We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Lord Camden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lord Camden Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2010

The staff was very pleasant, the room was beautiful and the hotel was very clean and updated. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank las15bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2010

I have stayed at the Lord Camden Inn many times and am always very satisfied. The inn has an outstanding location in downtown Camden, Maine and within walking distance of many attractions. The service is outstanding and the rooms are immaculate.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank segal289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We enjoyed the Lord Camden. The bed was especially comfortable. I only have two suggestions. 1). The parking lot requires a pass card which they want returned immediately. I understand this. Rather than a card, perhaps they could get a gate that has a key pad and just change the code daily. 2). I consider this a classy place, but as with other hotels/Inns these days, the maids do not leave extra TP when they make up the room on the day of your last stay. Not that we needed it, but it is just something I notice. I can't believe anyone would want to take a roll of TP home.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnhinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My hubby and I are very pleased with our stay. We were looking for quaint and in the heart of Camden. And this definitely is the place. We can't say enough about the staff at the front desk and the accomodations. The Inn definitely blends modern day luxury with a warm and rustic old-world charm. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneClearwaterBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This is the 3rd time that I have stayed in the LCI twice with the whole family including my parents and once with my husband (when we were able to get a babysitter for the weekend!) . Since this hotel has gotten a few bum reviews recently let me tell you why you want to stay here:
(1) The staff goes out of its way to make you feel as though you are home.
(2) The rooms have so many little "plusses" you will feel as though you are royalty. The housekeeping staff is accomodating and leaves the rooms impeccable.
(3) Breakfast - included and a zillion choices from yogurt with homemade granola to a fresh crisp waffle topped with Maine Blueberry Sauce and whipped cream. YUMMY especially to my kids who are 7 and 4. I have to give kudos to the girls running the kitchen. That is exactly what they do RUN to make sure everything is filled to the best of their ability!
(4) LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. Walk yourself to shops, dynamite restaurants, or the harborview park just across the street.
(5) Did I mention the gift that the staff has with making you feel like you have been their friend for years? They were so amiable to my little ones, entertaining their questions and asking my kids how Lobster Fest was and then attentively waiting for all the details.

We will be back for sure. With or without our children because no matter who you are or where you are from the staff at the Lord Camden is there for YOU!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3kidzintow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Megan Stilwell, the manager was quite concerned about my review. To her credit, I will say she did follow up on my comment card by calling me at home the next day and did offer a future free night (we got comped mostly because I was rudely awakened by a very vocal /active couple (If you know what I mean) bangin' next door to us - but we will not return.) It was our last of 15 nights after 1500 miles plus from Boston to Cape Breton. We found staff occupied with their work instead of focusing on us. The laundry list of issues for the price of this hotel, plus the fact there website touts "unsurpassed" service and elegance. I think all staff needs a client culture workshop to be considered "unsrupassed". Breakfast room was confusing and that staff really need to get it together -due to having our pup with us we were "advised" to take turns getting food and bringing it back to the room. I found almost no eggs and no bacon and a few sausages. I asked when it was being refiled and was told "RIght Now" in a snotty way - came back with the bar tray from my room (how else did they expect me to bring my breakfast back to my room - balance it on my head?- where is the unsurpassed service? - only to find the same food situation - my husband went down after me and found it the same - I can only hope my explanations to the manager will help ensure future clients a better turn of events (we had booked a Harbor view suite by the way) - but if I ever did return to Camden, I would give the Riverhouse Inn a try- front desk was very nice went I brought pup in on my morning walk to check room rates, etc. They have onsite parking -maybe no private balaconies, but a lovely garden for guests, indoor pool and spa and outdoor area for guests with pups to enjoy breakfast as expected for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbldidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan4325, Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2009

I would like to begin by stating that we are very sorry that your recent visit with us did not live up to your expectations. After learning of your dissatisfaction upon your departure, my staff and I felt terribly that we had let you down. As I stated with you over the phone after you had returned home, it is very rare that a guest leaves unsatisfied. Our staff works diligently to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. In regards to your complaint about the noise disturbance coming for the next room, we hope that our quick response of moving the problem guest to another room on a lower level demonstrated our efforts to try and resolve your concerns and frustrations. When we learned that the noise was more of an inconvenience than originally understood, we comp'ed your stay, as we knew that this would be the only option in rectifying the situation. As for the service complaint, all that I can do is sincerely apologize. Our staff is recognized constantly for their willingness to assist others in any way possible, and for their warm hospitality and kind demeanor with anyone that they come into contact with. They work very hard, and despite the fact that "bad days" will occur on occasion, we do our very best to avoid them. Once again, please accept our apologies, and understand that I will personally do everything in my power to keep an experience like this from happening again. If you do chose to stay with us in the future, I ensure you that your stay will exceed every expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Just stayed here toward end of July 2009. I was a bit disappointed due to my expectations from all the former reviews. Overall, this was a nice hotel, but I will try others when returning to Camden. It COULD be the best hotel in Camden, but I'm willing to try others.

Pros:
1. Location right in the heart of town (although there are 2 others basically in the same location).

2. Great breakfast!! Hot scrambled eggs, sausage links, bacon, waffles, home made granola, yogurts, fruits, cereals, coffee, tea, juices and usually some type of home made baked good.

3. Friendliness of staff.

Cons:
1. Condition of rooms. They are in DECENT condition, but if I'm paying for
"Camden's finest luxury, boutique, hotel..." then I'm expecting just what it says "LUXURY". Doors that are hard to close, shoddy workmanship, and a renovation that may have put the hotel in better condition, but wasn't done to par all contributes to anything but luxury.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not a hotel snob seriously. But, I also hate going somewhere with false expectations. This hotel is nice, no doubt, but don't go expecting the Ritz Carleton, or even a Hampton Inn. Go with the expectation of a nice hotel that has it's quirks that's in the heart of Camden and you will be happy with the results.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrentFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan4325, Manager at Lord Camden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2009

Thank you so much for your recent review of our establishment. Our staff works very hard to make each guest's stay a wonderful one, and I was glad to see that the service was rated highly during your visit. We have also taken measures this summer to see that breakfast exceeds the expectations of all of our guests, which proves true in your case, and in the case of many others. I do apologize if the guest room experience was less than you expected. The building is very old and holds a great history, but as a newly-renovated inn we try to provide a fresh atmosphere. We are constantly working to make the inn itself more contemporary and luxurious, and your comments have definitely helped us in our quest to appeal to each guest individually. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us, and we hope that we will see you again on your next trip to Camden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
179 reviews
7.9 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
134 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Camden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Camden Inn

Address: 24 Main St, Camden, ME 04843-1704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#4 Family Hotel in Camden
Price Range: £78 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Camden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lord Camden Inn, Camden’s finest luxury, boutique hotel, boasting unsurpassed service, comfort and elegance, with a premier village location and magnificent views of Camden Harbor and the surrounding coastal mountains.From the moment you first arrive, you'll know that this is no ordinary Inn. The warm and inviting atmosphere, colorful walls decorated with paintings by local artists, and the restored antique furnishings will grab your attention and evoke a smile. Our arched doorways, finely crafted wainscoting, brick walls, fireplace, and the hot coffee and tray of freshly made cookies awaiting your arrival will say "come in and relax, you have arrived."The Lord Camden Inn boasts 36 guestrooms and suites spanning four floors. Each room is a stunning architectural arrangement of light and space, many of which incorporate old world brick walls with modern and stylish marble and granite surfaces, wainscoting, and crown molding. The ultimate application of comfort, style and elegance. Lord Camden Inn is a AAA 3-Diamond rated property, 100% non-smoking, and pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lord Camden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Camden Hotel Camden
Lord Camden Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing