We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beloin's on the Maine Coast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beloin's on the Maine Coast
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a great spot in Camden if you want privacy from the road right at the water's edge. The cabins are well taken care of and the staff is friendly and accommodating. We stayed in #25 Duplex and it didn't smell musty. I liked having a grassy area to sit at the picnic table or relax in the chairs. The motel puts you even closer to the water so there is no grassy area. Motel room #9 would be another favorite as it is the last one in a row, with stairs to the rocks. It was tough to choose as both options are pretty. Many reviewers are repeat customers and we would stay here again. Before sunset we drove across the road to Mt. Battie for a panoramic view of the harbor. We kept the windows open to hear the soothing bell and the waves - ahhh.

Room Tip: #25 Duplex has a nice grassy area or #9 Motel Room is on the edge with the most privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    28
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
42
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Beloin's every summer for the past 10 years. Our favorite part of the trip is just relaxing in or around our cottage, staring out across Penobscot Bay. We also love listening to the sound of waves lapping against the rocky shore. Sunrises across the bay are amazing. We love to watch the working lobster boats pulling their traps. Schooners and modern sailboats grace the water. You can hear and see loons, cormorants, gulls, ospreys, eiders, and the occasional dolphin or seal. There is access to a sandy beach or the rocky coast. I've caught small striped bass from the shore. If you can handle the cool water, the snorkeling is fun. Not to mention easy access to the beautiful town of Camden, which has the most amazing harbor on the Maine coast. Camden Hills State Park is just down the street with driving access to the top of Mt. Battie with a superb view of the harbor and surrounding area. Don't miss this view.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms close to the shore. Having a room with a kitchenette is a bonus if you wan...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PathfinderMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have stayed at Beloin's twice now. The first time was on our honeymoon a few years ago, Most recently we stayed there in July, 2013 with our 3-year old son. :) Both times were just lovely. The staff is very friendly. The area is delightful. Both times the staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy. On our more recent trip we had wanted to go back to the same cabin we had originally used. It was unavailable when w originally booked but then the staff spent the week before calling to let us know it had opened up and they were holding it for us. How nice! The cabins are literally right on the Bay and it's incredibly relaxing to listen to the waves hitting the rocks at night. We would love someday to go up with some friends and family and share te experience.

Room Tip: The standalone cabins are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mysticmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Beloins still has the charm it has had for over 50 years, Old Down East cabins with character. Try to swing the waterfront cabins down on the bay to wake up to see birds and lobster boats (we even say a 3 masted schooner sail by) Don't expect modern amenities just the real thing!! We've stayed there many time before and will continue to do so.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandsandNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The location can't be beat - we were right on the water. The cottages are not fancy, but they are clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The town of Camden is great and very close. Hiking in the state park nearby is also great. The lobster rolls and ice cream at Mt. Battie Take Out right up the hill are a must. Perfect Maine vacation. We plan to return.

Room Tip: You really need to get the cottages on the water. After a day or two you won't want to leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoensIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you are in the Camden area, you absolutely must experience this quiet rare find. I have stayed here several times before and it will continue to be my spot the next time I am traveling through the area. Don't expect any fancy amenities, but this place has character, and is just Maine and nature at its best, small old cottages, built decades ago right near the water with amazing views. They are equipped with a small fridge, electric stove, coffee maker, etc..basically everything you need if you choose to stay in for the evening. The showers are just fine with plenty of water pressure. all in all, very clean as well. My son and I were traveling through this last time (he loved it as well), but its also a great place for a romantic get-away. There is access to a rocky beach as well, just be careful walking down those steps if they are slightly wet. Nothing like waking up to the sound of the ocean pounding on the rocky shore. Quick access to Camden as well. I was impressed with the owner, she remembered when I had booked the cottage that me and my son were traveling through on vacation, and she had reserved the cottage she said had her favorite view. (thank you, I will be back).

Room Tip: If you need a single cottage (2 double beds) with an amazing view, ask fro #19
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My-Honest-0pinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here, and it was so perfect. We arrived early, and were still able to check in. From the woman at the front desk to the housekeepers finishing up our room when we arrived, to the man at the desk when we left, everyone was so congenial. They even put a little anniversary gift in the room for us. So thoughtful. My dad booked the room for us as a gift, and I guess had mentioned my husband was military and they gave us a small discount. Not necessary, but appreciated by an old Huey crewman and his wife. :)

We stayed in #27, and that or 28 would be my recommendation. The rooms are simple, but well kept. They're about the size of a studio apartment in a big city, so small, but the main feature is the floor to ceiling window. We just sat and stared. Such an amazing view. No way does any other hotel/inn/motel in or around Camden have a view like this one. It's the draw, and it's so worth it. Beloin's is private and beautiful, just what a romantic trip should be. My husband's starting a new duty, and this was our last chance for together time. So glad we came to Beloin's for it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritttheDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
1.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
1.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beloin's on the Maine Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beloin's on the Maine Coast

Property: Beloin's on the Maine Coast
Address: 254 Belfast Road, U.S. Route 1, Camden, ME 04843
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Beloin`s On The Maine Coast Hotel Camden
Beloin's On The Maine Coast Camden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing