We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lord Camden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lord Camden Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Northborough, MA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Phenomenal stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We absolutely loved the Lord Camden Inn. The location is perfect (right on Main Street), and the ambience is charming. Our family had 3 rooms on the top (fourth) floor, which I highly recommend, for the balconies and the complete view of the town and the harbor. And, the rates were extremely reasonable, especially with the AAA discount.

We were here over New Year's, so the breakfast was your fairly standard continental breakfast. I would imagine that it's much better during the high season where more items are made to order.

The parking is not on site, but it's just a block away, so not a problem at all.

When I return to Camden, I will definitely stay at the Lord Camden Inn again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor has terrific views of the town and the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    165
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
127
301
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our three night stay at the Lord Camden Inn was overall quite pleasant but.....even the talking of those in the room(s) next door and below bothered us each night! The staff was most accommodating and we did move to another room for the final night--very quiet and restful!! Although the Inn is right downtown Camden and in very close proximity to everything, it is in a very old building with all that entails including noisy neighbors as well as street noise!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seemore66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heavenly rhode island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is the second Christmas I've spent at the Lord Camden Inn. Fifth visit total.
The room was very clean, The bed is TO DIE FOR! The bathroom was spotless and the view from the balcony is amazing as always.
The entire staff is outstanding,,, The housekeepers...especially Susan... do an excellent job and are always happy to make sure everything is perfect and if it's not...they will make it right. The screen on my balcony wasn't working properly and Susan took care of it immediately.
I needed a vet for one of my dogs and Nicole led me in the right direction and provided me with information and directions. My dog received excellent care. Stacy at the front desk helped me with a couple of things I left at home and went above and beyond. I can't say enough about the Lord Camden Inn. It's quaint, quiet and very homey. It's one of my favorite places to visit. It's always like going home again. I look forward to my next visit and seeing them again at Christmas. Thank you all at The Lord Camden Inn for helping to make our Christmas a great and special one, again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glassgirlvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I decided to escapte the hussle and bussle of Portland for New Years Eve- and I was late to the game! I was open to going north or south- however, knew that I wanted to surprise my husband with something nice on the water. I read the reviews of the Lord Camden Inn, booked it on Expedia for a great rate, kidnapped my husband from work and we were there in a couple of hours. The room was on the 4th floor and had a lovely view of the town and the harbor. The service was impeccable, the room very comfortable and the evening was more than I could have expected! I highly recommend this for anyone looking for a romantic getaway- ask for the 4th floor with a water view! You will not be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor with a water view- the sunrise was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodinMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have never been disappointed. While I could tell things were a little different than years past, it still is like coming home. I missed the gingerbread house displays and beautiful greens that used to be outback. While the hotel is starting to show its age a little, our room was impeccably clean. I was a little disappointed that my request for any special considerations as a returning customer went without so much as a mention. Parking is a pain!!! You have to come into the building a get a special key each time you return from somewhere. Other than that, it was a lovely stay and a very nice breakfast. The location can't be beat. We love Camden!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneX157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Jeannex157,

I want to thank you for your review contribution of Lord Camden Inn! We are ecstatic to read of your enjoyment with the Inn! I apologize if things seemed different this year, we must have just missed you with completion of our Holiday decorations as both entrances are filled with greenery, holly berry, and lights as ever before. Our staff Gingerbread Contest which I established in 2010 has quickly become a favorite of guests and we look forward to this returning from a two year absence next season! We agree that the Inn has shown some more history and are proud to be proceeding into our third winter of renovations; some of which are already completed property wide to include carpets, bedding packages, and flat screen televisions. As we entered this year’s winter season our painters have been added to the beautification by bringing new color pallets to the guestrooms rooms and suites. Being Camden’s Premier Downtown Inn we understand parking in downtown Camden is limited to hourly restrictions. We are happy to be able to provide a free gated lot for our guests to use just a block away. Being gated this does indeed require a pass in order to enter which we happily loan out each time as it is not needed to exit the lot.

We’re honored you have chosen Lord Camden Inn as your home away from home each travel to Camden and look forward to seeing you return and discovering the new items we’ve been adding! If you would like to speak further regarding special returning considerations you mentioned I would be glad to hear from you and learn more.

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliot, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and our 1-year old stayed in a room right on the river in the Camden's super quaint downtown commercial district. Our small room was very well appointed, with comfortable seating and with marble finishes in the bathroom. I'm a stomach sleeper and prefer a firm mattress, so I was concerned that the bed might be too soft--though I slept fine both nights. The breakfast was great and included fresh fruit and make-your-own waffles--they use delicious waffle batter and "real" maple syrup! The hotel staff were superb. Lord Camden Inn is right in the middle of the commercial district, so you're right there to enjoy the shops and restaurants. If you're traveling with kids, we recommend the children's room in the library with its tunneled lighthouse, boat, and train set--our son had a blast there. The library is within close walking distance of the hotel. Camden's downtown harbor view is quintessential Maine.

Room Tip: The riverside rooms are likely quieter than the rooms facing the busy main street. While the rivers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay at the Lord Camden Inn. The Inn is very warm and comfortable. The coffee and cookies in the lobby and the friendliness of the hotel staff added to the warm atmosphere. Our room was on the third floor facing Main Street with a view of the harbor and the beautiful sunrise. The room was not large, but it offered all the amenities we needed including a refrigerator and microwave. The bed was very comfortable. The Caswell and Massey products in the bathroom were a very nice touch. The buffet breakfast included homemade granola that was very good. The Inn is situated right in the midst of all the shopping and restaurants in Camden.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Camden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Camden Inn

Property: Lord Camden Inn
Address: 24 Main St, Camden, ME 04843-1704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#4 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Camden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lord Camden Inn, Camden’s finest luxury, boutique hotel, boasting unsurpassed service, comfort and elegance, with a premier village location and magnificent views of Camden Harbor and the surrounding coastal mountains.From the moment you first arrive, you'll know that this is no ordinary Inn. The warm and inviting atmosphere, colorful walls decorated with paintings by local artists, and the restored antique furnishings will grab your attention and evoke a smile. Our arched doorways, finely crafted wainscoting, brick walls, fireplace, and the hot coffee and tray of freshly made cookies awaiting your arrival will say "come in and relax, you have arrived."The Lord Camden Inn boasts 36 guestrooms and suites spanning four floors. Each room is a stunning architectural arrangement of light and space, many of which incorporate old world brick walls with modern and stylish marble and granite surfaces, wainscoting, and crown molding. The ultimate application of comfort, style and elegance. Lord Camden Inn is a AAA 3-Diamond rated property, 100% non-smoking, and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Lord Camden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Camden Hotel Camden
Lord Camden Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing