We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My husband and I had only one night to stay in Camden, and decided to stay at the Camden Harbour Inn. From the moment we pulled into the parking lot, it was a great experience. They have thought of all the little details, from having our luggage taken to our room while we were checking in, to having bottled water waiting for each of us on our nightstands at bedtime.The bed was SOOO comfortable. Loved the location, a short walk downtown. Beautiful views of the harbor from our room. The made to order included breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend this hotel ! Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank dmill0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2010

I recently booked a weekend getaway with the Camden Harbour Inn. Unfortunately, I had a death in my immediate family. I am appalled at the lack of compassion the Camden Harbour Inn staff displayed. We recieved no return of full or partial payment. They were unwilling to allow us a credit or reschedule of the weekend. I spoke only with the Inn's manager but also recieved no response when I sent an e-mail to the owners. Thank God the credit card company was able to work with me for compensation otherwise I would have been out $788.19

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
7  Thank vacationersinME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIcamden, Owner at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2010

As expressed in many phone conversations with you, we are truly sorry about the loss of your family member. As we explained in our conversations this reservation was not made directly at Camden Harbour Inn, but through an online travel agent.

We have spoken with the travel agent and they explained us that when you made the reservation, you were asked if you would like to add travel protection. For a small fee you were able to protect yourself for unforeseen circumstances including the tragic loss of a beloved one. Since the reservation was not made directly with us and you canceled hours before arrival there is little we can do.

I am glad that hear your credit card company reimbursed you. As I suggested in my email there is a possibility that your credit card account includes some kind of insurance protecting you against unforeseen circumstances.

As mentioned in our cancellation policies, when a last minute cancellation occurs we always try to resell the room. However guests remain responsible for the room if we are unable to sell and the deposit will be charged. When making a reservation through a travel agent different policies may apply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Camden Harbour Inn understands what luxury is all about. Greeted at the car by a friendly young man, luggage carried up to the room and a warm and efficient welcome by the innkeepers. Immediately you feel special and that feeling never leaves you. At Camden Harbour Inn they thought of everything. The rooms are out of a magazine with all the amenities you can imagine. The views are the best in Camden, overlooking the bay, harbor and mountains. So no wonder we ended up talking to some local people on the porch. They told us they came especially to the inn's restaurant to admire the sunset. Best beds, best breakfast, best personalized service, best everything ever. It was like a wonderful dream and like most wonderful dreams, you can't really explain it. You should stay at the inn to understand. We LOVED it, thank you Camden Harbour Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We spent a couple of nights here during the Maine Lobster Festival. Excellent hospitality, location, and accommodations. A quick walk to downtown Camden for good food, a little shopping, or hopping on a schooner. The room was perfect. I highly recommend the Curacao room. The balcony has the best view in the entire inn. The breakfast was perfect, and left plenty of room for lobster later in the day. We'll definitely return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeakerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed at the inn in July - and there were a couple things that surprised/disappointed us. We are seasoned travelers and frankly rarely complain about a hotel and basically never ask for a different room . We arent complainers and frankly cant stand people who are. With that as a background - we checked into the half occupied Camden Harbor Inn. We were only in Maine for 4 nights - and consequently only had one medium size suitcase. We are shown to our room - and it had a mini writing desk - a couple of funky mod chairs - a small open set of shelves - but literally no place to put the suitcase. There also wasnt a set of drawers - because i would have unpacked the suitcase and put it under the bed. So we asked the guy at the front desk if we could get a room with a table /chair /anything to put the suitcase on OR a room with a few drawers so that we could unpack the suitcase. He showed us another room - which was not decorated as nicely - but i didnt really care - so i said this is fine we'll switch. He then informs me that the room is in a higher price category. So I was irritated. At 375 a night i expect to be able to get into the sutcase. He went on to say that most rooms have a set of drawers in the closet but ours didnt. OK - get rid of all of the euro crap furntiure - the mini writing desk the chairs and the magazine shelves and put in a suitcase rack or a set of drawers. whatever.

the restaurant is supposed to be good at the hotel. We were goiing to eat there the first night but then decided - since we were annoyed - to eat in town and reconsider. We had a lovely meal in town. The next night we debated and thought we might go ahead and eat at the hotel. Well they were having a special korean or taiwanise chef in ( I love asian food so that doesnt bother me) but the menu was fixed price and too many courses/too much food for what we were in the mood for. I was surprised/annoyed that they didnt tell us this when we checked in? I mean you would think they would want their guests to know what the options were to eat there.

One other interesting tidbit - the hotel was def NOT full - you see everyone at breakfast etc. You can figure these things out. Well - the second night we were headed out to dinner and someone called and inquired about room availability. The person at the front desk said they only had one room left - but proceeded to describe how great the room was etc. I can assure you they had several empty rooms left - they just dont want to negotiate.

All this said - i can see how it is possible to have a nicer experience there - it just didnt thrill us and we would try other spots .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chichichicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My partner and I drove to Rockport Maine for the lobster fest but got in a night early.
The Camden Inn had one night available. We were very happy. We arrived to a suite that blew us away. A personal private note awaited us. This is an Inn in Camden but decorated with such class and taste with a modern feel. We were just WOW'D. We had a private balcony and the breakfast was to die for. If you want the comforts of an Inn but a luxury feel this is it. Would go back a trillion times over.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Camden Harbor Inn provides guests all the comfort of a traditional inn with modern style and panache - and one of the best kitchens in Maine, Natalie's restaurant. The decor is elegantly trendy, the staff is friendly and very helpful and the rooms have every amenity necessary for a luxurious and relaxing vacation. This hotel has set a new standard for future accommodations and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Penobscot Bay area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modernemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.8 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
170 reviews
6.2 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn

Address: 83 Bayview St, Camden, ME 04843-2204
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: £191 - £636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais and Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn is a AAA Four Diamond property, resting on the picturesque coast of Maine. The hotel features panoramic views of the mountains and harbor, creating the perfect setting for your next New England getaway. The recently remodeled boutique hotel features luxurious guest rooms and suites, stunning views, and a restaurant awarded top 100 in America preparing amazing dishes, you'll never want to leave! Just minutes from the harbor landing in the center of town, the Inn is Camden's most luxurious boutique lodging location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Harbour Hotel Camden
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing