We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of Lord Camden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lord Camden Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I spent a few evenings at the Lord Camden Inn. While the rooms were nice and clean, the decorations are a little stuffy. Our room was spacious with a bed and a couch, plus a nice balcony. The location is great - in the middle of downtown Camden with restaurants, shops, dand park all within walking distance. The breakfast was decent, on par with most hotel breakfast buffets. Parking was a problem though. If you plan on walking most of the time, then it wouldn't be a problem. Unfortunately, we had to drive outside Camden a bit for business events. You need to go inside to the lobby to grab the parking lot pass every time you want to park your car, which was inconvenient. The beds were great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    170
    50
    7
    1
See reviews for
131
309
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here with three children and three adults for three nights. The hotel is in a perfect location in the middle of Camden Centre. The parking system works very well and is not far from the hotel. Nice generous sized rooms, very clean. The toilets in both rooms got cloaked on three occasions, but issue was resolved quickly by staff. The hotel is not very child friendly, there is no pool or common area where they can hang out for a while. When we were waiting in the lobby for a few minutes, the kids were sitting down and played a game, which got a little loud (and really a little bit). The kids immediately got reprimanded by the staff, even before we as parents could warn them. So perfect for couples looking for a quiet place to stay, a little less if you have young ones.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonNL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear BostonNL1975,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with travelers! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and found our premier downtown location, parking, cleanliness, and attentive staff to be a highlight of your stay. I’m sorry to learn of your toilet challenges but am glad to hear we were quick to respond and resolve. Our boutique Inn does indeed accommodate families for stays however you are correct that we do not have the amenities a child would favor being that we are built mostly of guest rooms. Lord Camden Inn central locations is built utilizing Camden’s surroundings for child exploration including fresh and salt water swimming, hiking, parks and recreations such as sailing, kayaking, and museums. I apologize for your experience with staff within the lobby towards the loud gaming on our lobby computer. It is never standard practice to reprimand anyone as this is a word not built within our vocabulary as we strive for world class customer service. Rest assured I will indeed be investigating this further. Thank you again for your kind words towards our establishment and sharing them here on TripAdvisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Lord Camden Inn for any future stays with us and am always available to assist you in finding child friendly activities to keep the little ones happy as well.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay this past month there.We always get the rooms on the top floor overlooking the harbor. The views are outstanding and it is nice to have a drink on the balcony but you get a wiff from the smokers from time to time. We have only gone to the breakfast buffet a few times and we find it average at best. We go across the street to the Mariner instead for breakfast. This is always are home base in Camden and look forward to going back this fall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DukeDetroit_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear DukeDetroit_Michigan,

Thank you so much for writing a review of Lord Camden Inn! Thank you for your compliments towards our views! I’m sorry to learn of smoke scents on your balcony and do indeed hope you are not experiencing this from other balconies as we are a 100% non-smoking property and do enforce this policy to the fullest extent including thorough balcony inspections. We love being centrally located and are glad you are able to enjoy more breakfast options, although I am sad to hear your comments regarding breakfast is average at best as we work hard to bring fresh local offerings to our buffet including baked items from our sister property Fresh Bakery, locally and organic sourced farm eggs from Bowden’s Egg farm, freshly made bagels from the Camden Bagel Café, gourmet coffees from Carrabasset Coffee, homemade granola made in-house by our breakfast team, as well as fresh fruits, Belgian waffles, bacon, sausage, cereals and juices. We know there are greater breakfast options to experience for those seeking omelets, pancakes etc; however we do believe our complimentary buffet is far above average.

We greatly value your patronage to our Inn and look forward to your return stay with us! From all of us here at Lord Camden Inn we thank you once again for contributing to our TripAdvisor page!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Old world hotel right in the center of everything. Very clean, staff very accommodating, rooms just the right size. Superb breakfast buffet! Great town right on the bay. Shops all around. Parking a problem. They have a secure lot but it is a couple blocks away.

Room Tip: Get a front room view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smitjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champion, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Reasonable rates. Close to the harbor. Restaurants in the area are excellent. Call a cab and ask them to take you to a lake to swim. We did, and was a great experience. The water was crystal clear, surrounded by beautiful scenery. A must stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindySmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were a large group, couples and singles, and let the hotel assign rooms. Bizarrely, they put some singles in big rooms with kingsized beds and large baths, and some couples in small rooms with two full-sized beds and closet-like baths. The couples requested better rooms, but were brusquely informed that there were none available. That being said, the hotel has comfortable beds, has a great location right in the heart of Camden and close to everything. The breakfast buffet was well above average. I'd recommend this hotel with the warning that you need to very carefully inquire about your room

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the configuration of your room. For one thing, there are some very tiny baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear GreggSt_Louis,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I’m pleased you enjoyed our premier location as well as comfortable beds during your stay with us! Thank you for the high comparison rating to a 5 star property! I am sorry to learn of your room assignment dissatisfaction during your stay. I would be very interested in learning more of the group you were with as we work personally with group contacts to assign the proper rooms when in a group block scenario, and never just assign a last name to a room number which you lean towards indicating in your review. As part of our personal service here at Lord Camden Inn, when reserving we work hard to place our guests in rooms that would specifically accommodate their experience and comfort during their stay whether in a group block scenario or individual reservations. When working with groups we work one on one with our contacts, and allow them to assign the rooms for the group. Thank you for your high rating towards our breakfast buffet! We are pleased to offer our guests fresh and locally sourced items such as bakery items from our sister property Fresh Bakery, locally sourced and organic eggs from Bowden’s Egg Farm, Maine Maple Products maple syrup, gourmet coffees from Carrabasset Coffee, and an array of other breakfast items to fill one’s morning soul!

I would love to speak with you further and learn more about your group stay. Thank you again for your review as we take pride in our customer experience and use every form of feedback as a tool towards positive growth.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel. The location is fabulous, in the adorable town of Camden. The rooms were elegant, comfortable, and included lots of fun extras like complimentary cookies and coffee in the lobby, breakfast, coffee in the rooms, a balcony with flowers. There was a handy loading parking spot, and complimentary parking about a block away .... not far at all. The front desk staff was very polite, warm and helpful. Hope to return for another visit soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
161 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Camden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Camden Inn

Property: Lord Camden Inn
Address: 24 Main St, Camden, ME 04843-1704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#4 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Camden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lord Camden Inn, Camden’s finest luxury, boutique hotel, boasting unsurpassed service, comfort and elegance, with a premier village location and magnificent views of Camden Harbor and the surrounding coastal mountains.From the moment you first arrive, you'll know that this is no ordinary Inn. The warm and inviting atmosphere, colorful walls decorated with paintings by local artists, and the restored antique furnishings will grab your attention and evoke a smile. Our arched doorways, finely crafted wainscoting, brick walls, fireplace, and the hot coffee and tray of freshly made cookies awaiting your arrival will say "come in and relax, you have arrived."The Lord Camden Inn boasts 36 guestrooms and suites spanning four floors. Each room is a stunning architectural arrangement of light and space, many of which incorporate old world brick walls with modern and stylish marble and granite surfaces, wainscoting, and crown molding. The ultimate application of comfort, style and elegance. Lord Camden Inn is a AAA 3-Diamond rated property, 100% non-smoking, and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lord Camden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Camden Hotel Camden
Lord Camden Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing