We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood in Maine”

Mount Battie Take Out
Ranked #10 of 48 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Maine”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the campground nearby and stopped in for ice. There was a small line waiting for food. The people on line told us that this was a fabulous place to eat. Next night we came back and had a lobster roll. It was full of whole pieces of lobster, just great! The clam chowder was clammy. buttery and delicious. The grilled haddock dinner was delicious, large piece of fresh fish cooked just so. The owner is friendly and the prices are reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wintergreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    34
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ate the lobster rolls twice a day!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were staying at Beloin's cottages and walked up the hill to eat here several times. The lobster rolls were the best we had in Maine. The Haddock sandwich was also great. The ice cream selection is also excellent. Stop by if you are going hiking at the state park nearby.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoensIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Maine
1 review
“Haddock Sandwich of My Dreams”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Perfectly fresh, melt-in-your-mouth delicious haddock sandwich---not too much tartar sauce, crisp yet light breading on the fish, and crunchy lettuce/tomato. This is fresh and local fish at its best, and in addition, the hamburgers are made with local, organic beef from Caldwell Farms! The fries were great and the owners are so nice. They make a great milkshake (and my husband is super fussy about his milkshakes) and the fries are good too. Plan a stop at Mt. Battie Take Out on your next visit to the Midcoast!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, just not lots of it”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed across the street at the state park. This place was good for a quick bite or to get ice cream. Kids loved the ice cream. The food was good, but there wasn't a lot of it.

I had the basket of chicken strips and fries and planned to share with the kids on one evening when we got back later than planned. There weren'y many strips (but plenty of fries) so it was more challenging to share the chicken.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dunkledore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll & chowder and ice cream!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Read the great reviews and we had to try it. I wished we had sooner. We made it a point to have lobster every day at least once during our stay and we sampled many different rolls. This place was simply the best we had. After moving on to the Bar Harbor area we had one, and both my wife and I said it was good, but not as good as this place. A different visit we had the ice cream after hiking in the park. Awesome! A must do.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmccamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Battie Take Out also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Mount Battie Take Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing