We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Grand Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I believe we were in room no. 5, a waterfront deluxe suite. We stayed right as the season opened, therefore the area and inn were not crowded. I cannot say how the noise level would be during peak season, but we experienced no noise problem. The accommodations were well appointed and the service was commendable. The included in room breakfast was similar each day, but the offerings varied and were fresh and yummy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Tammy R,

We greatly value your time in reviewing Grand Harbor Inn regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our décor and breakfast! I am pleased to learn you received commendable service during your time with us as we take great pride in our location and presenting a warm and welcome service to everyone. Room number 5 is a beautiful room and is highly requested, so glad you were able to experience this Waterfront Suite!

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Midcoast, Maine!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

What an unbelievable find! One of the best run hotels I've ever stayed at!
Arriving at the hotel we were greeted by Jennifer who showed us to our room that exceeded some of the best 5* hotels in the world! Every conceivable extra was in the room and with a harbour view and a balcony it felt like heaven. The bathroom was incredibly appointed with a Jacuzzi in the bath a superb power shower and just so plush!
We needed accommodation for the following night on our road trip so asked Jennifer if she could recommend somewhere - she took the time to print off about 5 hotels in the area we wanted to be together with map details! Breakfast is served in your room (actually we had it on the balcony) and is a set cold meal that was absolutely lovely. This is not a child friendly hotel - there's nothing for them to do. But if you want a romantic get-away from it all, this is your haven! We could have happily stayed there longer but our itinerary wouldn't allow it. This hotel is by no means ordinary - it is incredibly run and beautifully maintained. If we didn't live so far away we'd come back often!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jankles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Jankles,

We’re so appreciative of the time you’ve taken to provide a stellar review of Grand Harbor Inn! As we work very hard to surpass guest’s expectation with service and amenities it’s refreshing to read your review and we greatly thank you. I’m so pleased read your highlight of Jennifer during your stay to include the assistance she was able to provide in future lodging recommendations. There is simply nothing in comparison to starting a morning with breakfast on a Grand Harbor Inn balcony! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our amenities to be exceeding that of some 5 star hotels in the world.

We would be happy to host your next stay in Camden and welcome your return!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have always stayed at the Lord Camden Inn, 4th floor, facing the harbor but, because it was booked, we decided to try its sister property, the Grand Harbor Inn. We loved it!

I told one of the staff members, Nicole, that every time I thought of something that would be nice to have, I realized that it was already there. I didn't even notice the biscotti in the cupboard with the coffee maker (and microwave and refrigerator) until the 2nd day! The sparkling wine on arrival tells you how great the whole experience will be.

Our room was beautifully equipped with a very comfortable bed and a divine bathroom with two sinks, large shower with multiple shower heads, and a soaker tub. There were two comfy club chairs and an ottoman - great for sitting in front of the fireplace or watching TV. There was a huge number of TV stations available!

Camden is all about the walking and the location of the Inn is perfect for getting around and watching what's happening in the harbor.

We travel with our dog and she was treated royally too! There was a bed for her, cookies, and full size dog bowls.

The breakfast that Nicole brought to us every morning was delicious and beautifully presented.

There is a quiet elegance about the Inn. That, plus great staff, a great location, and a lovely room.

We can hardly wait to go back! Thank you, Grand Harbor Inn!

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful - some have more of a view of the harbor than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear M.C.,

We would first like to thank you for your patronage to our sister property Lord Camden Inn! Secondly, thank you for your review of Grand Harbor Inn. We’re so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you for highlighting the staff members, especially Nicole our Assistant Manager, we our team strives to provide unparalleled service. I am happy to learn your four-legged companion was able to join you as well as we love to welcome furry travelers too and strive for wagging tails!

We’re happy that you were able to experience our Grand Harbor Inn product and look forward to welcoming you back to either one of our properties soon!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had room #1
The view was incredible
the service was excellent
This is a very quiet place where the time move at a very slow pace
The marina is full of nice old wooden boat
we will certainly go back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear bosergio,

Thank you for staying with us this past May and for taking the time to review Grand Harbor Inn on TripAdvisor. Room 1 is a beautiful room and we’re excited to learn of your enjoyment with the view and our staff service! We are very appreciative of our location and are proud to share this special place with traveling visitors to our area.

Please let us know if we may be of service in the future as we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

All the positive reviews of this splendid location and property are right on and my girlfriend and I will definitely be returning. Now briefly on to a few considerations/issues we had with our stay. You need to order breakfast and leave it on your door the night before and then it will be served to your room the following morning. We were given a friendly and detailed orientation of our room but were not informed about the breakfast procedure. Upon calling the following morning to inquire about breakfast we were too bad you made a mistake you missed it, you should have seen and filled out the card left on your bed... The tone of the clerk was very curt and unaccommodating . Upon pressing she said perhaps we could get some "leftovers, maybe a muffin and some coffee!" Whew! tough way to wake up and not what you might expect at this price. The clerk did eventually show up with a full breakfast claiming someone had cancelled theirs so according to her we were in luck!

Another consideration if your booking a room and paying a premium then get a room with water or mountain/water view. There are some with parking lot view and a glimpse of water and you pay the same amount. And finally just a little detail that was slightly bothersome - we were unable to turn off the patio lights which spilled light into the room as we went to bed. We called the clerk and she was also unable to find any switch to turn them off.

All in all a great stay, we did get breakfast, we were able to switch to a room without a parking lot view and we fell asleep despite the patio lights :).

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Greg B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we sincerely appreciate all feedback. We pride ourselves on our location as we are Camden’s only waterfront property. I am certainly glad we were able to get you into a room with a view you were satisfied with. As for breakfast I apologize that the experience was not flawless. We do our best to create indelible memories and any shortcomings are unacceptable.

We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again on your return visit to the Mid-coast area!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I don't know where to begin with this!!! I brought a friend visiting from England to the Grand Harbor. We had stayed at the sister inn The Lord Camden Inn (which we love!) and decided to try The Grand Harbor......First Nicole who greeted us was wonderful! We were greeted with water, and a nice sparkling wine. My dogs were greeted with cookies and water too! We stayed in a king room overlooking the harbor. It was outstanding! The view is amazing and the balcony is nicely furnished with a table and two chairs that were very clean and ready to be enjoyed. The room inside is gorgeous, well decorated and very comfortable. The bed is sooooo comfy you never want to get out of it. The TV is great, microwave, fridge and coffee maker in the room are all fab. The bathroom...The bathroom!!!!! The shower with it's millions of little water outlets and the huge tub are OUTSTANDING! Breakfast delivered to the room in the morning is wonderful. The granola and yogurt is so yummy! Turn down service in the evening....with Chocolate! I can't say enough about the Grand Harbor Inn. I am a repeat guest at their sister inn, The Lord Camden and am so glad we tried the Grand Harbor Inn. You just can't get better accomodations or service anywhere. I can't wait to go back at Christmas! Thanks to the entire staff at this Inn! See you soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glassgirlvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We took a few day mini vaca to Camden where we have never been. The Grand Harbor Inn is one of the best places we have ever stayed in; period! The staff is a delight and could not have been more helpful. The suites are well designed without overdoing it. The bathroom was exceptional. From the glorious towels and robes to the Jacuzzi and walk in shower, no touch was not considered..even a heated floor!
The complimentary "continental" breakfast is served in your room as part of the service. It came with carafes of juice and coffee, a huge piece of quiche for each of us, delicious granola in yogurt with fresh fruit, and a pastry that was just fabulous. Enough for us to make it to dinner without lunch. In the room, there is also a Keurig coffee maker with K cups for free and a couple of biscotti..a nice touch.

The staff is amazing. Nicole and Jennifer were the two staff we met. It is a small Inn, so the desk staff multitasks. Nicole checked us in and helped with the luggage and gave us a tour of the room and as a Camden native, was full of helpful info. Jennifer was there in the evening and offered advice on the free DVD library at our disposal, good restaurant tips, and she does the turn down service. When we returned to our room, the curtains were shut, two pieces of chocolate on the very comfortable bed, and wind chimes coming from the Bose alarm clock made it a very relaxing atmosphere.

I am partially disabled and use a walker or trekking poles, no access issues at all. Lots of space to maneuver the walker in the room and the walk in shower had one grab bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kMH714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
179 reviews
6.4 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Inn

Address: 14 Bayview Lndg, Camden, ME 04843-2249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#2 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range: £141 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Camden Harbor from the luxurious comfort of your waterfront suite at the Grand Harbor Inn, Camden’s newest and only luxury, waterfront boutique Inn. Recently awarded the coveted and prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating, the Grand Harbor Inn’s enviable waterfront location, overlooking the marina of yachts and local fishing boats, provides the perfect haven for that needed escape or romantic getaway. Located at Bay View Landing, the Grand Harbor Inn is surrounded by a vibrant mix of unique shops, fine dining, and exciting schooner and kayak tours.The Grand Harbor Inn features several waterfront rooms and suites, offering guests unparalleled views of Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay. Each guest room and suite is exquisitely well appointed with private balconies, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and separate marble and glass enclosed rain showers, high definition 37” LCD TV’s, high speed wireless internet, luxurious bed and bath linens, and so much more!The interior style of the Grand Harbor Inn is inspired by Tuscan Villas, evoking a rustic, old-world, warm and elegant feel combined with all the contemporary comforts and amenities that today's guests expect. The exterior is Coastal Cottage, shingle-style architecture, blending perfectly with the historic waterfront buildings on Camden Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Hotel Camden
Grand Harbor Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing