We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than we imagined”
Review of Grand Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Camber Harbor Inn two weeks ago and were blown away by the renovated space and mostly the service. Everyone we came in contact with was wonderful to deal with. Extremely helpful and all had smiles on their faces. we have know the Inn since it was the White House. It is elegant but not stuffy. The room was spacious and well appointed and the location is wonderful. It is pricey but, it is the place to stay in Camden.

Room Tip: Third floor junior suite with harbor view was great. It was know as the Siam Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robweb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I are in our 50's and stayed for a gorgeous weekend.

The hotel was excellent in every regard from the room, to staffing, housekeeping, amenities and overall coziness. Strongest recommendation. It has a very boutique feel to it.

The town of Camden on the other hand is deadsville. Was there over a beautiful weekend and would expect to find an occasional acoustical guitar playing on a waterfront deck/bar. Nope. In a bar/restaurant. Nope. In the park overlooking the harbor. Nope. Most of the restaurants actually close at 2pm, some re-opening for dinner, but closed again at 9. We wandered out of the hotel at 9:45 hoping to get an after dinner drink at Peter Otts which is attached to the hotel with a nice waterfront deck only to find a locked door. 9:45 on a Saturday night! Amazing. We were told it used to be much more lively and crowded, but the townsman decided they wanted to curtail noise. Well in about another five years they'll have a lot of boarded up empty buildings leading to their goal of deadsville, right alongside them. We'll go elsewhere next time even as we loved the hotel. Newport, where are you?

Room Tip: Any room is fine, but ask for "best waterview".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank family_travel_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear family_travel-04,

We graciously thank you for taking the time to review Grand Harbor Inn. Your kind words towards our Inn are very appreciated and warming. I do apologize on behalf of the town feel as you described in the lower part of your review; being unable to obtain your evening night cap or friendly musician as that is exactly what should have been available to you during your stay without question.

Thank you again for your kind words regarding our staff, amenities, and coziness. We strive to provide a world class experience and are thrilled to learn we met and exceeded your expectations to receive such a strong review. We look forward to serving you again whenever you may return.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A beautiful Inn, right on the water. Stunning views of the harbor. Finding parking was a tad tricky, however the Inn offers reserved spots (thank goodness). Staff were all friendly and polite. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was immaculate. Bathroom was a vacation in itself! Wonderful spa shower with extra jets and waterfall shower head. I didn't get a chance to try it, but there was also a jacuzzi tub, too.
Room service breakfast is included with the cost of the stay, it was delicious (and served on time)!
Highly recommended, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterisfun2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear winterisfun2003 ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of Grand Harbor Inn! We are so happy to learn of your great experience during your stay with us and that our Reserved Parking was worth highlighting! Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast service as well as we strive to provide a fresh start to the day in both timeliness and offering. Lastly, we take great pride in providing World Class Customer Service and I am pleased to learn of your positive experience.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I believe we were in room no. 5, a waterfront deluxe suite. We stayed right as the season opened, therefore the area and inn were not crowded. I cannot say how the noise level would be during peak season, but we experienced no noise problem. The accommodations were well appointed and the service was commendable. The included in room breakfast was similar each day, but the offerings varied and were fresh and yummy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Tammy R,

We greatly value your time in reviewing Grand Harbor Inn regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our décor and breakfast! I am pleased to learn you received commendable service during your time with us as we take great pride in our location and presenting a warm and welcome service to everyone. Room number 5 is a beautiful room and is highly requested, so glad you were able to experience this Waterfront Suite!

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Midcoast, Maine!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What an unbelievable find! One of the best run hotels I've ever stayed at!
Arriving at the hotel we were greeted by Jennifer who showed us to our room that exceeded some of the best 5* hotels in the world! Every conceivable extra was in the room and with a harbour view and a balcony it felt like heaven. The bathroom was incredibly appointed with a Jacuzzi in the bath a superb power shower and just so plush!
We needed accommodation for the following night on our road trip so asked Jennifer if she could recommend somewhere - she took the time to print off about 5 hotels in the area we wanted to be together with map details! Breakfast is served in your room (actually we had it on the balcony) and is a set cold meal that was absolutely lovely. This is not a child friendly hotel - there's nothing for them to do. But if you want a romantic get-away from it all, this is your haven! We could have happily stayed there longer but our itinerary wouldn't allow it. This hotel is by no means ordinary - it is incredibly run and beautifully maintained. If we didn't live so far away we'd come back often!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jankles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Jankles,

We’re so appreciative of the time you’ve taken to provide a stellar review of Grand Harbor Inn! As we work very hard to surpass guest’s expectation with service and amenities it’s refreshing to read your review and we greatly thank you. I’m so pleased read your highlight of Jennifer during your stay to include the assistance she was able to provide in future lodging recommendations. There is simply nothing in comparison to starting a morning with breakfast on a Grand Harbor Inn balcony! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our amenities to be exceeding that of some 5 star hotels in the world.

We would be happy to host your next stay in Camden and welcome your return!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have always stayed at the Lord Camden Inn, 4th floor, facing the harbor but, because it was booked, we decided to try its sister property, the Grand Harbor Inn. We loved it!

I told one of the staff members, Nicole, that every time I thought of something that would be nice to have, I realized that it was already there. I didn't even notice the biscotti in the cupboard with the coffee maker (and microwave and refrigerator) until the 2nd day! The sparkling wine on arrival tells you how great the whole experience will be.

Our room was beautifully equipped with a very comfortable bed and a divine bathroom with two sinks, large shower with multiple shower heads, and a soaker tub. There were two comfy club chairs and an ottoman - great for sitting in front of the fireplace or watching TV. There was a huge number of TV stations available!

Camden is all about the walking and the location of the Inn is perfect for getting around and watching what's happening in the harbor.

We travel with our dog and she was treated royally too! There was a bed for her, cookies, and full size dog bowls.

The breakfast that Nicole brought to us every morning was delicious and beautifully presented.

There is a quiet elegance about the Inn. That, plus great staff, a great location, and a lovely room.

We can hardly wait to go back! Thank you, Grand Harbor Inn!

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful - some have more of a view of the harbor than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear M.C.,

We would first like to thank you for your patronage to our sister property Lord Camden Inn! Secondly, thank you for your review of Grand Harbor Inn. We’re so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you for highlighting the staff members, especially Nicole our Assistant Manager, we our team strives to provide unparalleled service. I am happy to learn your four-legged companion was able to join you as well as we love to welcome furry travelers too and strive for wagging tails!

We’re happy that you were able to experience our Grand Harbor Inn product and look forward to welcoming you back to either one of our properties soon!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had room #1
The view was incredible
the service was excellent
This is a very quiet place where the time move at a very slow pace
The marina is full of nice old wooden boat
we will certainly go back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear bosergio,

Thank you for staying with us this past May and for taking the time to review Grand Harbor Inn on TripAdvisor. Room 1 is a beautiful room and we’re excited to learn of your enjoyment with the view and our staff service! We are very appreciative of our location and are proud to share this special place with traveling visitors to our area.

Please let us know if we may be of service in the future as we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.0 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
179 reviews
6.4 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Inn

Address: 14 Bayview Lndg, Camden, ME 04843-2249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#2 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range: £170 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Camden Harbor from the luxurious comfort of your waterfront suite at the Grand Harbor Inn, Camden’s newest and only luxury, waterfront boutique Inn. Recently awarded the coveted and prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating, the Grand Harbor Inn’s enviable waterfront location, overlooking the marina of yachts and local fishing boats, provides the perfect haven for that needed escape or romantic getaway. Located at Bay View Landing, the Grand Harbor Inn is surrounded by a vibrant mix of unique shops, fine dining, and exciting schooner and kayak tours.The Grand Harbor Inn features several waterfront rooms and suites, offering guests unparalleled views of Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay. Each guest room and suite is exquisitely well appointed with private balconies, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and separate marble and glass enclosed rain showers, high definition 37” LCD TV’s, high speed wireless internet, luxurious bed and bath linens, and so much more!The interior style of the Grand Harbor Inn is inspired by Tuscan Villas, evoking a rustic, old-world, warm and elegant feel combined with all the contemporary comforts and amenities that today's guests expect. The exterior is Coastal Cottage, shingle-style architecture, blending perfectly with the historic waterfront buildings on Camden Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Hotel Camden
Grand Harbor Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing