We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food (and an Alternative to Fried Seafood)!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterranean Cafe - CLOSED

Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
210 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Great Food (and an Alternative to Fried Seafood)!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I arrived at the Cafe Mediterranean close to closing time, but we were welcomed and received hospitably. The two of us were feeling a bit sick (literally) of fried fish, the big staple of Maine vacationers. The cafe is attractively decorated, simple, but inviting, with indoor and outdoor seating. Our waitress was attentive and friendly. We were able to order a vegetarian feast, with Greek and Arab dishes, and a big salad that we shared. The food was well-prepared and tasty, with an attractive presentation. Great value and reasonably priced. This restaurant, I imagine, is a bit "under rated", given that it is without pretension and seems to put its effort into the fresh, simply prepared dishes: some meat dishes, seafood, and vegetarian. Lots of good appetizers and salads, some good desserts. It's a great place and, I believe, is open year round. We had a great meal here and recommend Cafe Mediterranean highly, especially for Maine travelers who are feeling a bit "fished out" from too many fried fish/clam/seafood platter meals and snack!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MontpelierGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Everything was fresh and wonderful! Our waitress was lovely. I couldn't believe it wasn't more crowded!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ktliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Picturesque patio, cold beer, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

What a nice surprise the Mediterranean Cafe was today. The food was satisfying, and we really enjoyed soaking up the sun while drinking Gearys on the pretty little patio. We will definitely go back to try more of their menu.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, ME
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cute and Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Cute, intimate cafe with great Mediterranean food. The owner was on that mid-week lunch time and we had a lovely chat with him. He and his wife own Blue Sky Cantina and Bigfish. The food is definitely different- mostly Greek. VERY good and fun.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton Center
2 reviews
“Scrumptious alternative to the seafood places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We love a good seafood restaurant, but it seems like it's either "Americana" cuisine or seafood restaurants in Camden. This little place has it all: great Mediterranean food, awesome service, and a cozy ambience. It is well located on the main strip, in easy walking distance from most of inns. Our waitress was very attentive but didn't hover. Between the shared appetizer and our respective entree meals, we were completely full despite skipping lunch. The greens were very fresh (brown/wilted greens are a huge dining pet peeve); the pita and falafel perfect. Inexpensive, healthy, filling... we will definitely go back. Literally, we just got back to our B&B, and felt compelled to write this.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank outdoorgirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mediterranean Cafe also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing