We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is almost worth it”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beloin's on the Maine Coast
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Let's be clear - this is essentially a cabin in the woods, by the coast. The view is magnificent, and the sunrise spectacular. The free internet connection was solid. The price was ok. The campbed I slept on (as the third person in the room) was fine.

However there are some significant downsides, especially when the weather is cold.

The heater in our room was extremely noisy (but did work well).
The room wasn't very clean - e.g. the cloth by the sink had a large insect living on it.
There is zero soundproofing - and we had noisy neighbours.
There was no alarm clock.

The worst thing was the bathroom, which absolutely STANK of mould - as in, it made me choke just to be in there. Very poor.

Sorry, but I'm not sure the view is worth it.


Good bits:

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

The accommodations are basic but clean. The owners could not be more helpful. The sunrise view from the bed in our ocean front cottage, PRICELESS! Camden is a beautiful town. This is a great place to stay if you are traveling between Boston and Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CU79TIGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Both cottages & motel rooms at Beloin's, a mile north of the perfect town of Camden, Maine, and right on Route 1, are located on the waterfront. In fact, practically IN the gorgeous north Atlantic Ocean - more precisely, Penobscot Bay. HUGE gorgeous views of the sea and light, with islands, sailboats, lobster boats, sea birds, & paradise. Simply our favorite annual get-away: low-key, comfortable, warm, perfect kicking-back, especially with refrigerator and stove or microwave. A year without Beloin's is a year...well, we always get there one way or another. The best of mid-coast Maine: just 4 hours from Boston area, but feels like another planet, in the best way possible. NOT lap of luxury, but extremely comfortabe; if you're looking for in-room Ritz-On-The-Sea, wrong choice. But if you just love love love being right on the ocean in comfy rooms with astonishing views, at very affordable rates, you will be VERY happy here.

Room Tip: Choice of rooms with full kitchenette, or basic mini-refrig/microwave. Helpful for maximum enjoyment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneOfBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I've been staying with Beloin's on the Maine Coast for over twenty-five years. After all this time, you can still color me a satisfied, enthusiastic customer. I always stay in the shore motel units, each of which have screened-in porches just above the rocky shoreline. The place is absolute heaven in terms of isolation away from the herd that populates the shops and tourist restaurants in town.

On my last stay, I spent four nights in unit 11, a small and spare motel unit with a double bed, a pair of chairs, a desk, refrigerator, and TV...there is a small round table and pair of patio chairs on the screened in porch and a tiny bathroom with toilet, rudimentary sink, and rustic shower.

Maine rustic is the best way to describe this place. If you want 21st century amenities, just keep stepping. This might not be the place for you. But if you love the sound of the sea, the breath of salt air, and the cries of the gulls, you are in for the treat of your life. For a few days, you can forget about the Internet, ringing phones, and a busy life. Sit and enjoy the view. It's a little bit of heaven.

Besides the shore motel units, there are also cottages down by the sea. These are tightly spaced and less private than the shore units, but each has its fans. None of it is fancy or high-toned...Enjoy the back to basic quality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

First and LAST visit to Beloins! We should have known when a 9 times returning guest next door to our cabin introduced himself to us and said, " Great view and rustic place; it is about one step above a tent and P---ping in the woods but you'll love it." Well, the view was spectacular and the weather incredible but our 3 night stay in an antiquated cabin with mold, mildew, spiders and the 3 inch gap under the door was indeed, "rustic." When we asked for some more towels after we had arrived because we had to sop up the water on the bathroom floor BEFORE we could use it, the housekeeper said, "yeah, that unit has either a leaking shower or a toilet!" The floor in the bathroom was absolutely mushy when stepped on so we all steered clear of certain spots. It is a great attempt for a cliff-side retreat but spend your money elsewhere if you hold with some degree of cleanliness and 21st century ammenities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolynPPeru_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is the third time we've stayed in one of the cottages by the water and it can't be beat! Very simply designed, the screened-in porch is the special feature here. With a bucket of shrimp and a crisp white wine, we were in heaven! We just sat and listened to the waves pound the rocks immediately below us. This spot is pure bliss!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MLF1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Back again at Beloins, to relax and renew to the sound of the waves and little else... The cabins are very basic, clean and comfortable. Our german shepherd has always been welcome, and everyone is so friendly... we love it! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We love #19 for 1 BR, #17 for 2 BR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nurdjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
1.4 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
1.4 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
640 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
179 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beloin's on the Maine Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beloin's on the Maine Coast

Address: 254 Belfast Road, U.S. Route 1, Camden, ME 04843
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Beloin`s On The Maine Coast Hotel Camden
Beloin's On The Maine Coast Camden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing