We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Luxury Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Camden area is a beautiful, out of the way, location which I discovered on a recent bike trip to Maine. I could not have expected, however, anything as wonderful as the Camden Harbour Inn. Caught in a torrential rainstorm, I arrived at the Inn after riding 3 miles in the blinding rain, drenched to the bone. I was quickly provided with towels and shown to my room. But it wasn't just any room. It was the New Amsterdam Suite which was comprised of 3 separate rooms, wood floors, a gas fireplace, 3 big screen televisions, a steam shower and everything I could possibly want to recover from my traumatic ride. On the table was a directory from Relais and Chateau which I was not surprised to see at an Inn as wonderful as the Camden Harbour. The next evening we had the privilege of experiencing Natalie's the nouveau restaurant located at the Inn. All I can say is that the Camden Harbour Inn was for me an oasis of luxury that saved my trip to Maine.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the New Amsterdam Suite if you can get it
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mrperfectionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Second summer in a row visit Midcoast Maine coming out of NYC. Stayed somehere else good but not great last time. The inn's aesthetic is a mix of contemporary and colonial themed influences. Totally unique look gets you in the mood. Our room on the top floor had a view to Camden harbor on one side and Mt. Battie on the other. Other suites had private decks. Bedding was comfy chic. Great location on a pretty street. Good for walking. Service was top notch - we got assistance getting reservations in high season w dinners, spa you name it. The front desk helped me customize my evening run so I got the right mix of scenery w my exercise (ran past Galloway cattle) and my wife got the massage she wanted. Detail to attention is paid but not overdone. I liked the cute personalized notes. Dinner at Natalie's was an event. I had a 7 course chef's menu but they add in all kinds of tastings so it was more like 10 but because of how it was paced and portioned it never felt like too much. You haven't lived until you make your own ice cream sundae CHI style. Full breakfasts are included - stylish, fresh favorites- I like the red chairs of the indoor club room. In summary, if you are used to paying what it costs for nice things, you will appreciate CHI. I read or heard one or two negative comments here or there and had a different take. I like the steep staircase and unique layout. Staff went out of their way for us. The only complaint I had was spotty wi-fi. If you are not staying overnight, check out the attractive mahogany bar and seating areas.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Johns2012a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Not worth the price of admission!
This is NOT what Relais and Chateau consistently delivers elsewhere, and is riddled with minor aggravations that lead to disappointment. At $500 per night (B&B) it was stunning not to be able to book dinner in the restaurant because it was 'fully booked'...then to see multiple empty tables after returning from dinner elsewhere. The stairs are an accident waiting to happen, and the decor is disjointed and lacks a theme. The beds are comfortable, but we left feeing we'd been taken.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else in Camden...there are lots of alternatives!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Penrhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIcamden, Owner at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Penhros,
We are glad you enjoyed our exclusive bedding and linen but sorry to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations. Especially since we upgraded you to Cape Colony one of our Ocean Side Executive Rooms, recently newly renovated with a state of the art bathroom and dramatic views over the bay. Also we find it unfortunate to read that you felt that you were unable to have dinner with us, because we were sold out that night. Although we were unable to accommodate you at your desired time, we offered you another time option which didn't fit your schedule.

In addition we always ask all our guests when making a reservation for our inn if they like to make a reservation for our very popular restaurant. Also our confirmation email and concierge email, which was send two weeks before your arrival reminded you that a reservation for our restaurant is recommended as we do sell out almost every night.

I surely hope next time you have the opportunity to dine at our wonderful restaurant, awarded top 100 best restaurant in the USA in 2013. Please contact me directly to make sure we find you a nice table.

Sincerely Raymond Brunyanszki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is an amazing manor house that has been transformed into an incredible luxury Inn. The outside of the inn is in keeping with the area, but inside the plush furnishings and modern amenities will awe you. The lowest level contains Natalie's, a fabulous restaurant (try the lemon blueberry pancakes at breakfast and the lobster coconut bisque at supper) and a public area of comfy couches, a fireplace, deep seats, and a large table/library/tea and coffee station. There are some very steep and narrow stairs up to the second floor (try the outside stairs, they are a little easier) for many of the guest rooms, then an additional set of stairs for the top level. Our family group stayed in the Taiwan suite, the Malacca, and the Malabar Coast. The beds were all incredibly comfortable (the larger beds had feather bed tops). The bathroom in the Malacca was bright and cheerful with good water pressure in the shower/tub. The Malabar Coast bathroom had a rain shower. But the Taiwan Suite...it was a spa in the bathroom! There was a large, deep soaking tub plus a rain shower (and more standard shower wand) and a STEAM room option in the shower. Plus a small TV in the bathroom. Heaven. There were also flat screen TV's in every room that were set to a fish tank scene during the afternoons but a fireplace scene by bedtime. Handwritten notes from the staff, gourmet chocolate truffles at bedtime, and complementary souvenir stuffed animals completed this MEMORABLE stay.

Room Tip: You will not go wrong with any room, but the more expensive rooms (junior suites and grand suites) a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lili P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Camden Harbour Inn is set on a hill overlooking Camden Harbour and although now all of the rooms have a Harbor view, many do. Room style vary widely and you do get what you pay for. We stayed in a fabulous recently refurbished ultra modern equipped suite with a bathroom that seemed like a spa (Four person sauna, spa soaking air jet tub, Steam and waterfall shower to name a few lux appointments). The overall atmosphere though is one of a top notch European hotel. Phenomenal restaurant where one can dine on a wide porch overlooking the harbor. (service at the restaurant was wonderful! Thank you Adina!! Beautiful bar (with a somewhat stuffy bartender). Gorgeous appointments from top to bottom. This is a luxury vacation stop worth diverting for. Camden itself is a quiet harbor town that is beautiful to walk down to. There is a public beach nearby (very cold water!). The ride alone from Portland to Camden along Route 1 is worth it!! Quintessential Maine!!

Room Tip: The finest rooms have a balcony on the front of the hotel facing the harbor. Other rooms may have a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ForeFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here with a Backroads bike group and had a wonderful experience. All the couples were delighted with their rooms. The amenities were excellent, comfortable bed, and beyond friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast and dinner at Natalie's on property was exceptional. A short walk to get into the heart of town. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a sweet and small hotel, up the hill from the town. Our room was at the top of the house and was big with the comfiest bed I have ever slept on. The only downside was the wifi was weak and the stairs are very steep and low banisters - not one for those with bad knees. The breakfast was great, with a variety of choice. We had dinner one night and aside from one rather pretentious waiter, the food was excellent. The town has some really good shops and nice restaurants, plus lots of boat trips and hikes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor if you have bad knees
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.8 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
170 reviews
6.2 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn

Address: 83 Bayview St, Camden, ME 04843-2204
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: £191 - £636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais and Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn is a AAA Four Diamond property, resting on the picturesque coast of Maine. The hotel features panoramic views of the mountains and harbor, creating the perfect setting for your next New England getaway. The recently remodeled boutique hotel features luxurious guest rooms and suites, stunning views, and a restaurant awarded top 100 in America preparing amazing dishes, you'll never want to leave! Just minutes from the harbor landing in the center of town, the Inn is Camden's most luxurious boutique lodging location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Harbour Hotel Camden
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing