We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Point Pleasant, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My wife and I checked in this past Sunday for a couple days. We stayed in one of their suites (Surinam Suite?) very nice with 3 TVs, fireplace, balcony, huge bathroom with rain shower and seperate sauna. The tub wasn't working properly...well they had it fixed within an hour....the owner was present on the property. Owners are very pleasant and they get that they are in the service industry! The staff, from the front desk to the maid service was amazing and really made us feel welcomed. The hotel was $475 a night a bit pricey but we felt it was worth it. We will be back to celebrate our anniversary next May! They got a repeat customer in us....isn't that what they strive for? A+++

Room Tip: suites are awesome and all rooms have amazing beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    37
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
251
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I spent a late April weekend here with Vogue Knitting Destinations and we had rented out all the rooms. I can't say enough good things about the service, the decor, and the food. The service was impeccable - small treats delivered to the library table, chocolates on the bed at night, slippers, fresh towels several times during the day. The decor is eclectic and even a bit edgy; our room was black, white, and purple with a large print of Audrey Hepburn on the wall. The dining room is white with red suede chairs and red drum lamps. This is not your mother's Victorian Inn! The food was amazing at every meal; even breakfast started off with an amuse bouche. The day after we left, the inn was beginning to update all the bathrooms (but ours was just fine the way it was). I would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: I doubt that there is a bad room at this inn. There are some 2 room suites as well as traditional ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahlee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I have to agree with the many others that this is one of the best places ever. The views over the harbor are breathtaking. Our room was elegant and beautifully designed. I had the best sleep ever. Service is beyond anything I have experienced before. Beats me why they are not number 1 in Maineon Tripadvisor. Probably because there rates are double of most places in town. We did feel it was worth paying more for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Breakfast included Lobster Benedict and a glass of Chamapgne --first class service and amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was our 3rd time in Camden, but the first time in a long, long time that we stayed at a hotel as comfortable and service focused as Camden Harbour Inn. The room was well designed, luxurious and with designer furniture and many small details. You can tell the owners thought of everything a guest may need or want when staying in a room. The breakfast was excellent and champagne was included-a nice touch!. The service is what sets Camden Harbour Inn apart. Everything works clockwise and is anticipated. Always with a big smile and going the extra mile.
Ray, the owner is on top of every little detail and a it was true pleasure listening to his vision when he showed us a couple of rooms. We are huge fans and will come back time after time as this was hospitality in the most refined way possible!

Room Tip: There are different style rooms, make sure you pick the design you like best. Service is great whate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My husband and I just returned from a lovely weekend in Camden, Maine. There were many highlights to our stay at the Camden Harbour Inn however, there were also things that could use some improvement. First the good, we found the staff to be very pleasant and accomodating. The bed was really comfortable with quality linens. The restaurant is great. We had a fabulous dinner at Natalie's. The food, service and wine were outstanding. The Inn has a convenient location and view of the town and harbour. The breakfast and service were also very good. The Inn makes an attempt at luxury and personal service - they leave slippers by your bed, personal notes and chocolates on your pillow. These are very nice gestures. Here is where they fall short: Parts of the Inn really need a makeover. The carpeting in our room and in the common areas was very worn and dated and needs to be replaced. Our bathroom (Ceylon Room) was also very small and in a desperate need of an update. The room only had one comfortable chair, one window did not have a screen and the room smelled heavily of a woodburning fireplace. When my husband went down to the lobby just before 7AM to get a cup of coffee in the morning, there were no lights on in the common area or coffee available and it was not apparent that there was a management representative in the hotel. Some rennovations were taking place during our stay. I think that we should have been advised of this in advance. The hallways were dusty and floor mats were left even after hours. The buliding's plumbing and work crew were also quite loud. Obviously these things are not major crimes however, I feel that when advertising luxury and commanding an expensive price, certain standards must be upheld. The Inn is more of a 3 star accomodation than 5 star. They should either lower their rates to reflect the true level of quality or raise their standards to match their room rate. Hopefully they will acheive this in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIcamden, Owner at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Camden Harbour Inn and your dining experience at our inn's restaurant Natalie's.

Camden Harbour Inn was recommended by Andrew Harper among the 500 finest hotels in the world and to ensure we remain one of the most luxurious small properties in the world, we are currently, in two phases, renovating all our bathrooms. In addition we are replacing carpets and furniture and painting the exterior. We are happy to inform you that most of the work of our first phase has finalized and all Ocean Side Executive rooms and Junior Suites have brand new Spa Bathrooms with soaking tubs, some with separate steam/rain showers, all new bathrooms have flat screen TV's and radiant floors. In addition all our bathrooms have traditionally Molton Brown amenities, illuminated make-up mirrors and over-sized luxurious bath towels by Turkish Towel.

Due to unexpected technical issues some work was done during the Saturday of your stay to enable the contractor to make the deadlines. As this was a last minute decision we were only able to inform you verbally upon check-in by our innkeeper and through a written apology letter in your room.

We truly apologize if the construction has caused you any disturbance, as we have done our utmost to minimize the affect of our renovations. We had hoped by accommodating our guests in rooms on the other side of the building and only allow the contractors to work between 10am and 4pm, when most of our guests are out and about, we would not cause too much interruption during your stay.

As for your guestroom, some of our rooms have wood working fireplaces, very popular in the Winter/Spring and often chosen by guest using the fireplace. We would have happily given you another room if we were informed about your concerns, as we have wonderful accommodations without a wood burning fireplace. Instead of two chairs, Ceylon has a Chaise Lounge overlooking the harbor and a desk chair. If we would have known the seating arrangement was insufficient we would have brought you additional armchairs as we do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I will make sure to check the carpet, since we replaced it recently it should not show any wear and tear.

Please be ensured that management is always onside 24/7. The front desk is manned at 7am. Likely the innkeeper was distributing the complimentary newspapers to the guestrooms, or checking the restaurant for breakfast service starting at 7.30am. Also fresh coffee is brewed first thing in the morning. When for any reason the front desk is unattended a phone is available to contact our innkeepers. I will inform management that lights where off in the lounge. However with a sunrise at 5.40am during your stay, by 7am the innkeepers do switch off some of the lights when we have sufficient natural light. Especially since the lounge is surrounded by large windows with spectacular views over the harbor and bay. We apologize when coffee was unavailable in the lounge, again likely our management was brewing new coffee. For your convenience we also offer a coffee maker in the comfort of every guestroom with premium coffee, Wedgwood Jasper Conran coffee mugs and all condiments.

Again we apologize for any inconvenience and please contact me directly when making arrangements for a future stay at Camden Harbour Inn. I will personally see to it your stay is nothing less than a 5 star experience, as it should be at Camden Harbour Inn.

Warm regards,
Raymond Brunyanszki
Camden Harbour Inn
Owner
raymond@camdenharbourinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACTON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Two couples had a weekend getaway to Camden in April. We stayed at the Camden Harbor Inn and it was wonderful. The staff is very attentive and eager to help with everything. Loved the nightly turn down service with chocolates and messages from the staff. Breakfast was a great treat and the Lobster Eggs Benedict was cooked perfectly.
Our package included a five course dinner that was delicious. The waiter was familiar with all the ingredients and suggested the perfect wine.
Perfect location with a great view of the harbor!

Room Tip: The inn is refurbishing the rooms on the second floor. They will have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, Maine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We had an amazing anniversary celebration at Camden Harbour Inn. Our view of the Camden harbor and the mountains personified Camden's motto "Where the Mountain Meets the Sea". The staff has a keen attention to detail and know how to make you feel at home. Chef Geoffrey's masterful food creations are not only beautiful they are tiny examples of his brilliance with blending different flavors for your palate to experience. Our room was beautifully designed and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. This stay will be one my wife and I will talk about for years to come. We are already looking forward to our next wedding anniversary and our stay at Camden Harbour Inn.

Room Tip: There is no bad room. The suites are magnificent and high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
0.6 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn

Property: Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Address: 83 Bayview St, Camden, ME 04843-2204
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais and Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn is a AAA Four Diamond property, resting on the picturesque coast of Maine. The hotel features panoramic views of the mountains and harbor, creating the perfect setting for your next New England getaway. The recently remodeled boutique hotel features luxurious guest rooms and suites, stunning views, and a restaurant awarded top 100 in America preparing amazing dishes, you'll never want to leave! Just minutes from the harbor landing in the center of town, the Inn is Camden's most luxurious boutique lodging location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Harbour Hotel Camden
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing