We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lord Camden Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitehall(Camden)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
405
182
55
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
182
55
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain streetfourth floorbrick wallbalcony overlooking the riverbreakfast buffetparking lot isdowntown locationcookiesmiddle of townshops and restaurantsboutique hotelcomfortable bedspark the cardog bedterrific locationfloor roomhomemade granola
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We liked the central location of the inn, perfectly in the middle of Main Street, and from the top floor (room 408) we had great views of the harbor and looking down onto the street.

The inn has beautiful brick detail, I don't know what they converted it from input whatever it was they kept original details intact. Our room had a cool brick wall and was definitely cozy. The bathroom was just ok and had a couple of issues: very tight shower, and lots of mildew in the shower. The room also is limited on outlets. The bed is really comfy and the room gets great light in the morning.

Fitness room was good, again very small but good cardio equipment. Breakfast was nice, all the basics you could want. Service was very friendly, and I liked the cookie jar in the lobby (perfect after dinner snack).

Room Tip: Room 408 is on the top floor, has nice views of the harbor and Main Street. Also a small but nice terrace. It's also on the same floor as the fitness room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear chris72206,

I would like to take the time to thank you for your TripAdvisor contribution! Lord Camden Inn was converted from a Masonic Temple built in 1893 in the year of 1982; opening with 24 rooms on May of 1984. The owners worked hard to restore and keep the historic presence throughout the Inn and it’s guestrooms. I’m pleased to read of your enjoyment of our historic brick walls throughout the Inn as well as your room and view! We are pleased to offer many views for our guests including the Full Harbor View you enjoyed. Over the past few years we have been upgrading and renovating the Inn to include carpeting, bedding, paint, and full room renovations. We have certainly reviewed the room you stayed in and are working towards new options in bath and bedroom. Our fitness room which offers LifeFitness equipment is a great room for cardio and weight training and although small in size we are glad you were able to experience this amenity.

Thank you for your kind words towards our staff and cookie jar! Both of which are a great highlight to many of our guest stays!

We look forward to your return to Midcoast, Maine!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Upon arrival we were less than impressed by the service. It was difficult to find the two parking spots to drop off our luggage even though we have GPS. After a phone call we were there, by the ice cream stand, and went in to check in. We asked for help with our luggage and the receptionist said (dismissively) that she was the only one there. My sister and I (who are both senior-citizens) lugged our suitcases up seven granite-faced stairs that are not wheel-friendly and on to the elevator up our room. Our room was quite nice, but there was no one there to tell us about breakfast, the ice machine, etc. We finally found the ice machine and the breakfast room. All three mornings there was only ONE person in the busy breakfast-room keeping everything supplied and cooking the scrambled eggs and clearing the tables. She was excellent in her job, but clearly needed some help. She was very appreciative when we knew where to take our dirty dishes. Why can't an up-scale hotel hire a few students to handle the luggage and breakfast chores? We referred to the receptionist as "Miss Hospitality."

Room Tip: It is fun to have a room with a balcony facing the street to do some people-watching.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spanielmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Spanielmama,

I would like to thank you for providing a review of Lord Camden Inn. I am disappointed to learn of your service experience during your stay with us however. Lord Camden Inn has become known for legendary service and we take pride in striving to provide above and beyond services. Although we do not have a luggage attendant as this has become a less requested service with today’s travelers, we do always offer luggage service by our Front Desk Associates. Rest assured I am looking into why this service was not offered and further more passed off upon your inquiry. Amenities of our Inn such as breakfast, ice, fitness center, parking and wifi are points of mention at time of arrival as well as located on the room number card as we highlight each of these areas during receiving your room keys. Thank you for your compliments towards our breakfast as well as our Kitchen Associate. This is indeed a one person operation which can get busy at times as the hours are open for guests to come and go as they please from 7am to 9:30am. Being a family room atmosphere, our guests are able to clear tables themselves or our Associate does this as well; we thank you for your assistance with your table.

Thank you again for your stay with us at Lord Camden Inn. Your review and feedback is greatly appreciated and helps us to continue forward and positive growth.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Overall the Lord Camden Inn was a great spot to stay in Maine. The location has been described by others so there is no need to reiterate what they have said about its proximity to dining and shopping. Camden tends to get busy at times during the day and driving in and out of town can be a little challenging during those times. Overall, the Lord Camden Inn was above average for everything except parking and breakfast. In spite of what some others think, the parking system is tedious at best. The location of the parking lot is about two blocks from the hotel, not necessarily problematic, however to enter the lot you need to stop at the front desk to get a swipe pass, then drive to the lot, and return the pass upon entering the hotel. This arrangement is somewhat inconvenient. Breakfast at the Lord Camden is unremarkable, however it gets the job done.

Room Tip: I think the electrical wires that feed the hotel were directly above our balcony and interfered with the WiFi reception on the balcony and at the desk in the room. If you need to use your computer with WiFi, rooms 202 and 204 might prove difficult.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrinsleySchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I spent a few evenings at the Lord Camden Inn. While the rooms were nice and clean, the decorations are a little stuffy. Our room was spacious with a bed and a couch, plus a nice balcony. The location is great - in the middle of downtown Camden with restaurants, shops, dand park all within walking distance. The breakfast was decent, on par with most hotel breakfast buffets. Parking was a problem though. If you plan on walking most of the time, then it wouldn't be a problem. Unfortunately, we had to drive outside Camden a bit for business events. You need to go inside to the lobby to grab the parking lot pass every time you want to park your car, which was inconvenient. The beds were great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here with three children and three adults for three nights. The hotel is in a perfect location in the middle of Camden Centre. The parking system works very well and is not far from the hotel. Nice generous sized rooms, very clean. The toilets in both rooms got cloaked on three occasions, but issue was resolved quickly by staff. The hotel is not very child friendly, there is no pool or common area where they can hang out for a while. When we were waiting in the lobby for a few minutes, the kids were sitting down and played a game, which got a little loud (and really a little bit). The kids immediately got reprimanded by the staff, even before we as parents could warn them. So perfect for couples looking for a quiet place to stay, a little less if you have young ones.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonNL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear BostonNL1975,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with travelers! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and found our premier downtown location, parking, cleanliness, and attentive staff to be a highlight of your stay. I’m sorry to learn of your toilet challenges but am glad to hear we were quick to respond and resolve. Our boutique Inn does indeed accommodate families for stays however you are correct that we do not have the amenities a child would favor being that we are built mostly of guest rooms. Lord Camden Inn central locations is built utilizing Camden’s surroundings for child exploration including fresh and salt water swimming, hiking, parks and recreations such as sailing, kayaking, and museums. I apologize for your experience with staff within the lobby towards the loud gaming on our lobby computer. It is never standard practice to reprimand anyone as this is a word not built within our vocabulary as we strive for world class customer service. Rest assured I will indeed be investigating this further. Thank you again for your kind words towards our establishment and sharing them here on TripAdvisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Lord Camden Inn for any future stays with us and am always available to assist you in finding child friendly activities to keep the little ones happy as well.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews