We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fresh & Co.

Fresh & Co.
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A relative newcomer to Camden's waterfront dining scene, Fresh serves innovative interpretations of classic coastal New England dishes inspired by the rich culinary traditions of the Mediterranean region. Self-described as one part neighborhood cafe, one part elegant bistro & bar, Fresh is designed around an open kitchen, where Head Chef Steve Steeves, and his Sous Chef Kyle Ruger, can be seen busily toiling over open flames preparing mouth watering and deeply satisfying dishes.Fresh works with local farmers, growers and purveyors to source products with integrity, flavor and soul, and incorporate seasonal offerings into their menus nightly. The result is food that is honest, straightforward and pays homage to the bounty of the local region of Maine we are so privileged to call home. Using ingredients in their peak and preparing them minimally and with respect allows Fresh to capture the essence of the season and bring it straight to your table.The Fresh experience is about more that just the food. A sincere effort to educate our staff on all aspects of food and wine culture is the basis for our service philosophy. The welcoming staff at Fresh goes to great lengths to make diners feel at ease, comfortable and well taken care of. Warm hues, soft lighting and an unexpected quirkiness encourage guests to settle in, get comfortable, and have a great time.
Maine
2 reviews
“Tasty Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

A girlfriend and I enjoyed a lunch date at Fresh, located in the heart of downtown Camden. We sat outside in one of the four or five available booths. There isn't a view per say as it is somewhat street side. It was sunny though and pleasant though - a fun spot to people watch! We ordered two sandwiches and shared them. The burger had caramelized onions, melted fontina cheese and super well seasoned beef on homemade brioche. Yum. The gyro was on homemade Greek pita bread with chicken (again perfectly seasoned), veggies and Tzatziki sauce. Really tasty. In addition to the sandwiches we had their fries. They are cooked in duck fat and served with your choice of different dipping sauces. The fries were crispy and delicious. The sauces, we chose sriracha mayo and truffle ketchup were an added bonus. Service was casual, efficient and friendly. I can't speak for dinner (or for dining inside) but lunch I would definitely recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mymia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    202
    71
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Staffing off the mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived here with a confirmed reservation later in the evening and got caught in a " the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing " situation.
We were seated promptly and then proceeded to wait and wait and then wait some more - all this was happening while the restaurant was not busy. Finally, we called over one of the staff and explained that no one had come to wait on us . It turned out that we had fallen into a black hole and did not have an assigned wait person ! Not a great way to start things out to be sure. Thankfully, Evelyn came to our rescue, became our server and went on provide very gracious and professional service. (The hostess did ultimately comp our first drinks and apologized which was a nice gesture ...)
With all this being said we found the food to be good just not outstanding as we had expected from previous reviews. We tried the Calamari, the Pork , and the Halibut --all very credible and fresh but just no "Wow" factor there.
I'd give it a 3.5 out of 5.0 and again thank you that Evelyn for saving the evening for us !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoEndBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Eclectic and Noisy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The food was amazing! We were told to have the Japanese Caesar salad and it would not disappoint and they were right, it is large enough to share. We also had the blue fin tuna and the pan seared salmon, all delicious. The only issue is the kitchen is wide open and it gets pretty noisy inside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RyMagsKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SUBLIME, enough said!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

If you are trying to choose a place to eat in Camden, eat at Fresh. You will be disappointed if you don't. We ate there twice during our 3 day stay. I truly wish we had eaten there all 3 nights! Haddock stuffed with crab meat was the special we had on night #1. Perfect. Mussel appetizer was exactly like it should be . . . Great broth, tender mussels with no grit, nice size portion. Night #2, we were "seafooded out" so we ordered the grass fed burger. OMG, it was sooo good. It was on a brioche bun with fries worth eating. I never eat ice berg lettuce but the salad with bacon, green goddess dressing and tomatoes changed my thinking. Fresh also has an extensive wine list with really good wine in the $20-$30 range and many good wines by the glass. I just wish there was a restaurant near us with a chef and staff like this! Great job!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeaninne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I am a self professed foodie. This place is great. I am impressed by the non-stop action in the visible kitchen. We six had a variety of dishes we shared at least a taste of each. My pork with Andalusian sauce was perfect. My husband had the hake and potatoes, a few had steak and there was one order of a lobster dish. We also shared a few desserts. The coconut sorbet was wonderful, served in a small coconut shell that was innovative, but did not balance well on the plate for eating. The Myersp Lemon Almond tart was also good, along with the creme brûlée . Even the coffee fit the bill perfectly. This menu is Camden priced-and not much different than other upper scale local places. This is not a fried food tourist stop- but rather a dinner sensation. Our party were from NYC, Fla., and Va along with ourselves who are locals. Nobody was disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fresh & Co. also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Fresh & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing