them. One of the nice things is that because the hotel is small, they see you when you leave and I feel like they go right up to your room and clean and restock it as soon as you walk out the door. There is a Kruger coffee brewer in the room with plenty of k-cups and teas and hot chocolate along with biscotti, all included in the cost of your room. The lights in the closets where your refrigerator is located turn on when you open the door so there is no fumbling for a light switch in the middle of the night. They have movies on demand (free) and a dvd collection downstairs that we used when we stayed in one night. There's just so many things this place does right.

Oh, and the location? You are on the water and can walk to pretty much anywhere in less than 5 minutes. The off season rate is reasonable and after talking to the locals seems like a better time to go because I heard Camden is very crowded in the summer. Great stay! Will definitely be back to the Grand Harbor Inn!!!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrales
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I are frequent luxury travelers and fussy about hotel rooms. The Grand harbor exceeded our expectations in every way. Great staff, luxurious linens, well laid out room and bath, Wi-Fi, wonderful TV options, terrific location and all at a very reasonable price. We were so happy there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.0 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
150 reviews
6.4 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Inn

Property: Grand Harbor Inn
Address: 14 Bayview Lndg, Camden, ME 04843-2249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#2 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Camden Harbor from the luxurious comfort of your waterfront suite at the Grand Harbor Inn, Camden’s newest and only luxury, waterfront boutique Inn. Recently awarded the coveted and prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating, the Grand Harbor Inn’s enviable waterfront location, overlooking the marina of yachts and local fishing boats, provides the perfect haven for that needed escape or romantic getaway. Located at Bay View Landing, the Grand Harbor Inn is surrounded by a vibrant mix of unique shops, fine dining, and exciting schooner and kayak tours.The Grand Harbor Inn features several waterfront rooms and suites, offering guests unparalleled views of Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay. Each guest room and suite is exquisitely well appointed with private balconies, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and separate marble and glass enclosed rain showers, high definition 37” LCD TV’s, high speed wireless internet, luxurious bed and bath linens, and so much more!The interior style of the Grand Harbor Inn is inspired by Tuscan Villas, evoking a rustic, old-world, warm and elegant feel combined with all the contemporary comforts and amenities that today's guests expect. The exterior is Coastal Cottage, shingle-style architecture, blending perfectly with the historic waterfront buildings on Camden Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Grand Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Hotel Camden
Grand Harbor Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing