We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a motel”
Review of Birchwood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchwood
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A gem of a motel”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was our second stay at the Birchwood in four years. My friend & racked our brains trying to remember the name of the clean, moderately priced, & friendly place we stayed in 2004. Fortunately, the name came to us & we booked for a return visit. This is not a place to offer numerous amenities, but does provide the basics in a clean & comfortable room. Eric & Jenny certainly go out-of-their way to accommodate in any way possible. A nice view of the Bay & a very delicious breakfast which consists of scones, awesome muffins, fresh fruit, & great coffee [the mark of a place which really cares} make the stay very pleasant. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    25
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
54
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in the cottage for three nights. We enjoyed the porch with the garden and butterflys all around us. Everything is immaculately clean. Eric and Jenny make you feel at home and they take great pride in their property. I like that they are environmentally conscious. This is a wonderful place to stay at an excellent price. It is very convenient to everything in and around Camden.

Don't miss the trip up to Mount Battie and take a schooner sail on the Surprise.

Room Tip: We liked the cottage because it has a kitchen, little living room and separate bedroom and bath. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambier, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Birchwood was exactly what I was looking for - excellent rates and refreshingly clean. The surprise that I didn't expect was the feeling of home and friendship. Morning coffee and homemade scones and muffins were a terrific way to start the day. The friendly owners, Eric and Jenny, were happy to suggest day trips and restaurants. I felt more like a local than a tourist.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This was our second stay at the Birchwood, the first being four years ago.
This is a very good and reasonably-priced alternative to the high-priced accommodations in Camden. It is a five-minute drive north of town, just past the entrance to the State Park. There is even a view of the bay. We stayed in a Deluxe King this time, but we had just a standard room the first time, and both were large and comfortable, although the Deluxe earns its upgrade. There are also two comfortable chairs and of course every room has a porch and two deck chairs for sitting outside, which people do. The owners are very helpful about providing anything you might need extra (such as a hair dryer or glasses – there are mason jars for drinking glasses in the room, but I stop short of being able to drink good wine out of mason jars) and Jenny told us about the special exhibition of Wyeth paintings from Japan at the Farnsworth Museum in Rockland, which we would not have known about and missed otherwise, as we had visited this wonderful museum on our first trip. Jenny offers an on-the-hop breakfast of coffee, home-made scones and fresh fruit in the office.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlefield, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Dad & I stayed in the cottage through the beautiful garden. Excellent accomadations, friendly owners, great coffee and Scones to die for every morning and always different. Their food suggestions were right on spot and the cottages kitchen was well stocked as a chef would know. Making plans for next year already.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchosers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Ct.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Thank you to Eric and Jenny for another wonderful experience at the Birchwood. We slept well, and enjoyed the morning brew (Rock City Roasters roast) and healthy homemade scones/breads. The rooms are immaculate, and the motel has added solar panels, and has earned a green designation in the hospitality industry. I am always impressed by the interesting guests I meet, and the conversations I have with fellow travelers. I think it has to do with the welcoming atmosphere and the magical front porch. I wished I could stay longer and cannot wait to return.
Nancy in Connecticut

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndriska860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A nice little "Mom & Pop" motel owned & run by a "Green" 30-something couple who obviously care about their property & guests!
Immaculately cared for comfortable rooms look out on a morning view of Penobscott Bay in the distance. Half way between Camden & Lincolnville Beach makes for a perfect location Mid-Coast.

Room Tip: Ask for the King bed deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrDale14424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
2.9 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
137 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
1.2 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
2.3 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood

Property: Birchwood
Address: 530 Belfast Rd, Camden, ME 04843-4522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Camden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room is water view at unique solar-powered Birchwood - an adorable roadside lodge in charming Camden, Maine with clean simple accommodations that are more like European-style guest rooms or an agricultural bed and breakfast than the other motels, hotels or inns of Camden and Midcoast Maine. Set across the road from Penobscot Bay amid the lush gardens of our farmette. Located just 2.5 miles north of Camden's downtown harbor district. Offering guest rooms, cottage and a two bedroom vacation apartment. Light continental breakfast of organic coffee and teas, fresh juice and fruit and a wholesome homemade baked good offered each morning in our spacious common area. Clean, green and uniquely Camden, Maine. What more do you really need? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Camden
Birchwood Motel Camden
Birchwood Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing